9 Reviews

Fabulous!! My daughter said this was better than the Olive Garden version. High praise. In converting from grams, I ended up using a 14-16 oz can of diced tomatoes, 2 cups of pasta. I used ditalini pasta, which we loved. I also added another 2 cups of veggie broth because I had a lot of veggies and pasta. I used kidney beans instead of the borlotti beans. This is a wonderful, healthy soup and I will make it a lot. Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood March 12, 2012

I made some changes to some of the quantities and used 100 grams prosciutto, 2 charisma potatoes, 4 small carrots, 1 very large zucchini, 7 cups of vegetable stock, 100 grams pasta and 1 can butter beans, omitted the parsley (our heat wave has killed of our parsley patch) and used finely grated cheddar and served with crusty bread for a delicious meal with some of us having seconds and all 5 agreed it was a very delicious and filling soup, thank you Chef flower, made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat March 26, 2014

I made this to serve when my vegetarian son & DIL were over! Substituted pinto beans for the borlotti, & instead of prosciutto, just before serving I added about 1/3 cup of chopped & shredded chicken breast (previously baked) to 2 bowls & left the other 2 as vegetarian ~ GREAT TASTING SOUP full of all kinds of flavor, & we all enjoyed it very much! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my swapmates in the Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #34]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 10, 2009

This minestrone is great to curl up with on a chilly night. I added chili flakes with the oil when cooking the onion and prociutto to add a little heat. Flavors are great! [made and reviewed for NZ/AUS recipe swap #31, August 2009].

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHILI SPICE September 01, 2009

This was very delicious. I love the prosciutto in it! I can't find borlotti beans around here so I substituted white beans and kidney beans. I also used a sweet onion in place of the brown onion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 December 04, 2008

Sensational minestrone and so easy to make! I'm feeding a vegetarian teenager, so I fried the prosciutto (and some bacon) separately. Got carried away and added three small Belgian endives, a leek, a large handful of green beans, two teaspoons of dried basil, an extra can of tomatoes and a can of cannellini beans. Sprinkled it all with shredded romano and parmesan. Perfect for a cold winter night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy June 18, 2008

Made and reviewed for Zaar World Tour 4. This is a great minestrone recipe, I had never thought to put prosciutto in, but it really made the dish. Followed the recipe as written and it is a definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah June 02, 2008

Best Minestrone yet. We love prosciutto. Used white onion and pinto beans. Didn't top with cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed&Theresa March 11, 2007

Quick and good! I used smoked tofu instead of the prosciutto because I need this dish to be vegetarian. I also used tiny white beans, borlotti beans are non-existant in this country. I cooked this soup up quickly for dinner last night and added in some already cooked pasta instead of cooking it in the soup. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj February 21, 2007
Quick Minestrone Soup