Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Fresh Sauerkraut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Fresh Sauerkraut

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2011

      Incredible! Perfect answer to wanting sauerkraut today, when you can't wait two months. I had to improvise a tiny bit, didn't have all ingredients exactly as stated. I halved the recipe, having only half a cabbage to work with. I also didn't have enough apple cider vinegar, so i used what i had and made the rest up with red wine vinegar, probably about 1:1 ratio. Also didn't have apple cider, so i just cut up a cooking apple quite small, used that in place. I didn't add any water. The result is awesome. Quite brilliant, very tasty, and took less than an hour. The other thing I like about this is that it's good for pregnant women, who are not supposed to eat raw fermenting foods, like true sauerkraut. This is an excellent alternative, and perfectly pregnancy-safe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      I left out onion (MIL doesn't like) and caraway (I don't like), I used cranberry-pom juice (what I had), and I added a splash of dry ground mustard and pickling spices. The taste test results from my German-heritage in-laws is that I can make them sauerkraut any time, please. So for not having to wait for weeks and getting an un-canned "seal" of approval, it's great!

      PS: the typical water amount for a quick sauerkraut is twice as much water as vinegar. I used an equal amount because I know these folks like the vinegar tang.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2014

      Great Kraut. We doubled the recipe, and used a greater proportion of cider to vinegar, and no water. Made it in a pot instead of a pan due the quantity. I plan on tripling the recipe when my Uncle comes. Thank you for sharing this excellent twist on kraut

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      I made this for the first time tonight and we absolutely loved it. I went by the recipe except I used apple juice instead of apple cider because it is what I had. I also added a small amount of sugar to give it more of a Bavarian sauerkraut taste. I served it with bratwurst and oven roasted tiny red potatoes. My husband loved it and I did too. I definitely will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      Went over big! Made with Braised Pork Chops With Sauerkraut. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      So much better than the jarred kind! I halved the salt and followed all the liquid ratios, and it was tangy and slightly sweet - a perfect balance for us. The little hint of caraway was nice too. DH is the sauerkraut lover, and he really appreciated it. It tasted like a side dish you would get in a cafe in Estonia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      The recipe says to add water in step 2, but doesn't have water, or more importantly the amount of water on the ingredients list. It turned out tasty, but a little watered down when I made it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      Wow. Not bad at all. I live in a jungle town in Peru, so some of these ingredients aren't available here. I substituted for what I had in my cupboard, because I really wanted some sauerkraut to go with some sausages I was grilling. Not quite the real thing, but exactly what I was looking for. I substituted red wine vinegar for the apple cider vinegar, sweetened apple juice for the cider, and dill seed and a little mustard powder for the caraway. It still came out great, and my American neighbors are begging me for the recipe. I'll keep this one around for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      This is exactly what i was looking for! my husband wanted brats tonight and he only eats them with sauerkraut but we didnt have any in the house! I had a half of a cabbage leftover so i used this recipe to make my own! great! Easy and tastes like you have pickled it for 6 weeks, but you didnt have to! thank you so much......i will make this any time i dont have canned or bagged sauerkraut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Fresh Sauerkraut

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 44.2
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    35%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 889.7 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites