Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Chicken Mole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Chicken Mole

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2013

      I love mole and wanted to see if I could get my kids to eat it. I started making it only to discover I didn't have the tomatoes, gasp! I feverishly looked in the fridge and pantry for a comparable substitute as I didn't have time to run to the store before dinner. I had cooked the chicken (breasts) in the crock pot in a small amount of water most of the day. I proceed to make the sauce, substituting a jar of mild salsa (hey, it's tomatoes, peppers & jalapenos, right?)...dilemma solved! In step 4, I waited to add the chocolate, threw in a few raisins (as I recall traditional mole contains dried fruit), some cilantro & sesame seeds (I didn't have pepitas) and pureed everything with the immersion blender, let it simmer another half hour or so and then added the chocolate & chicken. Simmer another 45 minutes & wow, this is really great. I'm happy to report that the kids really enjoyed it. If they ever knew all the ingredients that were in the same pan, they would fall out. I've made mole before, with disappointing results (and that's a lot of ingredients to be disappointed about). This was really nice, thanks for sharing, we'll be making this one again! Served topped with cheddar, black beans and steamed rice on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2013

      I had high hopes for this meal given all the positive reviews but, honestly, it was pretty disappointing. We didn't like it at all and even threw out the leftovers. To be fair, I've never eaten mole before so perhaps it isn't the recipe but rather that we are not mole lovers. The dish is full of wonderfully flavourful ingredients but they just didn't come together for us. Sorry, won't try this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      Wow! I hate it when reviewers say - Great recipe ... but I used blah blah blah. - And here I am going to do just what I hate - I grabbed a can of all natural tomato sauce (NO sugar added) by mistake and dumped it in before I realized it was not tomatoes ... SO I used 1 12 oz can tomato sauce and 1 12 oz can diced tomatoes. This was delicious, we inhaled it and since there was just 2 of us, we had enough left over for the next day. MUCH better the 2nd day - flavors mellowed and mingled. YUM YUM YUM... Like real Mexican mole - scrumptious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I made this for my husband who loves mole. He gave it 5 stars saying it had the perfect amount of chocolate and was not too sweet. I did use chipotle chili powder instead of regular along with the chipotle peppers and it gave a nice, smoky flavor. I only had a pasilla and red bell pepper so i used those instead of bell pepper. I also used chicken breast instead of the roasting chicken and it came out beautifully. Very great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Mmmm... rich and delicious with chocolate, peanut butter, cinnamon, jalapenos and the rest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I made this dish last night and we thought it was just delicious! I've never made any kind of mole sauce before but always wanted to try it. I loved the rich flavors from the cinnamon, chili powder and the spiciness of the chipotles, yum :) Very easy to make too, thanks so much for sharing this. Made this for the Snowqueen Comfort Cafe tag event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      My friend made this for dinner and it was delicious! I plan to make it myself soon :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I'm not a huge fan of mole but my partner is. I've always been intimidated by the complexity of mole but this one is relativly easy and turned out great. I used skinned thighs rather than the whole chicken and jalapenos with 1/4 t of chipolte powder. This recipe is definatly a keeper. With a guacomole salad, white rice and plantains, it was a birthday party to remember.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      So good! I'm a huge fan of mole. My partner? Not so much. But even she gave this one 5 stars, so that's really saying something. The flavor was really stellar, and it was relatively easy to put together. I had more sauce than my casserole dish would hold, and I ate the excess sauce with a spoon--it's that good! Thanks for another winner, cookiedog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Avery good mole and easy to make too! Cannot buy chipotles here and had to jalapeno's Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Very nice mole, not that I've had the opportunity of sampling many, but I really liked this dish. The sauce was very layered and complex, but not at all difficult to make. I'll definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      Excellent. I really enjoyed this and will likely make it again. It is an easy recipe and quick. I didn't have chipotles but had pasilla and ancho powder which made it milder I'm sure, but full of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      Another first for me ~ the making of chicken mole, that is, & I was very happy with the results! I did cut back on the amount of chipotle peppers, & I did use chicken breasts [I wouldn't mind if a chicken was ALL breast, but that's just my preference!], then followed the recipe down the line! Thanks for posting a recipe for very, very nice mole!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Chicken Mole

    Serving Size: 1 (492 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 973.6
     
    Calories from Fat 632
    64%
    Total Fat 70.3 g
    108%
    Saturated Fat 19.1 g
    95%
    Cholesterol 285.1 mg
    95%
    Sodium 560.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 71.8 g
    143%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes