11 Reviews

Yum, Kate! I saw JoyfulCook's review and photo, and I felt compelled to make this right away! I had just made some homemade French Onion soup, and this went perfectly with it! The only changes I made were this: I used the "Dough" button of my bread machine, to mix until the butter was crumbly, I stopped it, put in the rest of the ingredients, and let it knead the dough until smooth, (5 min) and then turned out. After the eggwash, I added some sesame seeds atop. DELISH! Thanks, Kate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm December 06, 2012

Absolutely delicious. We had these for lunch and the flavour was lovely and the texture was great, thanks so much for posting this. I have already saved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyfulCook December 03, 2012

I prepared 25 small appetizers with the proposed amounts.

Specification of some ingredients:
2 cups self raising flour, I used 2 cups of flour and 7 grams of instant yeast
125 g tasty cheese, I used grated parmesan
1 teaspoon garlic salt, I used 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon dried garlic powder
milk and water were lukewarm

I used kneading machine and the dought out very smooth and it was very easy to form the rolls.
I placed the roll in the oven (without heat but light on!) to rest and rise for 30 minutes prior baking them.
As they were small I placed some hot water in the oven during baking. After 20 minutes they very ready and golden.
My family liked them very much and I will use this as appetizer for guests as well.
Thanks a lot for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde November 07, 2011

These are very tasty and easy to make. I would make them smaller next time, though. Perhaps 6 of them instead of 4. I used shredded sharp cheddar for the cheese and dried chives, which were fine, but will try these again when my fresh chives are in the garden. Great with soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey January 01, 2010

This is a simple and lovely roll. I used chices from my kitchen garden and used garlic powder 1tsp plus 1/4 tsp sea salt. I love the cheese taste but next time will add a bit more or experiment with other flavors. There will definitely be more times for these rolls. Quick to put together. Served with My My My Minestra - Italian Vegetable Soup With Pasta for the Aus/NZ Nov 2009 Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie November 03, 2009

Mmmm, these are DELICIOUS! They have a delicate chive flavour which goes really well with the cheese. Easy and quick to make and super tasty! What more could you ask for in a scones/biscuits/rolls recipe?! I used whole spelt flour and a little less cheese and went for 8 smaller rolls so that I could share them with my sis and still eat many. :) THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this winner of a recipe with us, katew! It will be made often again! Made and reviewed for Every Day is a Holiday Tag Game July 09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 25, 2009

Very enjoyable damper style of bread roll, I used 1 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1/2 teaspooon of salt and garlic chives as my herb, I did need a little extra liquid to bring it together and mixed the herbs and cheese in after mixing the flour and butter in the food processor. Baked for 20 minutes at 190C fan forced oven. When making again though I would divide them into 6 rolls and bake for about 15 minutes. Thank you katew, made for Swap #29 - June 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat June 02, 2009

This was quite nice. I didn't have the garlic salt, so used 1 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp salt. I also used extra old cheddar which I mixed into the flour before adding the milk. That's for a lovely recipe katew. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #26.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 March 08, 2009

I'm sorry, but this recipe needs some serious looking over. The ingredients are in a confusing order and the directions never mention when to add the cheese and chives. Also, I would make these smaller (6 or more rather than 4), but that is personal preference, I'm sure. The rolls tasted good, but the confusing directions kinda overshadowed that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout December 26, 2008

Easy as can be, and very tasty to boot! Not sure what you classify as "tasty" cheese, so I used cheddar (almost available in Wisconsin!)...we loved 'em. *Aus/NZ Recipe Swap Oct 07*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber October 31, 2007
Quick Cheese and Chive Rolls