Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Marinara Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Marinara Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2011

      Awesome! I've made MANY marinara sauces and this one is one of my fav's! Quick, perfect, tasty.....everything you could ask for. I used dried oregano and double the garlic but followed everything else as stated. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      Was going to give four stars, but the men in the house loved it so much I went with five (also because of ease of preparation!)<br/><br/>I'm always looking for a quick marinara that lets me use fresh basil, and this was a winner! I was not as enthusiastic as my boyfriend and my brother, but they loved it so much I'm wondering if maybe I have a cold or something blocking my taste buds? <br/><br/>Either way, easy, quick and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      The sauce was very good. I made a half recipe since I was trying it for the first time. I used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I also used my stick blender to really smooth out the sauce. I found I had to add about 1/2 tsp sea salt and about 1 Tbsp brown sugar. After I added those two ingredients....it was perfect! I will definitely make up a lot of this during the summer when I have my fresh herbs growing in the garden. Should be good on my Chicken Parm too. I made this for a Braciole tonight. Thanks for posting. It was quick and easy! UPDATE: I make this all the time now - love it! I always have some in the freezer in small containers for chicken parm and things like that. I like it because it has no meat or cheese in it and I can add it to just about anything because of that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This is awesome! It will definitely be the Marinara recipe that I use all the time. I even plan to can it and possibly share it with friends and family if I make enough. It's so goo I might just have to keep it all to myself. I didn't have fresh oregano so I used dried and I cut back significantly on the basil because I'm not a fan of basil. I probably used about 6 leaves. Delish! Thank you soooo much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      This was very yummy. And will be making it again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Very good. I didn't have crushed tomatoes so I used two cans of diced and ran my stick blender in the sauce after adding everything. Nice fresh taste and so easy. Thanks for posting this. I will remember this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I needed a Marinara Sauce to have as a side to some Fried Ravioli I was making. This is excellent and so easy to make! We loved it and I will use this often for many things in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Quick, easy and very full of flavor. Very similar to my own marinara. I thought I'd check to see what kinds of quick marinara others were making, read your recipe and thought, I'd give it a try with the pinches of crushed red pepper. We liked it a lot. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      We all loved this. I left out the pepper flakes and used a dried Italian herb mix. This made much more, IMHO, than 4 servings. I tossed this with 1 lb of linguine and have enough left over (which I will freeze) for another full meal. Thanks for posting. UPDATE: This froze very well and actually gave me enough sauce for 3 pounds of spaghetti in all. I don't like my pasta swimming in sauce, just coating the strands. So this is an inexpensive way to get a whole lot of good sauce you can use for many things. Thanks again for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      This was extremely quick and easy and my whole family enjoyed it. I had to used dried basil and oregano and didn't use the parsley. Used a can of diced tomatoes with garlic instead of the whole tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      I modified this recipe to suit my kids' tastes and the ingredients I had on hand. Made 1/4 recipe as I just needed enough sauce to serve over our frozen cheese ravioli for lunch. So here's what I used: 1 t. Olive Oil, 1 clove garlic (minced), 8 oz. crushed tomatoes, 1/2 t. each of dried oregano, parlsey and basil. (Left out tomatoes since my kids don't like "chunks" in their sauce and I didn't want to open a can for such a small amount needed.) Sauce was ready in just over 10 minutes and was very flavorful! I was impressed that such a quick and easy recipe turned out so delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Easy. Used for my eggplant parmesan and we all loved this simple but very tasty sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      MORE THAN FIVE STARS!!!! I was so impressed by this sauce. I served it with tortellini first, and then used the leftovers for spaghetti! So simple yet the flavors are just perfect. I'll certainly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

    • on January 31, 2005

      I used this recipe to make eggplant parmesan and it REALLY enhanced the dish. I opted to use two cans of crushed tomatoes instead of using the whole tomatoes, and I really loved the texture of the sauce. I used fresh basil and parsley but couldn't find fresh oregano at my grocery store, so I used the dried kind. Great flavor! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      I was looking for something quick for dinner and this was just the thing. It was great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Marinara Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (429 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.9
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    41%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 275.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh oregano

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes