11 Reviews

This was my first time making a dish using quinoa, and it was fantastic!!!! I used the dressing recipe, in which I reduced the oil to 1 tbsp. I prepared the quinoa as directed. For the salad itself I used finely chopped cucumber, diced tomato's seeds removed, and quartered grape tomatos. I added a sprinkle of feta cheese on top of each serving. It was great, the dressing was a perfect combo of flavors and it really made the salad a hit!!!!!Thanks!!!! I just made this salad again, but I omitted the oil completly and added black beans!!! It was great, a complete meal without the added fat from the oil!! Yummy

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jake ryley'smommy April 20, 2007

Nice salad. I liked the crunch of the carrots and sunflower seeds. The only change I made was to cut back on the olive oil. Might be good to also add the lemon zest along with the juice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpenner July 25, 2003

This is a nice, light-tasting dressing. I boiled the quinoa 10 min as instructed then added 1 cup frozen shelled edamame and 1 cup frozen corn and boiled another 3-4 min before draining. I also toasted the seeds (used 1/4 cup sunflower & 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds).
This recipe invites all kinds of variations. I think next time I might add just a touch of ginger.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4sweeper June 29, 2012

We did not do sunflowers or parsley. We added black beans and carrots, also heirloom tomatos and yellow grape tomatos. I also added the dry italian salad dressing, couple of tablespoons. Topped with green onions. DELICIOUS! WOW! and easy. I might not do the soy sauce, and do vinegar, red wine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen,MoJo August 16, 2008

Like another reviewer, I added edamame, diced red peppers and corn as well as the sunflower seeds. I had no carrots. I will be making this again, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky July 04, 2012

This was pretty good, but I don't have any reference for quinoa as I've never made it before. I gave it 5 stars because I think it's probably great for a quinoa recipe. I made it with Spice Market Sweet Potato and Lentil Packets for our vegetarian night and I think the two go nicely together. I skipped the sunflower seeds because we don't like them and chilled it which I think added to the texture nicely. There will be a next time because I think this is a really good thing to include in your diet. I might try adding something sweet next time besides the carrots like good chopped cherry tomatoes. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz May 20, 2010

Excellent Quick quinoa! We loved the lemon and soy flavouring, and served this along side salmon. I also did not add the sunflowers but made all else as written. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO July 16, 2009

This was a very refreshing salad. We used meyer lemons from our lemon tree and omitted the parsley and sunflower seeds. I also cannot tolerate soy so we left soy sauce out but added a splash of rice wine vinegar instead. For some color and crunch, we added about a half cup of shredded red cabbage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
francoroni March 29, 2008

Very good quinoa salad. The soy, lemon, and garlic added a nice fresh and tangy flavor. This is mostly quinoa, though I would have liked some more vegetables in it, so for my second serving I added some more carrots, chopped tomatoes, and fresh ground pepper and found it perfect. Great way to eat healthy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi August 15, 2005
Quick Lemon and Garlic Quinoa Salad