Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Homemade Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Homemade Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2002

      Eat your heart out Campbell's. Man this was a good thick and tasty soup. I just followed the recipe and enjoyed!! Thank you Sarah

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      Quick and easy recipe, and really tasty. I halved the recipe, used diced instead of stewed tomatoes, added 1/2t baking soda to neutralize the acid of the tomatoes, added about 1t of basil, and stirred in 1/4C of reduced-fat milk to make it a little more creamy. Processed it in the blender and it was AMAZING. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      My DD hates everything. hates tomatoes, hates homemade soup...She just asked, nay begged me to make this soup for her school lunch. My only 2 adjustments was to use fresh tomatos from my garden and to add about 1/4 cup of sweet potato/carrot puree to the soup to sweeten it up a bit and increase the veggie content ( idea from the sneaky chef cookbook)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      I've made a few other tomato soups from the web and this one is by far the BEST!!! Not spicy at all (I am sensitive to spicy food). I used olive oil instead and yellow sweet onions. AMAZING recipe!! Thank you for posting it!!

      *I added a little splash of lowfat milk to my bowl to cream it up a tad and it was so perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Not a bad little soup! I was a little put off by the thickness but everyone else gave it a "Make it again soon Mom" so all is well. I added about two teaspoons of sugar to the finished soup to cut down on the acidity of the tomato. I also had to process the soup in batches as my food processor couldn't handle the whole pot...what a mess..! Next time I will make sure to NOT overfill the processor bowl and turn it on HIGH!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Oh......MY.....GOODNESS!!!! This was DELICIOUS!!! I was craving tomato soup but was out of the "good boxed soup" so found this recipe and gave it a try! I will NEVER buy tomato soup again!!! I made just as described with the addition of 2 or 3 tablespoons of home dried basil. Thanks so much for posting! It was a HUGE hit with the family!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Tasty, This is so good, I have made it several times. I add a little more pepper than stated because we like that flavour. And I also add about a quarter cup of cream right at the end just before serving to give it a smoother creamier look and taste. Great served with herb and cheese scones. Thanks so much for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Found this rather bland, but a good soup recipe to add your own tasty touches too. I added some worcestershire, dill, some Mrs. Dash and chopped celery tops. Hubby likes cream added before serving, I take it plain. I used to work at Canadian Living & loved the test kitchens!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This was pretty tasty and also pretty easy to make. We added some fresh basil, about a half cup, and some cream after we pureed it. The only helpful hint I can add is to make sure you puree to a smooth consistency.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

    • on March 08, 2014

    • on March 05, 2014

      I halved the recipe and used a can of no-salt-added diced tomatoes instead of the stewed, and it came out very tasty! Really a good flavor for such simple ingredients. I decided not to puree it, but I think this is a soup that works equally well, pureed or not. It just depends on what you're serving. For example, today I served it as the main dish with bread and butter, but if I'm serving it as a side with grilled cheese for example, I'll puree it. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      Super easy and delicious. Great for lunch with a sandwich or salad. I had dried onion flakes and dried garlic pieces. Worked great. Added about 2T butter which gave it a richer taste. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      Great recipe! I used crushed tomatoes and the entire little can of paste; the result was a lovely thick soup but too acidic. Same as another reviewer, a teensy bit of soda, pinch of sugar, and approx. 1 cup milk solved the problem. I also added Mrs. Dash Tomato Basil seasoning and smoked paprika. Simmered for 2 hours (added the milk at the end, actually.) Did puree with the stick blender. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      This is good... definitely better than canned tomato soup, and pretty easy to make. It's a little on the bland side... needs a little salt. As some reviewers suggested, I added some basil and oregano and a bit of sugar. It's not quite what I'm looking for in a tomato soup recipe, but I would make it again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      Very good. I used veggie stock and ground peeled tomatoes instead of stewed. I also added:

      2 teaspoons dried basil
      2 teaspoons dried oregano
      1 tablespoon sugar (add to taste, after soup has been pureed)

      Wouldn't change a thing and it definitely needed the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Its good- not the best I have ever had- but its good. Its a good base for adding extras. I would use grease for the onion and garlic next time and bacon bits on top. I am a fan of anything with bacon though :) It would make a good bisque base too. Overall- glad I found it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      This was easy to put together and tasted pretty good. There were too many onions relative to the amount of tomatoes. I used a stick blender and got it nearly completely pureed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      This was great! We have a couple of kids who don't like soup and they inhaled this! I made a triple batch and used 1 can of stewed tomatoes and 4# of a variety of fresh, plus added about a cup of half & half (we were out of cream), just to make it a little creamier. By far one of the best tomato soups I've had and a great starter to add other good things to. Definitely will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Homemade Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (475 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.8
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    38%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 862.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 14.7 g
    58%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites