Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick & Easy Mexican Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick & Easy Mexican Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2009

      Quite good! I didn't use the bacon but I did brown up some ground round (drained & rinsed) to add to it. It doesn't make very much so if company is coming you need to at least double this. I also added a some hot sauce as we like a bit of a bite! Overall, it is a quick and tasty soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I love anything that has Mexican flavors and ingredients and this one did not disappoint. Made for a very yummy and healthy lunch. Thanks for posting this Breezer! Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      This was my first time doing a mexican soup. It's so yummy. We both loved it. So yummy with the bacon, cheese, tostitos and green onion on top. Thanks Breezermom :) Made for Zaar Star Game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      Fantastic soup with a real kick! Wonderful for those cold Fall/Winter nights and super easy to put together. I poured most of the bacon drippings out and the flavour was not lacking for it. The toppings were perfect; I was going to add fresh cubed tomatoes as a topping but forgot about that idea; will try that next time. Made for Zaar Stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      This was sooooo good. I did make some modifications to our liking though. I browned a pound of ground beef, doubled the amount of chicken stock and chili powder and added crushed red pepper. I also added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies undrained as we love tomatoes. It was spicy, tasty and very filling for a chilly fall evening. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      This was just wonderful! I was really surprised how tasty this really was. The cheese's, chips, green onions, and "bacon" took this to a whole new level. My DH doesn't even care for refried beans and he absolutely loved it. Thanks for posting this quick and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Very good filling soup !! I did cut back (1/2 cup celery) but other than that this was followed to a tee. Great aroma too, couldn't wait for it to be done. It simmered for 10 minutes exactly. Topped off with some parsley. A great hurry up soup thats full of flavors. Got to keep this one. Made for Zaar Stars..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      This was really great; and, yes, quick and easy! I made this as written, but doubled the garlic. I used fat free refried beans and fat free sour cream to cut some fat. I initially thought I would want some tomatoes in this, but I loved it just as it was. It looks very pretty with all the garnishes. Thanx for a wonderful soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I love this soup! It sorta tastes like bean and bacon soup gone Southwest! I didn't use the celery but subbed a finely diced green pepper and jalapeno. The toppings just set off this wonderful soup. I used sharp cheddar, crushed tortilla chips, light sour cream, chopped green onions, bacon bits and cilantro. I'm allergic to tomatoes and it's so hard to find a Mexican soup out there without salsa or tomatoes in it. Thanks for this fantastic recipe! We will enjoy it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      We loved this. I did add extra chili powder and some red pepper flakes because we enjoy the heat. This is a quick and easy recipe to prepare. I added all the topping ingredients along with some chopped cilantro. Yum. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      we loved this soup!, I increased the onion and garlic, added in 2 large jalapeno peppers and some crushed chili flakes, increased the chili powder way up, topped it with cheddar cheese and crushed tortilla chips, soooo delicious, great recipe thanks breezer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Refried beans - the texture when added to soup can't be beat. Super easy and just a perfect soup for a busy winters night. I added about 1/2t of cayenne for a little more heat. I wasn't crazy about the celery, so probably I'd just leave it out next time and add extra onion. I love that this recipe is made with ingredients I always have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Wow, this is spectacular and easy! I messed up a black bean soup (my beans refused to soften) and found this quickly as a "plan B". I must say, it tasted better than I expected! The only change I made was to top it with Fritos instead of tortilla chips. And that was a great choice. Four stars to this yummy dinner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      A great, quick, warm soup to warm up on this Sunday afternoon, prior to having the house filled later on with many guests. I just wanted to sit down and enjoy a moment to myself and this did the trick. I made it vegetarian, as I used vegetable stock, vegetarian re/fried beans, and Baco-bits instead of cooking up bacon. I halved this recipe easily, 1/4 cup onion/celery mixed, and a small garlic clove. Added some fresh tomato (cut in 1 inch dice) on the top with some chopped fresh jalapeno and sour cream. Delicious! This goes in the quick and oh so tasty cookbook for safe keeping! Thanks, Breezermom! Made for your grand win, *Everyday is a Holiday* January 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      This certainly delivers on the quick and easy as titled, and even better, is delicious! I used vegetarian refried beans, low-sodium chicken stock, and, after tasting it, added a dash of cayenne pepper for an extra little kick. I also used low-sodium blue corn tortilla chips on top. The only change I may make in the future would be to use green pepper instead of celery, but that would purely be a personal preference. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick & Easy Mexican Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (1391 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.8
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    42%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 23.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 587.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 10.5 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites