15 Reviews

Made no changes and they were perfect! My DH loved them and he`s a bean expert!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ April 17, 2003

These beans were real good! I brought the dish to a fellowship dinner at church and everybody enjoyed! Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 16, 2003

These beans are not only quick and easy, but VERY good. I did add little smokie sausages.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary in OR June 01, 2003

I usually make baked beans using dry beans that need to be soaked, but I wanted baked beans to go with our 'first cookout of the year', on very short notice for DH's birthday dinner celebration. These fit the bill perfectly and were delicious. I had extremely short notice, only had one onion left that I needed for the potato salad and not enough time to run to the grocery store, so I substituted rehydrated minced onions (white and green onions) for the chopped onions called for in the recipe. It worked out great! Thank you for a great 'emergency' recipe Junebug!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn May 21, 2003

Great baked beans! Thick and ready in 10 minutes in the microwave, with very little prep. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 05, 2014

A very good and easy way to create homemade baked beans in a pinch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rochsann May 19, 2010

This worked out great for me. I added about 1 1/2 cups leftover black beans to "save" them and there was still lots of sauce. Left out the onion this time, but I'll use it next time. Made in the microwave. Thickened up after cooling down for a while. Next time I'll let it site 15 minutes or so before serving. Thanks for helping with dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma March 08, 2009

I am so glad I doubled this recipe! Absolutely wonderful! I used everything as called for aside from the onion. I used a few tablespoons of rehydrated onion as another reviewer mentioned. I baked these for at least an hour but then lost track of time. After that, I covered them and kept them hot in a 170 degree oven. They thickened up perfectly that way. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christineyy! May 17, 2008

Great recipe for baked beans using ingredients I always have on hand. I drained the beans so that the end result wouldn't be too saucy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue May 04, 2008

Making these for the sixth time, just getting around to reviewing. I have made these exactly as written, sometimes with less sugar. My family loves these either way. Wonderful flavor. Have enjoyed these with meatloaf, BBQ, grilled meats, mac-n-cheese...Our "official" recipe now. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starfish April 13, 2008
Quick & Easy Baked Beans