63 Reviews

This was pretty tasty and also pretty easy to make. We added some fresh basil, about a half cup, and some cream after we pureed it. The only helpful hint I can add is to make sure you puree to a smooth consistency.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThreeGoodCooks March 08, 2009

This was so fast and delicious! My whole family loved it and it will definitely be one that I use regularly as we love grilled cheese and tomato soup! I did make a couple of changes, I used one can of diced tomatoes and one can of tomato sauce and no tomato paste. I also added basil to the onions and garlic as one other cook recommended. At the very end I added some cream. Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber W January 21, 2009

This is great. I made it for a quick dinner on a rainy day and it hit the spot. I added in a tablespoon of brown sugar, just because I always do when cooking with tomatoes. DH liked his with a little bleu cheese on top. As other reviewers suggested I used my immersion blender right in the pot and it worked like a charm. I will make a big batch of this for lunches. Thanks, Sarah.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ToiCara April 06, 2008

as written - meh. <br/>needed much more seasoning. per other reviews I did add 1T butter and roughly 2/3c half and half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMH December 01, 2014

Good and very easy. Not too sweet. Thick with all of the blended onions and very tasty. I love the hand blender for soups. So easy, with minimal cleanup and no worries about the blender exploding with hot soup on the ceiling. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama October 19, 2014

A good quick soup. Our family enjoyed it, all except for that one very picky child. I did add a little sugar to cut the acidity. The soup tasted even better the next day after it had time for the flavors to blend together better. This works as a perfect base soup. I've added basil, kale and potatoes to it also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef busy bee October 09, 2014

I halved the recipe and used a can of no-salt-added diced tomatoes instead of the stewed, and it came out very tasty! Really a good flavor for such simple ingredients. I decided not to puree it, but I think this is a soup that works equally well, pureed or not. It just depends on what you're serving. For example, today I served it as the main dish with bread and butter, but if I'm serving it as a side with grilled cheese for example, I'll puree it. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindcook March 05, 2014

This is good... definitely better than canned tomato soup, and pretty easy to make. It's a little on the bland side... needs a little salt. As some reviewers suggested, I added some basil and oregano and a bit of sugar. It's not quite what I'm looking for in a tomato soup recipe, but I would make it again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW January 07, 2013
Quick Homemade Tomato Soup