13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

First of all, I've had this recipe printed out since 01/22/07 and I wish I would've made this alot sooner.And now on to my review,I made the recipe as written,except I didn't add the raisins( I just don't do raisins)And being from the south adding marshmellows to sweet potatoes is a requirement,not an option.:).But the next time I make these,and they will be made again,I will drain all but about 1/4 cup of the liquid and cut the brown sugar bake to about 1/2 cup.They way it was written was just a little too sweet for us.Thank you for posting,and "Keep Smiling:)"

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � May 09, 2007

Thanks so much! This was very easy to make. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to mine and it came out great. First Christmas at my house was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beginner cooker December 25, 2011

These were super simple to make and delicious! I added a generous sprinkling of cinnamon to mine. I will definitely be making them again. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerysummersun December 24, 2011

Only problem with this recipe is I didn't make enough. Next time will double the recipe. Adding the craisins was a good idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winettie December 28, 2010

YUM! Thanks for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom.2.Three December 28, 2009

Definitely easy, definitely quick. This turned out perfect. There's no reason to go through any more trouble to fix this yummy dish. Though I did make a few minor changes. First, I used two cans of yams (80oz). Instead of just raisins, I used a combo of golden raisins, raisins, and cranberries (1/2 cup), but used the same amount as the recipe calls for brown sugar and marshmallows. Awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
for the love of veggies November 24, 2009

Extremely easy to make and delicious. My favorite kind of recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Treesaw November 28, 2008

Easy to make and very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildblu3 May 28, 2008

Very tasty yams, I somehow managed to forget the marshmallows at the store but they were still very good without them. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle November 24, 2007

This is how my grandmother always cooked yams. I didn't even know the difference between yams and sweet potatoes until I started watching the food network, lol! Every year for Christmas and Thanksgiving there would always be a bowl of these yams of the table, and they never lasted long. I recommend mashing the leftovers onto a roasted chicken or turkey sandwich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizEmerilLagasse August 29, 2007
Quick Can Candied Yams