Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Homemade Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Homemade Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2002

      Eat your heart out Campbell's. Man this was a good thick and tasty soup. I just followed the recipe and enjoyed!! Thank you Sarah

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      Quick and easy recipe, and really tasty. I halved the recipe, used diced instead of stewed tomatoes, added 1/2t baking soda to neutralize the acid of the tomatoes, added about 1t of basil, and stirred in 1/4C of reduced-fat milk to make it a little more creamy. Processed it in the blender and it was AMAZING. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      My DD hates everything. hates tomatoes, hates homemade soup...She just asked, nay begged me to make this soup for her school lunch. My only 2 adjustments was to use fresh tomatos from my garden and to add about 1/4 cup of sweet potato/carrot puree to the soup to sweeten it up a bit and increase the veggie content ( idea from the sneaky chef cookbook)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      I've made a few other tomato soups from the web and this one is by far the BEST!!! Not spicy at all (I am sensitive to spicy food). I used olive oil instead and yellow sweet onions. AMAZING recipe!! Thank you for posting it!!

      *I added a little splash of lowfat milk to my bowl to cream it up a tad and it was so perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Oh......MY.....GOODNESS!!!! This was DELICIOUS!!! I was craving tomato soup but was out of the "good boxed soup" so found this recipe and gave it a try! I will NEVER buy tomato soup again!!! I made just as described with the addition of 2 or 3 tablespoons of home dried basil. Thanks so much for posting! It was a HUGE hit with the family!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Tasty, This is so good, I have made it several times. I add a little more pepper than stated because we like that flavour. And I also add about a quarter cup of cream right at the end just before serving to give it a smoother creamier look and taste. Great served with herb and cheese scones. Thanks so much for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Not a bad little soup! I was a little put off by the thickness but everyone else gave it a "Make it again soon Mom" so all is well. I added about two teaspoons of sugar to the finished soup to cut down on the acidity of the tomato. I also had to process the soup in batches as my food processor couldn't handle the whole pot...what a mess..! Next time I will make sure to NOT overfill the processor bowl and turn it on HIGH!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      Super easy and delicious. Great for lunch with a sandwich or salad. I had dried onion flakes and dried garlic pieces. Worked great. Added about 2T butter which gave it a richer taste. This one is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      Great recipe! I used crushed tomatoes and the entire little can of paste; the result was a lovely thick soup but too acidic. Same as another reviewer, a teensy bit of soda, pinch of sugar, and approx. 1 cup milk solved the problem. I also added Mrs. Dash Tomato Basil seasoning and smoked paprika. Simmered for 2 hours (added the milk at the end, actually.) Did puree with the stick blender. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Found this rather bland, but a good soup recipe to add your own tasty touches too. I added some worcestershire, dill, some Mrs. Dash and chopped celery tops. Hubby likes cream added before serving, I take it plain. I used to work at Canadian Living & loved the test kitchens!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This was pretty tasty and also pretty easy to make. We added some fresh basil, about a half cup, and some cream after we pureed it. The only helpful hint I can add is to make sure you puree to a smooth consistency.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This was so fast and delicious! My whole family loved it and it will definitely be one that I use regularly as we love grilled cheese and tomato soup! I did make a couple of changes, I used one can of diced tomatoes and one can of tomato sauce and no tomato paste. I also added basil to the onions and garlic as one other cook recommended. At the very end I added some cream. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      This is great. I made it for a quick dinner on a rainy day and it hit the spot. I added in a tablespoon of brown sugar, just because I always do when cooking with tomatoes. DH liked his with a little bleu cheese on top. As other reviewers suggested I used my immersion blender right in the pot and it worked like a charm. I will make a big batch of this for lunches. Thanks, Sarah.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2014

      as written - meh. <br/>needed much more seasoning. per other reviews I did add 1T butter and roughly 2/3c half and half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2014

      Good and very easy. Not too sweet. Thick with all of the blended onions and very tasty. I love the hand blender for soups. So easy, with minimal cleanup and no worries about the blender exploding with hot soup on the ceiling. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2014

      A good quick soup. Our family enjoyed it, all except for that one very picky child. I did add a little sugar to cut the acidity. The soup tasted even better the next day after it had time for the flavors to blend together better. This works as a perfect base soup. I've added basil, kale and potatoes to it also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

    • on March 08, 2014

    • on March 05, 2014

      I halved the recipe and used a can of no-salt-added diced tomatoes instead of the stewed, and it came out very tasty! Really a good flavor for such simple ingredients. I decided not to puree it, but I think this is a soup that works equally well, pureed or not. It just depends on what you're serving. For example, today I served it as the main dish with bread and butter, but if I'm serving it as a side with grilled cheese for example, I'll puree it. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      This is good... definitely better than canned tomato soup, and pretty easy to make. It's a little on the bland side... needs a little salt. As some reviewers suggested, I added some basil and oregano and a bit of sugar. It's not quite what I'm looking for in a tomato soup recipe, but I would make it again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Homemade Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (475 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.8
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    38%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 862.8 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 14.7 g
    58%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes