Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Homemade Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Homemade Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2010

      Not bad for a cold day. I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

    • on December 05, 2009

      I thought it was good, but unexpectedly spicy. Maybe too much onion? I wanted to make it for my 4.5 and 2.5 year olds, but they wouldn't touch it. I'll look for another recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Fantastic! My DH made this when I wasn't feeling well... it really hit the spot. 4-year-old DD loves tomato soup and, in her words, it was "great!" Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      We loved this. I doubled the recipe. I used italian style diced tomatoes instead of stewed and I added some italian seasoning and salt. It came out a little chunky, which is how we like our tomato soup, but I think next time I will use one can of crushed and one of diced tomatoes. This is more economical than buying the canned soup and tastes alot better. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This was so fast and delicious! My whole family loved it and it will definitely be one that I use regularly as we love grilled cheese and tomato soup! I did make a couple of changes, I used one can of diced tomatoes and one can of tomato sauce and no tomato paste. I also added basil to the onions and garlic as one other cook recommended. At the very end I added some cream. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Thanks, just what I needed. I left out the onions and substituted ketchup for the tomato paste. It was wonderful. It made A LOT of soup so I will be freezing the leftovers and enjoying them later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      This was very easy to make and good too. I did find it a bit bland so I added some red curry paste to "liven" it up a bit, and then it was just right for us. Served with warm Irish Soda Bread. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I made this for my mother today at lunch when she asked for tomato soup and we had none. I didn't tell her I was making it - just that I'd make something and call her when it was ready. She loved it!! It was just a tad peppery, which she liked, and I only used half the salt called for. Our immersion blender didn't puree everything, but that was ok. I also added powdered dry milk to the water for creamier appeal as well as a bit of corn starch to thicken it more. When I have more time, I'd like to try adding celery and a little garlic to it for flavor enhancement. But, as it was, it reminded me of the tomato soups I ate in Germany. Not bad at all and extremely quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      This was really great for a quick easy dinner. I got home late and he is sick and wanted soup and this was perfect. I did add a little basil, but other than that followed the recipe pretty closely. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      I was hoping for a soup that would make me say 'Yum...' but that did not happen for me. I felt like I was eating spaghetti sauce. I thought it needed salt and maybe just a teaspoon or so of sugar. I'm sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I didn't have the stewed tomatos or the tomato paste but I used a can of crushed tomatos and followed this recipe otherwise and it was fantastic! I had never been fond of tomato soup but my boyfriend asked me to make some. I would highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Excellent base soup. I used 2 lbs of fresh roma tomatos, peeled diced (and next time I will pre-seed!). I just put the onion and garlic in the micro for 3 min's to soften. Then added the garlic to soften for 2 min's. Wonderful flavor. Used the hand blender to puree and froze left overs. Excellent and look forward to using my home grown tomatos. Thank you for a wonderful homemade alternative to my canned favorite! We do not eat canned products anymore, so this will be my staple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      This is a GREAT tomato soup. I love that it is so simple and quick to make. My husband loves this soup. I usually add a little bit of salt to taste. This is great with grilled cheese sandwhiches or nice crusty bread! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      I made this recipe as is and it was wonderful. It is less expensive than store tomato soup, but healthier as it is based on onion and tomato without all the added flour and sugar. I also think it is a great base for experimentation. I may add Mexican or Italian spices to the next batch. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      This is great. I made it for a quick dinner on a rainy day and it hit the spot. I added in a tablespoon of brown sugar, just because I always do when cooking with tomatoes. DH liked his with a little bleu cheese on top. As other reviewers suggested I used my immersion blender right in the pot and it worked like a charm. I will make a big batch of this for lunches. Thanks, Sarah.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      I made this exactly as printed and found it missing something. I added a tablespoon of sugar and this really did the trick. It is also much better the second day. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      So easy!! I added a whole head of roasted garlic and pureed everything with a hand blender. So tasty! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I am always looking for soup recipes to make for my hubby. He's very fond of tomato soup. I am not a tomato soup person, so all I had to rate this by was his comments. He's a Campbell's man, all the way, and he's very picky. This soup turned out so wonderful! I did add a little sugar, but that's just me and tomatoes! I put sugar in my spaghetti sauce as well. The taste was great, the directions were simple and clear, and I truly thank you for sharing this very tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      This soup has a really great flavour. I used vegetarian "chicken" broth and added a bit of fresh shredded basil. I really liked the consistancy after purreeing it. What a great, quick and easy soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Homemade Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (475 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.8
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    38%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 862.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 14.7 g
    58%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites