15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for dinner tonight, along with a potato & onion dish. We really enjoyed this. Hubby has been hounding me for cube steaks, so I tried this. So very glad I did. I followed exactly, but I was tempted to add a splash of "Kitchen Bouquet" to the gravy for color & extra flavor, but I didn't. The real way to have this is with the light colored gravy. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made for Suitcase Gourmets / Culinary Quest 2014

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 August 14, 2014

Lovely and tasty recipe. I did add garlic powder to the seasoning because I always do. The butcher that we buy from makes really big cube steaks so didn't have any of the flour left for the gravy. Be that as it may the steaks came out very well with a nice coating and tender, juice inside. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia August 13, 2014

This was very flavorful, and this brought back lots of great memories of mom making this during my childhood. But I had a lot of trouble with the coating staying on the steaks. But it was still quite good. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Lavender Lynn. Made for 2014 Culinary Quest (U.S. Southern Cooking).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal August 11, 2014

I made this recipe on 8/7/14 for mine and my SO's dinner,but most importantly for the Culinary Quest 2014. Except for cutting the recipe in half and doubling the spices,the recipe was made just as it was written. My SO enjoyed this very much,but I thought it was just o.k.. I guess I just prefer it made with pork or chicken. But thanks for taking time to create and post this recipe. " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � August 08, 2014

Great recipe and very east to make! It came out nice and tender and very flavorful! Made as written and served with mashed potatoes and deviled carrots. Will be making this again; it is a good stick-to-your-ribs winter meal! Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #71.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH January 05, 2013

I guess I used the wrong kind of cubed steak. I had the butcher run it through the cuber one time. Everything about this recipe was great except it was nearly raw. I added garlic powder, onion powder, white pepper, cayenne and cumin to the flour because we like spicy. I'm giving it 5 stars because the error was mine and I should have known I can't cook a round steak in 4 minutes. I'll definately try this again with proper meat or longer cooking. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY April 21, 2009

I made this with the help of my dd Chef Buggsy today for lunch...we both agreed that it was wonderful. I did not have paprika so we used a Cajun Creole spice blend instead. It added a very nice flavor to the gravy and dredging flour for the meat. The only thing that spoiled the meal was the fact that we had to use instant mashed potatoes. We have this on the menu to make for dinner next week so that the entire family can enjoy it as well. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made and reviewed as a recipenap for the 24th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap Jan. 09

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate January 09, 2009

Yum! We love chicken-fried steak and this was a great version. Simple to make and tastes great. Thanks Lynn for sharing. Made for Tic-Tac-Toe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme November 16, 2008

I made this last week and thought I reviewed it then. I guess I didn't This was really good. I used one pork cube steak because I got it at the store in the reduced meat section at a good price. This was really good. I used half milk and half half and half for he gravy. I love milk gravy so I kept the gravy ingredients the same so that I would have plenty of it. This was easy to make. I have never put paprika when I have made Chicken Fried Steak before. I liked the way it made the meat taste. I used the leftover flour mixture for the gravy. It gave the gravy a nice flavor. I will make it like this again. Thanks for sharing your recipe Lynn. Made for ZWT 4 Canada and the Cafe ZMAKK Gypsies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof July 02, 2008
Quick Chicken-Fried Steak With Pan Gravy