15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Quite good! I didn't use the bacon but I did brown up some ground round (drained & rinsed) to add to it. It doesn't make very much so if company is coming you need to at least double this. I also added a some hot sauce as we like a bit of a bite! Overall, it is a quick and tasty soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cats Eye March 21, 2009

I love anything that has Mexican flavors and ingredients and this one did not disappoint. Made for a very yummy and healthy lunch. Thanks for posting this Breezer! Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft November 14, 2010

This was my first time doing a mexican soup. It's so yummy. We both loved it. So yummy with the bacon, cheese, tostitos and green onion on top. Thanks Breezermom :) Made for Zaar Star Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 03, 2010

Fantastic soup with a real kick! Wonderful for those cold Fall/Winter nights and super easy to put together. I poured most of the bacon drippings out and the flavour was not lacking for it. The toppings were perfect; I was going to add fresh cubed tomatoes as a topping but forgot about that idea; will try that next time. Made for Zaar Stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini December 17, 2009

This was sooooo good. I did make some modifications to our liking though. I browned a pound of ground beef, doubled the amount of chicken stock and chili powder and added crushed red pepper. I also added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies undrained as we love tomatoes. It was spicy, tasty and very filling for a chilly fall evening. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunsh1ne October 28, 2009

This was just wonderful! I was really surprised how tasty this really was. The cheese's, chips, green onions, and "bacon" took this to a whole new level. My DH doesn't even care for refried beans and he absolutely loved it. Thanks for posting this quick and easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn October 21, 2009

Very good filling soup !! I did cut back (1/2 cup celery) but other than that this was followed to a tee. Great aroma too, couldn't wait for it to be done. It simmered for 10 minutes exactly. Topped off with some parsley. A great hurry up soup thats full of flavors. Got to keep this one. Made for Zaar Stars..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker September 08, 2009

This was really great; and, yes, quick and easy! I made this as written, but doubled the garlic. I used fat free refried beans and fat free sour cream to cut some fat. I initially thought I would want some tomatoes in this, but I loved it just as it was. It looks very pretty with all the garnishes. Thanx for a wonderful soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* August 09, 2009

I love this soup! It sorta tastes like bean and bacon soup gone Southwest! I didn't use the celery but subbed a finely diced green pepper and jalapeno. The toppings just set off this wonderful soup. I used sharp cheddar, crushed tortilla chips, light sour cream, chopped green onions, bacon bits and cilantro. I'm allergic to tomatoes and it's so hard to find a Mexican soup out there without salsa or tomatoes in it. Thanks for this fantastic recipe! We will enjoy it often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mika G. March 10, 2009

We loved this. I did add extra chili powder and some red pepper flakes because we enjoy the heat. This is a quick and easy recipe to prepare. I added all the topping ingredients along with some chopped cilantro. Yum. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas February 28, 2009
Quick & Easy Mexican Soup