Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Cinnamon Rolls - No Yeast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Cinnamon Rolls - No Yeast

    Average Rating:

    108 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 108

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2011

      Just made these for a late evening wintry snack! Read all reviews first, so made these corrections: added one egg to the dough, cut the baking powder back to 3 teaspoons. Also used bread flour instead of all purpose flour for a bit more "poof". Before I sprinkled the rolled out dough with the sugar & cinnamon mixture, I spread butter on the dough. May have been a mistake for the baking part of it, but not for the taste! They were VERY bubbly while baking, and wound up spilling over in the oven. Still, very good and easy! Love them!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Hello...

      I just made these buns today...it was a new thing to put the filling on the bottom as well as inside...but, I tried it, and it was good.
      I did not get the amount of buns from my roll as the author did...I got ten small ones in a square metal pan.
      I decided not to use the icing...I thot it would be too sweet and for me, it would have been.

      I used wholewheat flour and brown sugar for everything.
      I cannot understand putting an egg in the recipe...have not heard of this be4, and I am glad the author did not do that.

      When I took the pan to the butcher board, I put a plate on top and then flipped the thing over, so that the sugar mix on the bottom of the pan was seen on the buns.
      It covered the whole bun with brown sugar mix, so you could not see the coil; but, I liked it that way better, it looked prettier.

      The magic was in the tasting...they looked liked cinnamon buns I have made in the past...very simple w/o yeast, but, after the second biteinto it, I was hooked!

      The flavor is perfect, the salt with the sweet...all you need is a big slather of hard butter and it's feasting time.
      I could not just have one...
      These are really good...not fancy...but, they taste great...a different version of the cinnamon bun, which the store sells you, that you pull apart...I guess it has it's place, but, these are fine for me.

      I have printed out the recipe and thankyou to the author of them.

      It was plenty sweet enough w/o icing, and I had run out of icing sugar, anyways.

      Next time I make these, I will try Indian White Flour bread, which is part wholewheat and I cut them wider so they are bigger buns to munch on.

      Last of all, I found the dough very pliable, soft and fairly co-operative.

      Kudos to the Author.

      Layna
      Vancouver, Canada.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      This recipe is absolutely amazing! These are the best cinnamon rolls I've ever had. Here are a few changes that I made (and no that doesn't diminish the recipe it's just using sense folks.)

      1. add an egg to recipe
      2. don't confuse baking soda with baking powder :0)
      3. add a TON more powdered sugar to glaze recipe
      4. use a lot of flour when rolling out so it doesn't stick to rolling board when you're trying to roll up the dough.

      (number 1 and arguably number 3 are corrections I think should be made to the recipe)
      (numbers 2-4 are just common sense folks)

      Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I thought it was rude of the other lady to talk so bad about the rolls when it was her mistake for using baking SODA instead of POWDER. This is a great recipe for the kids. My sister is not a cook so it was great to see her doing this with the kids helping. They are not the best but the kids loved eating what they had just made. I agree that taking them out early would have made them softer. The glaze was liquidy so we added more powdered sugar than the recipe said. We'll make them again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Okay, so I read all the reviews and tried a bunch of different ways. Here is my two cents:

      1. Leave the dough recipe as is. Adding an egg will make it stickier than necessary.

      2. Love the filling recipe, but I added chopped walnuts to it. I also used it solely in the rolls, not at the bottom like the original recipe said to because if you do, it'll caramelize at the bottom into an ooey gooey mess.

      When you are cutting them cut them about 1.5 to 2 inches thick. They will spread out horizontally but not height wise (unless you add yeast) so the height you cut them at will be about what they stay.

      3. Bake it at 300 instead of 400...gets the dough gooeyer (is that a word??) It will take longer but WORTH it. Bake it only under the tops start to firm and if you stick a toothpick it comes out clean.

      4. Bake them in a spring form pan (about 7-8 per pan, leaving room to spread out). Trust me on this one, that way you just pop the outer pan off when they are done and serve!

      5. As you are letting them cool take a knife and gently slip it around the corners of the spring form pan and each other, so they pull apart nicely.

      6. Once cool, add about 4 tbsp melted butter on top of the rolls to get them nice and buttery soft. Then put on the icing, pop the spring form pan, and serve!

