Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Garam Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Garam Masala

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2009

      Just what I needed when I realised that I didn't have any in the house and was in the middle of preparing a recipe! The warm spices are perfect because the vegetable puffs (http://www.recipezaar.com/Vegetable-Puffs-8743) are for kids. Thank you very much for posting - you saved me a heap of time because I avoided a trip to the supermarket!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      I used this for making 5 Minute Butter Chicken. Since I only needed 1 teaspoon total, I reduced the recipe as such: 1/4 t cardamon, cloves and pepper, 1/8 t cinnamon, tiny pinch of cumin and coriander and a very tiny pinch of nutmeg. It worked beautifully, thanks for posting Sue! Please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Sorry, this didn't end up as garam masala for me - some other spice maybe, but not GM. I see now other recipes in true GM have more cumin and coriander, rather than cloves and cinnamon which seem to be the basis of this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      I made this to go in Egg Curry. I only wanted 1/4c so I scaled it back. I know there are a lot of variations of garam masala so I didn't feel bad adjusting this to my taste. I don't love cloves so I only used 1t to start. That was still to much for me. And I only used 1t pepper since I was trying to get DD to eat it. I didn't think it was enough. I look forward to tweeking this to our taste. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

    • on May 19, 2007

      Does exactly what it says! Just a note on the cloves, my ground cloves were not store bought, but left over from some I ground a few days before. They're a lot stronger than the bottled type and I didn't need 1/4 cup. So keep in mind if you are using fresher spices, the amounts may need to be adjusted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Very easy and fast. I halved the recipe as others did. I also used ground nutmeg instead of fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      All we could taste was cloves. I could have saved myself the time and just added cloves to my curry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      Really easy- I was in a bind and needed Garam Masala and didn't want to run out to the store. I had all of the other spices on hand - this worked great. I too halved the recipie, it made a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      Quick, easy and much less expensive than store bought. I reduced the recipe to half so that I wouldn't have lots hanging around getting old. Used this in Lamb Curry Lamb Curry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Garam Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.6
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    31%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 139.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 96.8 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 49.1 g
    196%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 12.6 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes