156 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good, but I agree with some of the other posters that there is something missing as written. I used homemade chicken stock, roasted my butternut squash and used lots of fresh sage, but I couldn't quite put my finger on what was missing. I used another poster's advice to add some curry powder, and that made it much better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shera_23 December 13, 2010

Not great. It was just so-so, rather bland and needed something more. I added some oregano and a little more garlic and it helped, but I won't make it again as is. I think if I had roasted the butternut first it would have been much better, because it needed some sort of depth of flavor which it was missing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feisty December 05, 2010

Very yummy. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrairieRose November 17, 2010

I could eat this soup everyday...seriously! Wouldn't change a thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Cooking Mama November 16, 2010

Not that this recipe needs another good review, but DH and I also thought this was a good soup--I forgot the parmesean (which probably would have made it great) and next time will remember! I had to increase the salt (though I think my squash was larger than the recipe called for, so that would make sense). I also added a dash of ginger, which added a nice warmth (as others have mentioned). Such a creamy soup with no guilty cream! Thank you for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie November 12, 2010

Absolutely fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angiyoungblood November 11, 2010

Great base recipe. I added a little five spice. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingalong November 09, 2010

I can't say enough how WONDERFUL this soup was! I made it for a funeral reception today. It was such a joy to hear such whispers as"did you try the soup" "I heard it was really good" "who made that soup" "what was in that soup?" EVERYONE who tried it LOVED it! I gave the recipe out to 4 others and more still want copies! I quadrupled the recipe and it worked out great! I did have to make some changes b/c I didn't have chicken broth on hand, so I substituted it with a combination of beef broth, beef consume, and water to have enough liquid. Then, at the end I added 1c cream per "recipe" (total 4c). I must emphasize: DO NOT OMIT THE SAGE! That's the magic ingredient in my opinion! It was utterly FANTASTIC! This is definitely going into our winter repertoire! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crystalroset October 18, 2010

Absolutely delicious! I added a pinch of curry powder to warm it up just a bit, and it took it over the edge to phenomenal. Now I am on the hunt for more butternut squash ....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChansonCooks October 10, 2010

I was skeptical about a thick, rich soup taking only 20 minutes to simmer but pleasantly surprised at the outcome. I did nuke the squash in the microwave for 10 minutes first, as I don't have the patience to work with the tough butternut peels. I also added a few dashes of ginger (as others here have recommended) and some Lawry's pepper (my personal favorite - love a little extra pepper!). Overall, this recipe was super easy and full of flavor. I served with a few garlic/butter croutons and some shredded parmesan cheese. It's a keeper! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scouter Girl September 26, 2010
Quick Butternut Squash Soup