Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Homemade Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Homemade Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2012

      Very good. I used veggie stock and ground peeled tomatoes instead of stewed. I also added:

      2 teaspoons dried basil
      2 teaspoons dried oregano
      1 tablespoon sugar (add to taste, after soup has been pureed)

      Wouldn't change a thing and it definitely needed the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Its good- not the best I have ever had- but its good. Its a good base for adding extras. I would use grease for the onion and garlic next time and bacon bits on top. I am a fan of anything with bacon though :) It would make a good bisque base too. Overall- glad I found it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      This was easy to put together and tasted pretty good. There were too many onions relative to the amount of tomatoes. I used a stick blender and got it nearly completely pureed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      This was great! We have a couple of kids who don't like soup and they inhaled this! I made a triple batch and used 1 can of stewed tomatoes and 4# of a variety of fresh, plus added about a cup of half & half (we were out of cream), just to make it a little creamier. By far one of the best tomato soups I've had and a great starter to add other good things to. Definitely will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

    • on January 06, 2010

      Not bad for a cold day. I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

    • on December 05, 2009

      I thought it was good, but unexpectedly spicy. Maybe too much onion? I wanted to make it for my 4.5 and 2.5 year olds, but they wouldn't touch it. I'll look for another recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Fantastic! My DH made this when I wasn't feeling well... it really hit the spot. 4-year-old DD loves tomato soup and, in her words, it was "great!" Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      We loved this. I doubled the recipe. I used italian style diced tomatoes instead of stewed and I added some italian seasoning and salt. It came out a little chunky, which is how we like our tomato soup, but I think next time I will use one can of crushed and one of diced tomatoes. This is more economical than buying the canned soup and tastes alot better. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Thanks, just what I needed. I left out the onions and substituted ketchup for the tomato paste. It was wonderful. It made A LOT of soup so I will be freezing the leftovers and enjoying them later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      This was very easy to make and good too. I did find it a bit bland so I added some red curry paste to "liven" it up a bit, and then it was just right for us. Served with warm Irish Soda Bread. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I made this for my mother today at lunch when she asked for tomato soup and we had none. I didn't tell her I was making it - just that I'd make something and call her when it was ready. She loved it!! It was just a tad peppery, which she liked, and I only used half the salt called for. Our immersion blender didn't puree everything, but that was ok. I also added powdered dry milk to the water for creamier appeal as well as a bit of corn starch to thicken it more. When I have more time, I'd like to try adding celery and a little garlic to it for flavor enhancement. But, as it was, it reminded me of the tomato soups I ate in Germany. Not bad at all and extremely quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      This was really great for a quick easy dinner. I got home late and he is sick and wanted soup and this was perfect. I did add a little basil, but other than that followed the recipe pretty closely. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      I was hoping for a soup that would make me say 'Yum...' but that did not happen for me. I felt like I was eating spaghetti sauce. I thought it needed salt and maybe just a teaspoon or so of sugar. I'm sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I didn't have the stewed tomatos or the tomato paste but I used a can of crushed tomatos and followed this recipe otherwise and it was fantastic! I had never been fond of tomato soup but my boyfriend asked me to make some. I would highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Excellent base soup. I used 2 lbs of fresh roma tomatos, peeled diced (and next time I will pre-seed!). I just put the onion and garlic in the micro for 3 min's to soften. Then added the garlic to soften for 2 min's. Wonderful flavor. Used the hand blender to puree and froze left overs. Excellent and look forward to using my home grown tomatos. Thank you for a wonderful homemade alternative to my canned favorite! We do not eat canned products anymore, so this will be my staple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      This is a GREAT tomato soup. I love that it is so simple and quick to make. My husband loves this soup. I usually add a little bit of salt to taste. This is great with grilled cheese sandwhiches or nice crusty bread! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      I made this recipe as is and it was wonderful. It is less expensive than store tomato soup, but healthier as it is based on onion and tomato without all the added flour and sugar. I also think it is a great base for experimentation. I may add Mexican or Italian spices to the next batch. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      I made this exactly as printed and found it missing something. I added a tablespoon of sugar and this really did the trick. It is also much better the second day. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Homemade Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (475 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.8
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    38%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 862.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 14.7 g
    58%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes