116 Reviews

Easy, flaky, healthy alternative to the gobs of butter crust I'm used to making.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andolive April 18, 2011

I just made this crust for a savory breakfast quiche. It was SOOO easy and super delicious. I made mine with vegetable oil and it came out perfectly. Thank you for such a simple recipe that is really just as easy as unrolling pre-packaged dough and tastes so much better!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashkay509_13045390 January 04, 2011

Excellent recipe! I use this recipe at least once a week and recently used it for six quiches at a brunch. It's a huge money saver over store-bought crusts and far more elegant. I've also made it substituting one cup of spelt flour for a gluten free crust and it worked wonderfully.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goodlife October 26, 2010

SUPER fast and easy! I used it for a quiche that had a really savory taste to it, so the olive oil in the crust worked well, but I think I might possibly try the canola oil if I was making a different quiche. I didn't have the problem of the crust being too soggy... In fact, my crust turned out really firm. Which I like, so there's no complaints here.
Thank you Elizabeth for a great crust!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dripdripsplat September 09, 2010

I hate to be one if the few but I made this exactly as directed and I too ended up with a mushy, flavorless yuck. I had to eat the quiche off it and throw the crust away. What little actually cooked through did not taste good. Will be going back to refrigerated crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorskEMTchick April 28, 2010

Not sure what happened but I did not have a flaky crispy crust, rather a slimy gooey one - didn't really go that great with the quiche.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse April 02, 2010

This only takes 5 minutes to prepare and is super easy. Really nice consistency and worked really well. Tastes good too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat January 19, 2004

This receipe needs a bit of modifying. I am not happy with the end result.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krystal B. August 08, 2015

Tried this for the first time and it turned out great! After reading the reviews I did roll it and used organic whole wheat flour. Loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieLo July 29, 2015

I didn't make this one yet, though it seems very easy so I'm not worried at all. Just noticed that a few people complained that the dough was gummy, didn't cook through and wasn't crispy just a piece of advise blind cook the crust which means cook the crust first and then poor the mixture and finish cooking, just like with cheese cake. Just note that you roll the dough and shape in the pan then put parchment paper on top and fill it in with chick peas or just dry peas, this is so that the crust won't bubble up. Hope this will help.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
o_lynk July 29, 2015
Quick n Easy Quiche Crust