29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I feel bad giving this recipe such a low score since everyone seems to love it. However, I've made this recipe twice now and it just doesn't do it for us. I expected it to be better then the pre-package pesto sauces and it wasn't. Overall, I felt that the flavor was very mild. Even after adding oregano, salt, parsley, and pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fantasygirl3127 October 03, 2013

Super easy and so good! I made three batches since I had a lot of basil. I used cashews in place of the pine nuts. The second and third batches came out better than the first. The last two I really packed the basil into the 1 cup measure and had it heaping and used a light 3/4 cups of the oil and it came out perfectly. I also added a splash of lemon juice. We had it on spaghetti tonight for dinner and dh spread it on his garlic buttered toast (from bread we also just made fresh so it was a great meal!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5 Mule Team August 18, 2012

the pesto was a little salty from the cheese, but nothing you cant fix, otherwise very good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ernist11 July 05, 2012

Simple and fresh recipe, thanks! I had to use a little water, my blender got stuck a couple of times. Overall a keeper though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarsalam June 27, 2011

Quick and easy! And beautifully green! I used walnuts because that's what I had and it turned out great! Thanks! Reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 October 18, 2010

This is a great recipe. Simple & delicious. I have made this for quite a few gatherings & had to pass out the recipe almost every time. I now have to snub my nose at prepackaged pestos. Its just not the same. Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oribell June 16, 2010

excellent...even if used less olive oil & subsituted pine nuts with almonds (coz my husband is allergic to pine nuts). thank you. the measurements are very easy to remember, too :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grnkisinger May 08, 2010

So far I haven't met a pesto I didn't like, and this one is no exception. I went ahead and toasted the nuts, but followed the recipe exactly. I used it to make Grilled Chicken Pesto Panini with excellent results. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp March 28, 2010

Very good! We added the jiuce of one lemon salt and pepper. It was very tasty served over cheese tortellini!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riveras October 11, 2009

I am trying "container herb gardening" because I have a black thumb and kill everything I try to grow. However, I have a knack for the contaners. Anywho, I have huge basil plans that my husband said I needed to do something with. So I made this pesto (doubled). It is excellent. I too toasted the nuts and added a squirt of lemon (fresh). I froze the extra for another day. Thank you for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CABarbieQue September 23, 2009
Quick & Simple Pesto (Classic Pesto Recipe) Sauce