9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

LOVED IT! But instead of smoked sausage, I used hot breakfast sausage and three links of cheesy brats- It was a huge hit! My old man said it's the best thing I've ever made (and I make a lot of new things!!) I also used cajun seasoning since I didn't have creole seasoning- gave it an awesome kick! A new favorite!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ConnieMarie28 February 11, 2011

I am not a big fan of green peppers so I substituted okra. I have made this recipe twice and it's reeaall good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
townsend December 15, 2005

Very good! I made this for our Mardi Gras celebration at work and got rave reviews! Like the previous rating I substituted okra for the bell pepper, turned out beautifully!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacyme March 08, 2011

You lost me with the diced tomatoes...this is not Louisiana/Cajun Gumbo...we dont put tomatoes in real Gumbo

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Looeezeeana Boy March 21, 2014

Followed the directions exactly and it turned out great! It was a hit at the dinner table, served with garlic toast. This will definitely be a repeat recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyla B. November 21, 2013

This was a lot more tomato based flavor than I desired. I used Zatarain's Gumbo file spice as I did not have cajun seasonings. I will look elsewhere for Gumbo as this was too plain for me. <br/><br/>For the amount made, it would serve 6-7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vanessa G. October 27, 2013

This was super yummy, skipped the tomatoes and added jalapeno and okra instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skylar August 30, 2013

I moved to Louisiana 8 years ago. I've been working in my

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nic_to June 21, 2013

I was looking for something a little more tasty. This turned out okay. Neither my husband or I were in love with this. It wasn't bad at all...I just probably won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZMamma March 26, 2013
Quick & Easy Chicken-Sausage Gumbo