118 Reviews

Easy, flaky, healthy alternative to the gobs of butter crust I'm used to making.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andolive April 18, 2011

I just made this crust for a savory breakfast quiche. It was SOOO easy and super delicious. I made mine with vegetable oil and it came out perfectly. Thank you for such a simple recipe that is really just as easy as unrolling pre-packaged dough and tastes so much better!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashkay509_13045390 January 04, 2011

Excellent recipe! I use this recipe at least once a week and recently used it for six quiches at a brunch. It's a huge money saver over store-bought crusts and far more elegant. I've also made it substituting one cup of spelt flour for a gluten free crust and it worked wonderfully.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goodlife October 26, 2010

SUPER fast and easy! I used it for a quiche that had a really savory taste to it, so the olive oil in the crust worked well, but I think I might possibly try the canola oil if I was making a different quiche. I didn't have the problem of the crust being too soggy... In fact, my crust turned out really firm. Which I like, so there's no complaints here.
Thank you Elizabeth for a great crust!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dripdripsplat September 09, 2010

I hate to be one if the few but I made this exactly as directed and I too ended up with a mushy, flavorless yuck. I had to eat the quiche off it and throw the crust away. What little actually cooked through did not taste good. Will be going back to refrigerated crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorskEMTchick April 28, 2010

Not sure what happened but I did not have a flaky crispy crust, rather a slimy gooey one - didn't really go that great with the quiche.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse April 02, 2010

This only takes 5 minutes to prepare and is super easy. Really nice consistency and worked really well. Tastes good too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat January 19, 2004

fantastic , fabulously easy recipe. I doubled it and rolled it out and it was super delicious. I couldn't believe how easy it was to make this. I will never buy store bought again. Curious how this would work as a sweet crust. I will try it and let you know. Thank you , Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mominator May 02, 2016

The negative reviews had me worried--the complaints sounded like something I would complain about. HOWEVER, this was excellent. The only thing I did different from the recipe is that I emulsified the water and the olive oil with a stick blender. I used a quiche recipe that included caramelized red peppers, red onions and spinach, and gruyere. By mistake, I baked it on 400 for 35 minutes (rather than 350 for 45). The crust was soft, flaky, and browned nicely; it wasn't soggy or oily. The 7 guests raved about the dish and I will definitely make this again. Couldn't be easier or tastier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie C. November 01, 2015

This receipe needs a bit of modifying. I am not happy with the end result.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krystal B. August 08, 2015
Quick n Easy Quiche Crust