34 Reviews

I tried this anyway, despite negative reviews, and because I needed tomato soup in a hurry. I am SO GLAD I did. Is it gourmet? No. Is it garden fresh? Of course not. Is it every bit as yummy as the canned kind you grew up eating grilled cheese sandwiches with? You betcha! This was fantastic and I am going to be making it all of the time instead of that classic can that I was not fond of serving my family (check the label and nutritional info, then compare it to this. You'll switch too!) I did not add any of the suggested possible add-ins and I really, really enjoyed this. Very, very similar to the red and white can, without all the extra additives. Plus you can control the sodium!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julieal2 September 24, 2012

I actually joined food.com to review this recipe. It is so simple, and so great! I have a can of tomato soup, but I really wanted something that was similar yet didn't have the corn syrup and a million other ingredients. So I did a web search and I found this. I halved the recipe, using 1/2 a can, plus 12 ounces water, some salt and sugar and microwaved it for 3 minutes. I was going to add powdered milk at the end, but tasted it first and it was so tasty already that I skipped the milk. I wish I had found this years ago!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yip812 January 08, 2012

THANK YOU!!!! I've been missing Campbell's Tomato Soup dreadfully for the past 2 years since I've given up all things with high fructose corn syrup...I never thought it'd be replaced (I even called Campbell's and begged them to take it out...) Well this is it! Yay! I made it without any additions and it tastes just like the can. Now I have an adequate match for my naughty grilled cheeses (with kraft american cheese, of course).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz October 11, 2012

Incredible. I figured it would be good, but I was pleasantly surprised when it was FABULOUS! Beautifully balanced. I used milk and kept whisking the soup, this prevented curdling. This whips up in less than 5 minutes. Perfect, just perfect. Thank you!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusticgirl December 16, 2009

This was a quick, tasty soup. I also added garlic powder, cheddar cheese, fresh ground pepper and a can of tomato sauce for extra richness. The soup tastes way better than the canned version! On the down side, it is prone to curdling and my soup curdled greatly. Future cooks forewarned: stir often and watch the cooking temperature.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel January 08, 2010

This was pretty good! I didnt have any trouble with the milk curdling, but that is because I stood and stirred constantly. Usually I have to do that anyway when I make tomato soup because the milk will scald at the bottom of the pan. I used cream, as well, and it was fantastic! I will be making this again and again. It was cheap and yummy, and even my daughter who isnt much of a tomato soup person, loved it! I did add garlic and onion powder, with freshly ground pepper and basil and parsley. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Miss Diggy*~ June 13, 2009

made with no options...great stand in since DD has been wanting grilled cheese and tomato soup. It is way less expensive and I know exactly what's in it. I used 1/2 each water and milk. Thanks ksilvan for posting. DD is happily slurping ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZaarAddict September 06, 2008

Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Avi K. April 13, 2016

This was a quick easy and delicious soup. I used 1 can water and 4 cans whole milk. I made this in my vitamix. It was sooo creamy. Added about a half tsp dried basil and a few lite dashes of garlic. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
curlsngirls March 11, 2016

Delicious! I made a few adjustments and it was fantastic. I was out of milk so I used 6 oz. of heavy cream and 18 oz. of water. I used the add ons of garlic powder and onion powder and also included fresh basil. I used kosher salt as well. I'll probably never buy canned tomato soup again. With a grilled cheese this was a perfect, "comfort food" lunch on a cold day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsGus2007 January 01, 2016
Quick, Easy, and Cheap Tomato Soup