Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Lemon Curd Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Lemon Curd

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2012

      I halved the recipe, and only used one egg (instead of one and a half). I also only used the zest of one lemon. I combined the lemon zest with some of the sugar in a mortar and pestle and pulverized it to a paste so the curd would be smooth. I combined everything in my largest microwave-safe bowl. After three 1-minute pulses in the microwave on high, it was thick and starting to mound up. It made just over one cup (the two or three spoonfuls that didn't fit in the container got eaten right out of the bowl). It is OUTRAGEOUSLY good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Quick, Easy, Lemony and Great! In a 1-cup pyrex, I made 4 servings using: 1tbsp sugar, 3 tbsp Splenda granular, 1 egg, 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, 2tsp lemon zest and 2tbsp regular butter. I stirred the zest into the warm melted butter before mixing with the rest of the ingredients. I cooked it for 5 minutes, stirring at 1-minute intervals. It turned out thinner than most lemon curds I've made but it wasn't a problem and it thickened in the refrigerator. It tasted strongly of tart lemon and butter, which I like. It wasn't bitter at all...as long as you avoid the bitter white pith, it shouldn't be. Made for the Holiday Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      I made this last weekend and loved it! I will have to say that I noticed that other recipes that I was comparing it to called for more sugar than this one so I added a 1/2 cup more sugar. It was real good. I will add this to my cookbook for lemon curd. Thanks for posting.
      Rachel Castle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      Definitely quick and easy, but far from perfect. Granny had heard that you could make lemon curd in the microwave, so I looked for a recipe that would do it. It was definitely quick and easy, and the microwaving works well... but actually we weren't all that impressed with the flavour compared to other recipes we tried. The sugar and the sharp were balanced... but for our tastes there was just too much of both. This recipe has double the sugar of most of the recipes we tried (and took 6 large lemons to match it!) and it just didn't taste right to our British palates. It also separated out overnight, so if I made it again it would need stirring as it cooled. It's a good fast way to make it though, and for that I'm very glad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      Delicious and simple, what more could you want? I was saving my last two lemons for another use, but I had a mess of limes in the fruit bowl, so I made lime curd instead. In my fourth minute of cooking it, it boiled over a little, so I stopped cooking it after that. Mine came out a tiny bit grainy (not sure if it's because I over-cooked or under-cooked it), but I typically use fruit curd mixed into other things like cheesecakes and such, so I don't think the slight graininess is going to matter. This did turn out thinner than most curds I've tried (thick, but still pourable, even after overnight chilling), but the flavor was dead-on -- tart and sweet. Thanks for posting :)! Made for The Queens of Quisine for ZWT6 Family Picks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      This is so easy, and most certainly quick! It makes me wonder why I haven't made lemon curd myself before. It thickens up beautifully overnight in the fridge and has a wonderful sweet/tart flavor from the sugar and lemon. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Made your recipe as written & wouldn't change a thing, except maybe double it the next time around! A bit tart, which we love, & so very easy to make! Definitely a winner of a recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      I used this in Lemon and Blueberry Yogurt Parfait (Low Fat) , very close to my Lemon Curd (Stove Top or Microwave Method) Lime or Orange Curd which I posted yersr before. This also works with any citrus. Made for ZWT6 thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Made as written for ZWT6 because DH & I are hosting a family brunch the dy after the British part of the Tour ends & I needed some tasty + easily made-ahead recipes for it. I esp like lemon curd & never knew it was this easy to make. I took my cues from Bayhill since she had success w/a *high* microwave temp & the curd was perfect after overnite refrigeration. It is delicious & awaits my guests tomorrow as an optional topping for bagels, but its versatility makes me foresee many uses. Thx for posting this recipe for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Wow...was this ever good!! We really love lemon curd but it is so expensive to buy. I've made it before, but it was much more time consuming than this recipe. This was so quick and easy to make and was much better than what you find in the store. The end result was a very pleasing combination of tart/sweet. I cooked it on "high" for six 1-min. intervals, and it thickened up nicely in the refrigerator. I served this with Blueberry and Pecan Scones for a quick breakfast. Yum!! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!! *Made for ZWT6 Xtra Hot Dishes*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      What a dynamite little recipe! I had no idea it could be this easy to make. I confess to messing with it a little. It was a little more runny than I could immediately use so I simply added 1 tsp of cornstarch with a little water and put it back in the microwave for another 45 seconds. I really wanted to use it tonight :) I know I will never buy a jar of Lemon Curd again. Thank you so much for posting it. Made on behalf of the Looney Spoon Phoodies - ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      I'm in love with lemon curd,which I cannot get and I had no idea I can make it at home. Made for Vagabonds,ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      We made this so quickly! I was thrilled that it used whole eggs and could use the juice and zest from the same lemons. The curd came out thick (I microwaved it about 8 minutes) and we found the taste to be a nice sweet/tart to go with the wedding cake I was making. Thank you Lavender! ***update*** Just tried it with limes and the curd is terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Delicious! I made this and used it for fruit pizza (as the "sauce") and put it on blueberry pancakes. Yum. I microwaved it for 7 1 minute time periods. This is so much easier than making it on the stovetop, and just as good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Oh my goodness, Lynn!!! I can't tell you how excited I am! I MADE LEMON CURD! :D I have a certain reputation when it comes to lemon curd--I cannot seem to get it to turn out, ever! If other people, skilled in the art of making perfect lemon curd, come over to try to make it with me, theirs fails, too! I've got some kind of anti-lemon curd mojo or something--but your recipe defeated it! It came out so lovely and golden and thick and lemony, and I loved how simple it was. Thank you so much for sharing! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Oh yes, it IS easy and quick. I've made lemon curd the old double-boiler way and can't imagine why I ever would do so again. This is perfect. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      EXCELLENT!! Because I was using this in a trifle, I added an extra 1/2 cup sugar after I had made it, otherwise it is perfect as is. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      This was delicious. It took about 4 - 1 minute cycles in the microwave to get thick. My zest was more like long peels so I ended up fishing them out the next day. Next time I would use a grater for the zest. Regardless, the taste was delightful. Had quite a tang and it was enjoyed on a variety of breakfast breads supplied (blueberry, cinnamon, and banana zucchini) supplied by my amazing sister-in-law! I will also use it in Lemon-Almond Tarts #512846. Thanks for sharing. Made for Best of 2013 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      Excellent, cut the recipe into 1/3-it worked perfectly. Added 1/2 tsp of vanilla bean paste. Love it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      Came out really yummy, with a perfect tartness, and very buttery! We have a lot of limes dropping from our tree right now, so made this with our Bearss limes. I halved the butter and made a quarter batch with 1 lime in a 1 cup measuring cup (but I think 2 cups would have been better, since it boils up a lot). We have a powerful microwave, so this was thick after 3 minutes at 80 percent power (I later made a second batch of half the recipe and cooked it one more minute). It had the consistency of the kind of lemon curd I am used to right at that point. After cooling 30-60 minutes it thickened more (and could be eaten then), and after refrigerating, it was super thick. It was excellent mixed into oatmeal and also great with cream cheese on english muffins and on waffles plain or with ricotta. Way better than storebought!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Lemon Curd

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.0
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    51%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 50.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 14.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites