Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Easy Fall Entertaining >

    27 One-Pot Meals

    27 One-Pot Meals

    Easy & Comforting Dinners
    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    (Pumpkin) Spice Up Your Life
    Seasonal Squash

    Seasonal Squash

    Get Your Cool-Weather Veggie Fix
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Sausage & Rice Skillet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Sausage & Rice Skillet

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2014

      it was pretty good :) the kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      We really liked this. I made a couple of adjustments. I sauted a chopped onion and the sausage in a large skillet and then added a few cloves of garlic. I then continued on a directed using chicken broth instead of water. I used cream of onion soup and we liked it. I served the cheese at the table so everyone would get some and to entice my little ones to eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I follow the original recipe, but I diced the sausage and browned in olive oil,(didnt use butter)with onions, garlic, salt and pepper. My family loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      I love this recipe. I am making it for my second time tonight. I use 98% fat free cream of celery, and I use turkey kielbasa. Because I cut those calories out, I cook the kielbasa in a little margarine (as another person suggested) for flavor, and it comes out delicious. Even my husband loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

    • on July 22, 2009

      Super supper! I did not have the same issues as some other commentors with bland flavor. I think this is because I browned the kielbasa first in the butter before adding the other ingredients. Also, instead of using canned cream of celery, I made it from Cream of Celery Soup (which obviously took a bit longer - but not much - and it was *soooo* good) . Thank you TBG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I made the recipe exactly as written, and like shapeweaver, I found it to be a little bland. Next time I make it, I'll use a spicier sausage and brown it first, leave out the mushrooms (my husband wasn't crazy about those), and add some onions and peppers and a bit more seasoning. I think it's a good base recipe to work with, and I loved the convenience of having it all in one skillet. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      I made this on 5/10/08 for mine and SO's dinner.I followed the recipe except for having to use cream of broccoli instead of the soup that was called for.But, we found this to be a pretty bland recipe, and I don't think it was because of the different soup,since cream of celery is pretty bland in itself. Maybe if the sausage was browned a little and some garlic powder was added it might perk it up some.I'm sorry we couldn't give it a higher rating. But thanks for posting anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      I changed it up just a little bit. I didn't use the peas or the mushrooms. I also added in about 1/2 cup each of chopped celery, onion, & bell pepper. I used ground pork sausage and I also used 1 cup chicken broth & 1/2 cup water. This dish came out OUTSTANDING!! My husband said this is one of the best sausage dishes he's ever had. Thanks so much for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      My family loved this! This fits into my $5 meal plan. We figured out this meal cost about $3 to make and it fed my family of 4 kid, two of which are teenagers and myself. It got rave reviews and recieved the "do-over" (make this again!) rating from around the table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      The sauce was not creamy, it just kind of sat there. The dish really had no flavor other than the sausage. I won't make this again. I guess this confirms my feelings about condensed soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      This is outstanding!! I omitted the butter as others did and also left out the mushrooms. Used a 16oz bag of frozen peas on accident...thought it was 10oz but it turned out fine. Thanks for a real keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      Wonderful, wonderful--great smokey flavor AND easy. I have always been partial to one-pan (used a 4.5 qt. dutch oven) casserole/skillet dishes. I cooked some chopped onion in the butter before adding the soup and water. Used brown rice which required longer cook time, so added (light) sausage after cooking about 30 minutes. I transferred the food to a serving bowl before adding the cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      I made this for dinner last night exactly as written. I also omitted the butter. This is a very easy dinner and I really enjoyed it. I am a cream of celery fan so I wouldnt change that for anything. Thanks for an easy recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      This was super quick since I made the rice in my pressure cooker. I added soup and about 3/4 can of water, and thinly sliced grilled sausage, peas, cheese and covered to heat through. I feel the Cream of Celery is the best choice, although second would be chicken. A good choice for kids if the sausage isn't too spicy. Roxygirl in Colo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      This was AWESOME!!! I made a few changes due to what I had on hand...I used 10 oz. frozen mixed veggies (peas, carrots, corn, green beans) instead of just peas, and I used shredded colby jack instead of cheddar. I also added some garlic powder and black pepper (habit). Otherwise, prepared just as directed, and thought this was a great quick and easy dish. Oh, I also used 1 Tbsp. margarine for the butter. Thanks for posting! Going into my faves! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      This was very yummy. Unfortunatly had to leave out the mushrooms as I have a kid who hates them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2005

      This was pretty good. I agree that cream of celery is essential - I don't think I would like another cream-of-something soup in it's place. If I make this again, I think I will saute the mushrooms in the butter with some onions and brown the sausage before adding the water and soup. Very quick, easy meal for a chilly weeknight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      This is one of those nice comfort food, quick to fix when you forgot to thaw something out type of meals. I will definitely make it again but I believe that next time I'll sautee some onions in the butter before I add the water and soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2004

      Made this tonight for dinner.OMG.This is absolutely wonderful.I did not add the butter as suggestionin the other posts,but I did add a few drops of liquid smoke.It really added that little "something". Thanks for the great recipe.This is definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Sausage & Rice Skillet

    Serving Size: 1 (482 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 742.6
     
    Calories from Fat 425
    57%
    Total Fat 47.3 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 19.2 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 120.5 mg
    40%
    Sodium 1983.5 mg
    82%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 29.3 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes