10 Reviews

Great fish. We loved the olives in it. I added more garlic and balsamic vinegar and used fresh tomatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito August 04, 2012

TO DIE FOR!!! Absolute best halibut dish we've tried and we've tried A LOT! Loved the medley of flavors. Was very skeptical about using canned tomatoes, but with the kalamata's and capers, this was a HUGE hit! I increased the garlic to about 5 cloves and increased the crushed red pepper flakes. Forgot all about the basil and had a heck of a dinner! This is our new favorite halibut recipe and will be made regularly! Thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl October 12, 2009

You know that song.... "These Are a Few of My Favorite Things" from The Sound of Music???? (OK, embarassing that I even know that song!) I swear, THIS is the meal that swarms through my head as I eat each bite. It is so, so good. Fresh, lively, flavorful and INSANELY delicious over linguine. Holy cow, soooooooooooo perfect. Make this and love it!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly June 16, 2008

This was fast, healthy, and delicious. I was looking for such a recipe to encourage my family to eat more fish, and this was a real winner. The halibut was moist, and the sauce was company-worthy...this is one recipe that I will use for mid-week dinners as well as for entertaining.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo April 09, 2008

Outstanding and Quick. Definitively an excellent recipe, the only slight modification has to do with your taste towards olives. Personally, will cut back to 1/2 cup next time so as not to overwhelm the outstanding blend of other ingredients & halibut..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark T. September 13, 2014

I agree this is a fabulous recipe. The only reason I rated it 4 rather than 5 stars is that the olives are over the top. Even with 4 enthusiastic olives eaters sharing this meal, I would cut back the olives by at least a half. Otherwise, it is awesome and I will for sure make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
westcoastbell October 01, 2011

I'm a big fan of Muir Glen, also! We devoured this fish... the capers are that "special" ingredient that made this recipe shine. A new recipe for company!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate August 05, 2007

Really excellent. I have been looking for no cook or quick cook meals in the summer heat. This perfectly filled the bill for quick. I made a half recipe and it was enough for two. The taste is bright and fresh and I must say that I loved the capers in this. With a green salad it made a full meal. Very easy to do and a great summer use for Halibut. I did omit the red pepper flakes. Thanks Kate for a lovely dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia July 30, 2007

Very easy and very good. I'm not a big white fish lover and truely enjoyed this halibut. I'm thinking of using the sauce next time for pasta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lt. Amy July 12, 2006

Kate, this recipe was lovely... DH liked it a little less and said that with so many good recipes from Zaar that he would have given this 3 stars. I told him he was getting very fussy indeed, turning into a food snob in fact LOL. (He's taking this Rating business very seriously indeed) I always give a recipe the higher of the two ratings if the votes are tied, and I think that DH was being too hard.. I could eat this every month :) Please see my rating system: an excellent 4 stars ! Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch July 02, 2006
Quick Halibut Provencal