156 Reviews

Very nice recipe, and since squash is on sale a lot during this time of year, I took advantage.<br/>By the way the review by Good Cookie was very helpful in making this a quick go to fall or winter soup. so Kudo's to you both and Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff's Chef October 09, 2014

This was just as easy and delicious as the previous reviewers have said. I had never heard of the microwaving the squash trick that was mentioned by other reviewers, but I tried it today and it works slick! I microwaved a whole butternut squash for 5 minutes on one side and then 5 on the other on high. It made it so much easier to peel and cube. The only thing I added was about a TB of butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
19Paws October 09, 2014

For calories & fat I would give it 5-stars but I just didn't care much for this. I even roasted the squash thinking it would add some extra flavor. I am glad that it has been a huge success for others though! Maybe I am just not a big fan of butternut squash?!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy September 15, 2014

This was very good. I used pre-prepped squash that I got from Walmart because I wasn't feeling well today. It was a heavy soup that was filling and good for a sick day in our house. I served it alongside Baked Grilled Cheese for a well rounded meal. Thank you erinBOberrin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely January 27, 2014

This wasn't the recipe I was searching for today, but I tried and it and was pretty happy, although I made a few adjustments. Like one of the other reviewers, I thought it was a little watery and bland, so I added some canned pumpkin to thicken slightly, a few dashes of paprika and twice the amount of pepper called for, as well as 2 cups of heavy cream and some crumbled cooked bacon - my teenage daughter tried it before any additions when made exactly as the recipe stated, and said it needed "something" but was OK...then she tried it again after I made the additions and said it was delicious.<br/><br/>Also, I hate cooking with squash normally because it is such a pain to peel and cube, but I found at the local supermarket's fresh produce ready to use section a tub of peeled and cubed squash, so all I had to do was add it to the already cooking other ingredients. If I had to peel and cube it myself, I probably wouldn't bother.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathleenP November 08, 2013

I have made this soup more than 10 times over the past 2 years. I can pick up big squash for 1.29 Each not per pound so this is old faithful when it comes to cooking. <br/><br/>Don't peel the squash, oven for about an hour cut in half length-wise or microwave(I don't poke the squash and have not had a problem YET) Wait for them to cool down before gleaning the meat. <br/>Add Cream or milk.<br/>Parmesan cheese take it or leave it. <br/><br/>The recipe is better with chicken broth/stock so when my vegetarian sister-in-law not attending dinner I use it otherwise its good with vegetable stock.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikechudy October 25, 2013

Used rosemary & added an apple cut up and seeded when I sautéed onion and garlic. Delicious. Freezes well too! Will try tip on microwaving briefly before peeling, really hope it makes peeling easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy12376 October 19, 2013

This turned out so good! I did put the squash in the microwave 5 min each side before trying to peel or cut, made prep so much easier. I didn't have onions or sage so I used leeks and thyme. Turned out so delicious! Will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
txgirl15 October 17, 2013

I made this almost to the letter. I used shallots instead of onions, I also added 1/2 t. of finely chopped fresh ginger and 1/4 cup of half and half. I pureed it to the point of no chunks. One of the best and easiest butternut soups ever. This is a keeper. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaemurphy October 02, 2013
Quick Butternut Squash Soup