18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was just what I needed to soothe my poor sick self. I stuck fairly close to the original recipe, just adding a couple carrots and two sticks of celery (I made a double batch) to pump up the veggie content. It was wonderfully comforting, had a lovely seafood flavour to it and went down a treat. I'm sure the pot won't last long!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville July 14, 2002

Ahhhh this tasted so good. I followed your instructions exactly, and the end result was a beautiful, comforting bisque. A real treat that I will be making over and over again. Thanks for sharing another great recipe. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot March 15, 2003

Delightful. I made the recipe as written but reduced the amount of cayenne significantly

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 October 09, 2012

Like others before me, I used potato flakes, not rice. Dropped cayenne to 1/4 tsp.; and added 1/2 c. each diced carrots and celery to the saute. I also bumped up the servings to 6 to end up with a decent amount of leftovers. Had no cream or half and half so I used 2% milk and it came out just fine. I would definitely make this again, only maybe not puree the carrots and celery... they probably didn't blend as well as everything else....it seemed a bit grainy. But I still give it 4 solid stars!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimjam63 April 25, 2012

This hit the spot! The cayenne pepper really adds a nice kick. I used half the shrimp called for and added a can of crab meat. I also took the hint of another reviewer and used instant potato flakes in place of the rice. I subbed milk for the half and half to lighten it up a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez December 29, 2010

Love, love, love this recipe! I have made this several times and absolutely love the flavor! The recipe only calls for shrimp, but I use a combination of shrimp and longostino. My husband isn't a big seafood lover so I have also on occasion added an extra cup of chicken broth to subdue the seafood taste. This version was also incredibly good. You can't fail with this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sniffany November 15, 2010

It's a very rich bisque and has a lot of flavor. But the texture was not creamy enough. Perhaps next time instead of rice, I might use some instant potato flakes and see if that would smooth it out some! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LLofto8246 June 15, 2010

Quick and easy and quite tasty- 3 stars for me means we liked it. We would make this again. It's super easy to do with an immersion blender. I hoped for a bit 'more' so maybe I will play with it, but is it a great soup for a winter night- you bet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM January 11, 2010

Wow! I am giving this five stars even though I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I put in a bit less than a 1/4 tsp cayenne - even though I like thinks pretty spicy. It's plenty spicy even with the reduce amount! YUM! Unfortunately, I didn't have fresh tarragon - so I used dried. I also used 2% milk instead of the cream as I like to cut calories where possible - I even added an extra TBS of rice to make up for the thickness factor. Last but not least - I didn't blend the bisque as I like things chunky. Either way - this bisque is VERY VERY good & VERY easy. It's a great quick meal with things that most of us have on hand. I always have frozen cooked shrimp on hand just for this sort of thing. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stornowaycollie January 04, 2010

This was Quick! The flavor of the shrimp came through nicely, as did the garlic and tomato paste. We liked it. I made the recipe as it was written, however, even though we like spicy food, something told me to cut the cayenne pepper back from 1/2 teaspoon to 1/4 of a teaspoon. Oh, Mama! This was still pretty hot stuff. It is a good recipe! Although I will probably not make it again, as I will keep trying for the perfect seafood bisque for our taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grannydragon January 18, 2008
Quick Shrimp Bisque