Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Chile Relleno Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Chile Relleno Casserole

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2005

      I love this recipe and will definitely make it again. The casserole puffed up beautifully! We used 3 fresh poblano chiles, which I roasted just prior to putting the in dish. I put a gravy boat of ranchero red (enchilada) sauce on the table, to be used instead of marinara, and I served oven-warmed flour tortillas and butter, and freshly made guacamole with the casserole. Awesome meal! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      This is an excellent recipe. I was suprised that the flavor of the chiles permeated the entire dish. I stuffed the peppers with Chihuahua cheese and topped with a Mexican cheese blend. Will definitely make this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      This was so yummy and easy! DH and I ate almost the whole casserole. I used a can of chopped chiles as suggested in the description. I spread the chopped chiles on the bottom of the casserole and laid thick slices of monterey jack cheese on top of the chiles. I then followed the recipe as instructed, pouring the egg mixture over top and sprinkled with mild cheddar cheese. It cooked to a beautiful golden color and when spooned into, the monterey jack cheese oozed out, making your mouth water! This has a quiche like texture and the chile flavor is mild, not overpowering. I think it would make a great brunch idea! I will definitely repeat this and want to use whole chiles as in the recipe! Thanks Pvt Amys Mom!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      I was going to make the regular type rellenos but didnt want to use all that oil(most of which is either GMO or made from soemthing that isnt supposed to be used as cooking oil(either, or and)so I made these based on the amount of flour used in recipe as opposed to othewrs.I did add soem thin slices of tomato on top and threw in soem chopped red onions,I also used 8oz nuefatchel cheeseand mozzarella becuase thats what i had.and i didnt use as much as recipe called forI found this to be an excellent dish and am making it again 4 days later. I also used fresh poblano chiles roasted on the gas burners(5 large ones)so tell your motherr thasnk you it is muy bueno.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      Excellent! But then we are cheeseheads. LOL! And so easy. I beat my eggs while doing rest of recipe. Mine was not runny. There are only 3 whole chiles in pan so think there are more like 3 servings. Served ours with cornbread and a bit of Spanish rice. Muchas gracias for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      I made chile rellenos from scratch in a tiny apartment kitchen in 1964. It seemed to take forever and I vowed "Never again" but I've been wanting to try one of these chile relleno casseroles. I chose this one, but used a 27 ounce can of whole chiles. Split them and took out the ribs and seeds, laid them in a 9x13 Pyrex buttered pan, put the jack cheese slices on and then another layer of the split chiles, then the batter and cheddar. I mixed the batter with a whisk as I didn't feel like getting out my electric mixer and that worked fine. Next time I will leave out the cheddar as the dish was a bit cheese intensive for me, and I might try separating the eggs and beating the whites to make a lighter, more traditional batter. These are really good with a little Tabasco Chipotle sauce on top. I made Spanish rice to go with it. Thanks for the recipe! It's so much easier than making them from scratch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      So first, this was exactly the type of recipe I was looking for. I absolutely HATE, HATE, HATE to fry anything! And seeing how Relleno's are one of our most favorite Mexican foods, well you can see the conflict. I was slightly off my game yesterday, so when I made this I totally spaced that I had 5 big poblano chilies. After following the recipe, there wasn't enough "batter" to cover my chilies. I made another 1/2 recipe, probably not really enough either. But in the oven they went. They stuck to my pan like a son of a gun. However, the flavor and texture was there! After thinking about this recipe I realized it is very similar to a breakfast item called a Dutch Baby. A crepe batter that is poured into a very hot pan with melted butter and baked until puffy and brown. A much wetter batter. So for me this recipe is a keeper. I love that you can have leftovers as my husband takes a lunch every day. I will be making quite often as I can now have a non-fried Relleno, hooorayyy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I made this tonight for dinner and it was pretty good. The can of chilies only had 3 large ones, so I added a small can of diced chilies to the dish too. I didn't measure the cheese, I just eyeballed it. Next time I'll buy 2 cans of whole chilies. My guy and I typically don't eat a lot, but I found this made only 4 servings instead of 6. I'll be making this again and sharing my photo soon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      These were super tasty! I roasted 7 fresh hatch green chiles over the gas stovetop and I also used oaxaca cheese. Left the batter measurments as-is and the cooking time was perfect! These are better than the chile rellenos I make at home and waaay less work! Topped with mexican blend shredded cheese. Leftovers today for lunch- I can't wait- YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      These were awsome!! I used 6 fresh roasted pablano chilis and oaxaca cheese. I upped the egg mixture by 1/2 and baked in a 9x12 dish and topped with a cheddar/jack combo. I took the dish to our Easter BBQ along with some Mexican rice, where we served with carne asada and chicken. The rellanos were the hit of the meal! My BIL "volunteered" me to bring them next weekend to his daughter's BD party! They were so easy, that I gladly agreed! I have to say that I like these better than the traditional fried version! Thank you so much for a recipe that I will be using over and over!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      Easy to make. We added seasoned groud beef for more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      this is a good dish for lent and its very warm and comforting thanks for posting dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      This one is a keeper. I used fresh roasted poblano chiles, instead of canned chiles. So quick and easy not to mention tasty. I recommend serving them with black beans and mexican rice topped with cilantro...Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Chile Relleno Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.5
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    60%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 179.4 mg
    59%
    Sodium 406.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 20.0 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites