24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was pretty good. Made a bit extra (increased all measurments by about 1/3). Fed 5. No left overs, no whining! Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Bravo December 15, 2002

I was craving mac and cheese and this was perfect! Fast & delicious! I used about 1 3/4 cups of dry pasta for this. Thank you Miss Annie :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MerelyMarie February 04, 2010

This was delicious! It did have a stronger garlic taste than I would prefer for a mac and cheese, but I used one very large, extremely fresh clove of garlic, so I'm giving the full five stars since it may have been the difference in supermarket vs. farm-fresh garlic. I'll definitely make this again! Updated to add: I've made this again and wish I could give it more than five stars! This is the mac and cheese recipe that made my mac-and-cheese-hating boyfriend love mac and cheese!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 September 07, 2008

I was craving mac and cheese, and this hit the spot. I used whole milk instead of evaporated (I didn't have any), and added a bit of dry mustard and white pepper. It was a tiny bit grainy, but less noticeably so than other recipes I've tried. UPDATE: I have made this several times now and I had to up my rating to 5 stars because of how EASY, fast and versatile (works with nearly any type of milk from evaporated to skim) this recipe is. I'm trying to limit highly processed foods, and this makes it easy to satisfy my mac n cheese cravings without the "blue box". :-) Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Joshi January 10, 2008

This is the best mac'n'cheese I've had made with real cheese. I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. But I didn't have evaporated milk, so I used whole milk and simmered longer. Also added extra cayenne and salt. I really like this recipe. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin February 02, 2005

Hmmm...my first macaroni and cheese and recipe and pretty good. Then only thing is that I used low heat instead of medium heat. I started out using medium heat and it burnt the butter and garlic. Then I redid it with low heat. Other than that, pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZeeshanParvez January 27, 2013

My son, who is super picky about his mac & cheese, loved this! He said it was too cheesy (I probably could have added more pasta). Definitely making this again!!! Easy and not processed from a box. What more could a mom want!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ndeneane July 03, 2012

This is pure comfort food made easy. The use of the evaporated milk makes a creamy, rich sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 03, 2012

This was OK for us. I didn't use the cayenne pepper but added 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper and didn't add the garlic. I only had milk so used that. My boys who love mac and cheese only had one helping and they just said it was OK.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol January 26, 2012

Loved it! I used sharp cheddar (regular), regular milk (about 1/2 a cup 1 tablespoon), and about 1-teaspoon garlic salt. Perfect amount of noodles to cheese! Threw the remaining cheese on top and added some crumbled ritz crackers as a breadcrumb topping. Probably the best 'quick' recipe with limited ingredients ever! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
downeynicole33 October 29, 2011
Quick Macaroni and Cheese