      TRUST ME. I baked these until I got a batch I liked and this is what worked. Love how quick this is though. No waiting on them to rise or messing with yeast. My whole family approved of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      We were all craving something home baked, so I decided to try this recipe because it was the first cinnamon roll recipe without yeast that popped up. I'm so glad I made it because it will be our new go to one. Although I did make cream cheese frosting to top them. What a treat! So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Fabulous recipe! moist and delicious. I cooked mine a few fewer minutes which made them gooey and wonderful. For those who found their's tasted like baking soda, they should note that the recipe calls for baking POWDER! I hate when I make that mistake :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      People. As a long time baker - I can not fathom why so may people are adding an egg to a quick bread recipe? You say it's common sense - it isn't. This recipe doesn't need an egg to be a wonderful quick bread. The flavour is full and the purpose is served for quick, tasty cinnamon rolls. Why would you want to up the fat and cholesterol if you don't need to? It serves no purpose as the bread binds, rises and is holds together in a tender, flaky way without it. My kids love making these quick buns - we will make them again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      I didn't have eggs so this recipe was great for me. I was craving for cinnamon rolls as soon as I woke up. It was fast and fun.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Made these last night as the family was craving something sweet... I followed the directions written not the ones in the reviews and they were INCREDIBLE!!! Definitely didn't last long in our house there already gone lol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      i just made this and i did it exactly how the recipe was written, and i only made 8 buns and they weren't huge either.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      I tweeked this recipe to make Chocolate Chip Cinnamon Rolls! And they were so good :)
      I did add the extra egg to the dough, and I made mini rolls with a mini cupcake pan. They were perfect for taking to the office! Great recipe, thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      I made these cinnamon rolls exactly as written and they tasted great! I didn't like they way they looked with putting half of the filling mix on the bottom. Next time I'll put all of it inside the rolls. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2014

      These were great considering that they were so easy to make. I made the recipe just the way they stated, and it came out great. I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2014

      Alright so these were amazing the first time I tried making them! The second time around I decided that I would add some cinnamon to the dough, that makes them that much better! Love this recipe they are quick and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2014

      Some of the best buns I've had. I heeded some reviewer's advice and used an egg in the mix. Also, added pecans to the filling and made a brown sugar glaze for the top. Amazing! Very good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2014

      I made these this morning and I did not change a thing. They are not gooey but they are WONDERFUL!! Think more coffee cake (at least that is how mine were). I'm already thinking where I can make and take these to share. Easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2014

      Had no yeast and stores close for Canada day today so I thought I would give these a try. I had low expectations but was happily surprised at how good they were. Made a double batch with following adjustments after reading comments. Used 6 tsp baking powder for double batch and added two eggs. Found I had to add about 1/3 cup more flour to account for the extra moisture from the egg. They turned out perfect. Light fluffy and moist. I also added some butter and lemon zest to the glaze to balance out the sweetness a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2014

      I found I had to add more (1/4 cup) brown sugar to make the filling crumbly- otherwise it was too soft to crumble. I too put the entire filling inside the rolls. And instead of the glaze, I used canned cream cheese frosting, and let everyone top their own rolls. This way, everyone got the amount of frosting they desired, and reheating the leftover rolls was easier without topping to melt during reheating. <br/><br/>Also, I found rolling the dough out on a silicone mat useful, and I could flex the mat to roll the dough up after filling.I also used a silicone cake pan to bake the rolls in- no need to use anything to keep the rolls from sticking to the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      I made these last night to surprise my boyfriend with at work because it was his first night working alone. The recipe seemed really easy and I had all of the ingredients on hand and he had mentioned cinnamon rolls earlier that day, so I decided to give it a shot.<br/><br/>First the good news: these came out amazingly well! Unlike other reviewers, neither of us found these too sweet at all. It's a really great balance between the biscuit like bread and the sugary awesome filling. Sprinkling the bottom of the pan with filling is genius, as it gives the rolls a slight crunch that contrasts well with their softness. Personally, I loved it, but I can see why some people aren't fans of it.<br/><br/>I did hit a couple of speed bumps while making these, though. The first was completely my fault, as I thought that I had more brown sugar than I did, so for the filling I ended up having to use about half dark brown sugar, a third light brown sugar, and the remaining bit white sugar. I don't know if this had too much an effect on the taste, but I think it did have an effect on the consistency of the filling, as it was kind of clumpy and hard to spread on both the bottom of the pan and on the dough. The next bump I ran into was that 3/4 cup of milk was not enough to form a dough. There was still loose flour and it just wasn't coming together. Instead of an egg, like some reviewers have mentioned, I just kept adding milk a splash at a time until the dough formed. I had to add about 3 or 4 splashes.<br/><br/>I was afraid at first because once the dough formed it was pretty sticky. I covered my rolling area with wax paper and a ton of flour so that I wouldn't make a huge mess while trying to roll. The wax paper may have been unnecessary, but I definitely think that you have to use a lot of flour while rolling these out. Other than that, though, I didn't have any trouble and rolling was pretty painless. I don't think I made my rectangle wide enough, because I was only able to get about 9 good sized rolls out if it. When I make this again (and I definitely will!) I think I won't roll it out as long and make it wider so that I get more out of it.<br/><br/>It might be my oven, but I also had to bake these for a lot longer than the recipe calls for. They were in the oven for about 35 minutes or so before they became the nice golden color that I was looking for.<br/><br/>The glaze as written is pretty thin. I had to keep adding powdered sugar to it to get it thick enough.<br/><br/>All in all, though, the problems that I ran into were pretty minor and easily overcome. I don't think that they are huge enough to dock this a star, because when it comes to a recipe taste is the biggest factor in my mind, and these taste really, really good! My boyfriend and I were both really pleased and he was really happy when I surprised him at work like the magical cinnamon roll fairy. I think this will definitely be entering into my cooking rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Cinnamon Rolls - No Yeast

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.2
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    27%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 13.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 259.7 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 16.5 g
    66%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites