41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was simple and satisfying! No, it isn't the restaurant kind but it is tasty in itself. I beat the egg and cooked it in the butter and then removed it b/4 adding the onion and rice. Be sure to really brown the rice and onion nicely. Then I added the cooked egg, which I chopped up, back into the pan. If I had had some leftover meat or shrimp, that would have really added to the flavor.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simplifying Things May 26, 2010

This is simple and quick, and is always a hit with my family. Not your traditional fried rice, but really good in and of itself. We love it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bunny Slippers November 27, 2011

*Reviewed for ZWT6 Whine and Cheese Gang* Cooked this in no time and we enjoyed it as a side dush to Grilled Sweet-And-Sour Chicken Packets. Giving 5 stars as this was a tasty quick recipe. Not a traditional Chinese fried rice but real tasty and quick. I cooked the egg in the pan first, removed it, sliced and returned to the cooked rice just before serving. Using a gluten-free soy sauce this makes an easy gluten-free rice dish. Photo also to be posted.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** May 29, 2010

I just made this rice with some chicken egg rolls for dinner. It was a last minute decision so I chose your recipe for the ease and speed of it. I should have doubled the recipe! My daughter ate it like she would never ever see rice again. (she adores rice of any kind) Only one little change and that was just because it seemed like it would go so well with the recipe. I had to follow my instincts and added about 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger to the mix as it was cooking. It turned out excellent and I will certainly use your recipe again. Probably everytime we do Oriental now. Thanks for a great addition to our meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen From Colorado September 17, 2004

This was a nice recipe to use if you're in a hurry. The flavor was lovely and complimented the Japanese Chicken Drumettes that I also prepared. Made for X-tra Hot Dishes, ZWT 6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess May 22, 2010

This gets 5 stars simply for ease of preparation and flavor. To me it doesn't really taste restaurant quality, but what homemade Chinese food ever does? The whole family loves the flavor so that's what's important! The only thing I do different is I usually use leftover rice and use onion powder instead of "real" onion :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2Summer&Gibson April 28, 2010

What an easy recipe for fried rice! DH and I have tried numerous recipes at home but have never been able to achieve the right consistency or flavor in comparison to the take-out version. The only variation I made was omitting the extra 1/3 cup water at the end and simmering for five minutes, as I thought it would make the rice too moist. DH and I like a little "bite" to our rice. :) Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe November 22, 2009

We enjoyed this recipe. I added mushrooms and peas. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita August 27, 2009

I made this recipe for the first time tonight, and it was great! It was so good, that I actually took the time to review it! The only changes I did was I used real rice, not minute rice, added more eggs, and more veggies. Definetely recommend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaydubb08 May 14, 2009

As BigRedChef said - great base recipe. Up the onions if they are mild. I had some leftover organic brown rice and all the ingredients (I topped it with diced tomato) to throw together a meal for my toddler. To my delight he took bite after bite exclaiming "more! more!" This is how fried rice should be - super easy, few ingredients, no headache.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalia 3 April 30, 2009
Quick Chinese Fried Rice