23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe! These muffins are much more moist than some other bran muffin recipes I have tried. The only changes I made were substituting 1/4 cup applesauce for the oil and half of the flour with whole-wheat flour. They freeze wonderfully, so I will keep a constant supply of these in my freezer . . . I'll just pull one out for each day! Thanks for sharing, GaylaJ.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peekoos October 20, 2009

Turned out very well, but I made a few adjustments - hence the 4 stars. I used my convection oven at 375o for 15 minutes - any longer and they would have turned out dry. I also used 3 bananas, 1 c all-purpose and 1/4 c whole wheat flour and added a cup of chopped walnuts. Greased the pan and they popped right out. Good texture and flavor. I will definitely make them again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MandieJ January 06, 2010

Quick & easy to make and the kids loved them! Per another reviewer, I used 1/4 cup of non-fat yogurt in place of the oil. Also added our customary handful of chocolate chips (the kids think that they're eating something special!!) Loved that the recipe contained Oat Bran! Mine made 12 mini & 9 regular sized muffins. Thanks...this will go into our regular muffin rotation!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curlee827 October 09, 2008

I have used this recipe several times and tomorrow will make 4 dozen and freeze. It is an excellent recipe, but to make it lower fat I substituted the oil with low fat yogurt. I have used whole wheat flour as well, either way this is my favorite muffin recipe! I have never had them turn out dry, and suggest to anyone who has that they probably baked them a little too long!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PurpleJade August 30, 2006

I've been searching for a 'healthy' oatbran muffin for ages. I've experimented with different recipes but this one is definitely the best. My oven is very hot so I lowered it a little bit and they were still baked at just 15mins. I added extra cinnamon just because I love it & because I was looking for a healthy version I reduced the sugar by half as I felt the bananas & vanilla would sweeten it enough, and they did. I didn't have vegetable oil but replaced it with coconut oil. It's a great recipe and highly recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 24, 2015

Very moist and tasty oat bran muffins. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn December 27, 2012

What a great recipe ... even my 3 year old believed she was eating cake. :) I used half wheat flour and half regular. I had no oat bran, so I used a cup of old fashioned rolled oats and ground them up. It turned out awesome. Next time I'll add a shredded apple and replace the oil with applesauce or yogurt. Just had to try it with oil before I went all healthy lol. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook! January 02, 2012

I guess I expected something else, but these were too bland for me. More like a plain oat bran muffin w/ soft chunks of banana. However my friend said he enjoyed them w/ his morning cup of coffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Treenie July 14, 2011

Lovely moist muffins - no changes necessary. Thanks for a nice addition to our breakfast menus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 June 24, 2011

My husband and I really loved them. I did susbstitute the oil for yogurt, next time I'll try with oil, to see the difference.
Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PuenteTriana February 27, 2011
Quick Oat Bran and Banana Muffins