158 Reviews

This was absolutely delicious and quite easy to make! My husband and I gobbled it up. The prep time is not 10 minutes though... Peeling/chopping/de-seeding the butternut squash takes a while (at least it does for me), however; this simple recipe was totally worth it :-) Can't wait to make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyWife313 September 24, 2012

This did not work for me or my family - it was missing something. Made as written and it tasted off so added some nutmeg and cream as suggested by other reviewers but still didn't help. No one would eat it and it got thrown away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlhorn August 01, 2012

This was so easy to make but it didn't have a lot of flavor to it. This was the first time I have ever had squash soup and it wasn't all that bad but it's just something I would not make again for myself. I had frozen a lot of squash last summer and was glad to find a way to use it. I also added fresh shredded Parmesan cheese to my bowl. Made for 2012 Zaar Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 March 10, 2012

I made this recipe for a group of 5 girls over the weekend and everyone devoured it. I added one apple to the recipe for the slightest hint of sweet and a few table spoons of cream. I will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amateur Chef Kate February 24, 2012

Very good and super easy. Used 2 lbs of diced, peeled organic butternut squash from Costco so this came together in no time. Fresh ground pepper makes a big difference in such a simple recipe. Added about a cup of chicken broth. Ate some right away and froze the rest in individual servings. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 11, 2012

this was awesome! i too micro'd the squash first- then cut it up. as it is- flavors are very subtle. was a huge hit for TG dinner. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FullyClothedChef November 25, 2011

Don't know if this add in was already mentioned, but had a wonderful butternut squash soup during a visit to PA recently that included some spicy Italian sausage. So we made this basic recipe but adding in a lot of the suggested spices and added a half pound of Italian sausage which we cooked and drained before adding. The PA soup also had some toasted walnuts added, but we left that out...was wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lagumbogal November 06, 2011

This was fantastic! I took the other reviewers' suggestions and microwaved the squash first to make it easier to deal with. Dinner was on the table in less than a 1/2 hour. I added a little fat free half and half and a dash of cayenne. Otherwise, made as directed. Very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lyssie71 October 26, 2011
Quick Butternut Squash Soup