158 Reviews

Very nice soup. I'm glad it wasn't too sweet. I've had some butternut squash soup that was so sweet I couldn't eat it. Found some nice prepared squash at Costco, used frozen chopped onions and frozen minced garlic which made this fast and easy. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maddison November 19, 2009

I had 2 cans of chicken broth and I added both (3.5c) not wanting to waste any- it was too much liquid. I think 2.5 c would have been better for a thicker consistency. I added nutmeg and cinnamon to mine as well- flavor was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendyjoy November 15, 2009

Love it!!! Read the reviews first and did and pinch of ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and about 2 Tblsp cream. Yummy Yummy. My 12 year old even loves it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladibugz November 11, 2009

Good soup, but I thought it a little bland. Had to jazz it up with more spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 November 01, 2009

Silky & subtle, easy to prepare & quick to make. I wouldn't hesitate in making this soup a starter for my fussiest company, or a quick cold day lunch. The only change I made was not adding parmesan cheese, I garnished with a dollop of sour cream. This will be going into my soup rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumboot Gourmet November 01, 2009

This is a wonderful, easy recipe. I made it without the cheese. Also, I pureed the squash completely smooth, and mixed in real maple syrup (to taste, I probably added 1/4 cup) and let the soup simmer another 20 minutes or so. It added a really nice slight sweetness (don't add too much).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puffjelo October 31, 2009

Very easy and simply delicious. I took my cue from other reviewers and added a pinch of nutmeg and ginger. The ginger, in particular, is a must. I would keep all of the accompanying ingredients at a minimum, so as to not overpower the squash's taste. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 October 30, 2009

I'm on a detox and can't eat a lot of things right now. This is delicious! I don't feel deprived at all! I added a bit of cinnamon, a splash of almond milk and a drizzle of agave nectar to sweeten. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa823 October 27, 2009

Delicious! Like another reviewer, I added some ground ginger & nutmeg, plus about a tablespoon of cream. I served it with salad and crusty bread, and my husband (who normally requires that meat be a part of every meal) actually loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsWhite October 22, 2009
Quick Butternut Squash Soup