Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Homemade Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Homemade Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2007

      Truly a quick soup to make. Originally, I would have said 3* but,I thought it tasted much better the next day. I also added about 1/4 c half and half cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      I just finished making this wonderful tomato soup. I made it ahead of time for lunch tomorrow. This will also give it time to sit in the fridge and taste even better! I cut this recipe in half to try it the first time. I used 1 can vegetable broth, I added 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp sugar and about 1/2 tsp dried basil. When the soup had cooled a little I stirred in about 1/4 cup fat free half and half. I did take a little taste....YUM-O! Thanks for posting a fabulous and easy recipe for tomato soup. It will be great on a cold, winter day up here in the mountains!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

    • on April 10, 2007

      I ended up giving this recipe 5* mainly for the ease of making a lovely tomato soup. For our tastes I did add in about 1tsp dried basil and 1tsp sugar. I also added a little cream to each plate when serving to make it even more special. A 'keeper' for us :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      I love this recipe. I just made it tonight for supper and everyone, even my two picky kids, gobbled it right up. We served this with grilled ham and cheese sandwiches, perfect for a snowy North Dakota night. I substituted the 28oz can with two 14oz diced added a little more garlic. Also when I was cooking the onions and garlic I added about 1 tsp dried basil, 1/2 tsp Italian season, and some about 1/2 to 1 tsp. Mrs. Dash just before I added the tomatoes and so on. Thank you Sarah for this great recipe! We will be making this quite a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      We adapted this for our tastes and according to what we had in the house. We pureed a can of while tomatoes and used only one 15 oz can of chicken broth. We did not add the garlic or onions. We did, however, add a splash of milk at the table. YUM! Served with grilled cheese sandwiches. Makes a great quick meal (even at 8:00pm after a long day of baking!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      What a great soup! I am a big fan of tomato soup and this one was really satisfying. The only change I made was to add about 2 Tbs chopped fresh basil during the last 5 minutes of simmering. What a great soup. I served this with Sauteed shrimp rolls Sauteed shrimp rolls and dinner was quite satisfying. We will make this combo again and again. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      This is a very good and versatile soup recipe. The only changes I made was to use plain diced canned tomatoes instead of stewed and used all but about 1 Tblsp of a can of tomato paste (I don't remember the size of the can but it was the small size). I felt the 2 onions were plenty without adding the onions, etc. from stewed tomatoes and I felt it needed just a touch more sweetness from the extra tomato paste. Easy preparation and a remarkably good soup from simple ingredients. For anyone wanting to kick it up, put in Tabasco or Chipotle Tabasco to taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      Great recipe - so yummy. I will make it often and just have it on hand for a healthy lunch. Added parmesan cheese and used diced tomatoes with italian seasoning

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      What and easy and tasty soup. I only used one onion and in place of plain stewed tomatoes I used Mexican stewed since that is what I already had on hand. It is a keeper. Thanks Sarah_Ont. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      i liked this but maybe i didnt blend it enough to get it to meld. but it was quick and tasty. thanksfora great recipe sarah

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      Very tasty. The hub put it through an upright blender at the end, added two Tablesp heavy cream when it had cooled a bit and topped with leaves of tarragon. Very, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      Wow, this was so easy and so good. I made it exactly as stated using vegetable broth. The next time I will double the recipe. I am looking forward to making this using home grown tomatoes. Thanks Brenda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      Simple but so great soup!! I used diced tomatoes with jalapenos in it which added a nice little kick. Also doubled the garlic and added alittle spinach leftovers before they went bad. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      I hate to rate someone's recipe low, but I just honestly did not care for this soup. I thought it needed salt and even a little sugar, but that could be because I didn't have time to simmer it quite the full 15 min. (I know simmering reduces bitterness). I also didn't care for the seeds in it from the whole stewed tomatoes, even though I pureed in the my food processor. Maybe not long enough??? My husband thought it wasn't bad, and my mother actually loved it, but did agree about the salt and sugar. I guess what I'm looking for is a homemade way to make it taste like Campbell's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      This is sooo flavorful considering the recipe's ease and few ingredients. I used two 14-oz cans of diced tomatoes, and used my immersion blender in the pot. I also added about 1 tsp salt, after tasting it. We also topped our bowls with a sprinkle of parmesan. *Really* good, healthy and my meat-loving DH even loved it! :) Served with Country Ham Spread #94755 stuffed into pitas. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      This is a very good, very satisfying soup recipe. I made this late one night when I was hungry and cold and my DH and I loved it! I pretty much followed the recipe, except that I added more garlic (I almost always at least double the garlic in every recipe, LOL!) Anyway, thank you for a nice, satisfyng *but healthy* recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      This is a wonderfully easy, yet very flavorful tomato soup. I used tomatoes canned with garlic and olive oil, chicken stock and roasted garlic to prepare this. After whirling with my wand blender right in the saucepan, it was a thick and creamy soup that really satisfied my hungry tummy on a cold, snowy night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2004

      It was great. it was better than campbell's mm mm good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2003

      We loved this soup. And if you can believe it, I used the leftover soup as a base for spaghetti sauce! Fabulous! Will definately be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Homemade Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (475 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.8
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    38%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 862.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 14.7 g
    58%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites