Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2002

      This was pretty good. Made a bit extra (increased all measurments by about 1/3). Fed 5. No left overs, no whining! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      I was craving mac and cheese and this was perfect! Fast & delicious! I used about 1 3/4 cups of dry pasta for this. Thank you Miss Annie :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2005

      This is the best mac'n'cheese I've had made with real cheese. I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. But I didn't have evaporated milk, so I used whole milk and simmered longer. Also added extra cayenne and salt. I really like this recipe. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      Hmmm...my first macaroni and cheese and recipe and pretty good. Then only thing is that I used low heat instead of medium heat. I started out using medium heat and it burnt the butter and garlic. Then I redid it with low heat. Other than that, pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

      My son, who is super picky about his mac & cheese, loved this! He said it was too cheesy (I probably could have added more pasta). Definitely making this again!!! Easy and not processed from a box. What more could a mom want!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      This is pure comfort food made easy. The use of the evaporated milk makes a creamy, rich sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      This was OK for us. I didn't use the cayenne pepper but added 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper and didn't add the garlic. I only had milk so used that. My boys who love mac and cheese only had one helping and they just said it was OK.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      Loved it! I used sharp cheddar (regular), regular milk (about 1/2 a cup 1 tablespoon), and about 1-teaspoon garlic salt. Perfect amount of noodles to cheese! Threw the remaining cheese on top and added some crumbled ritz crackers as a breadcrumb topping. Probably the best 'quick' recipe with limited ingredients ever! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      Easy, rich and creamy. Used regular sharp cheddar cheese. I made half of the recipe to go with a burger patty and enjoyed. Tomorrow I will add some salsa to the leftovers. Thanks Miss Annie for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Really, really good! I used regular cheddar cheese instead of lowfat and since my mac and cheese was done a little before the rest of my meal, went ahead and added the rest of the 12 oz. can of evaporated milk so it wouldn't dry out. I'll just use the entire can from here on out. Super creamy, cheesy mac, and much healthier than traditional versions even with full fat cheese. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      This was pretty good. I used Smart Balance Light Butter and 6 oz of the 75% Reduced Fat Cabot Sharp Cheddar. I'd go easy on the cayenne next time and added extra garlic and black pepper before serving. For 4 servings, this turned out to be 7 weight watchers points per serving. Not too bad. I found the sauce to be incredibly smooth and creamy right off the stove but as it cooled, became slightly gritty. Flavor was good though. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      My husband was disappointed when I he learned that I was making a new recipe for macaroni and cheese rather than his favorite recipe. As soon as he tasted this one, however, he said 'Yum, this is really good!" and he said that several times throughout his meal! We both thought it was great that we didn't have to wait for the macaroni and cheese to bake, like our stand by recipe does. I'll be making this recipe often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Very good. I used taco mix cheese, and used skim milk. Postively wonderful. It was gone in two days. And there are only the two of us. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      This is very good! I used ww pasta, and had to use ww flour as it was all I had. I think the ww flour made the sauce a little thick. Otherwise the flavor was great! I couldn't bring myself to add the garlic, though, as DH and I are fond of the bland box stuff and wanted to simulate it LOL! ETA: this is also our go-to mac recipe now. I have also tried mixing shredded cheese and 2% velveeta, which helps the texture out a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      I thought this had a good taste and a good texture to it(thick) it is a bit different from regular mac and cheese but still really good! the only thing i would change is maybe to use a tad less garlic. thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This was delicious! It did have a stronger garlic taste than I would prefer for a mac and cheese, but I used one very large, extremely fresh clove of garlic, so I'm giving the full five stars since it may have been the difference in supermarket vs. farm-fresh garlic. I'll definitely make this again! Updated to add: I've made this again and wish I could give it more than five stars! This is the mac and cheese recipe that made my mac-and-cheese-hating boyfriend love mac and cheese!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      This was quite good for being thrown together...I discovered after getting the sauce completed that I didn't have any cheddar cheese, so I substituted about 6 Kraft singles and a handful of Mozzarella for good measure. The sauce was way too thick for my taste, so I added the remainder of the evaporated milk and a shot of skim to thin it out a little. As a result, I ended upwith way too much cheese sauce, so I reserved it and made another batch for my kids after school. I'll try it again when I get some cheddar cheese and see if I like it better! Next time I'll skip the garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Whole wheat macaroni makes this even more guilt-free. Tastes rich and satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      I was craving mac and cheese, and this hit the spot. I used whole milk instead of evaporated (I didn't have any), and added a bit of dry mustard and white pepper. It was a tiny bit grainy, but less noticeably so than other recipes I've tried. UPDATE: I have made this several times now and I had to up my rating to 5 stars because of how EASY, fast and versatile (works with nearly any type of milk from evaporated to skim) this recipe is. I'm trying to limit highly processed foods, and this makes it easy to satisfy my mac n cheese cravings without the "blue box". :-) Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Loved it! This was delicious! The kids and I cleaned our plates. Very rich and full of flavor. I served this with a fresh fruit & yogurt salad. A perfect combo! We will be having this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.8
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    16%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 11.7 mg
    3%
    Sodium 309.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites