Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Butternut Squash Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Butternut Squash Soup

    Average Rating:

    151 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 151

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2011

    • on August 31, 2011

      This was very flavorful. I'm not sure what the other reviewers were complaining about. Based on their complaints, I did make a few minor adjustments. I subbed 1/2 cup of water for the broth (I used bullion water for broth) with dry white wine. I also tossed in about 1/4 teaspoon each of thyme and rosemary with the sage. Next time, I will probably cut back on the salt a bit, as I found it a tad bit salty for my taste. My husband, on the other hand, thought the salt was just fine. Thanks for a solid recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      YUM!!! I used extra onion & I was out of sage, so I threw in about two tea spoons of Mrs. Dash's Original. Turned out GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      I cut the recipe in half and and used frozen, diced squash. I increased the garlic and added some rosemary. Very quick and quite tasty. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      great, easy soup! I double it for freezing portions. I find this recipe is a 5 star when a can of coconut milk is added (I use the lite version) and a teaspoon of nutmeg. The flavor is enhanced if the squash is roasted too - I've used all kinds of squash with this recipe and it always comes out wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      This was good, but I agree with some of the other posters that there is something missing as written. I used homemade chicken stock, roasted my butternut squash and used lots of fresh sage, but I couldn't quite put my finger on what was missing. I used another poster's advice to add some curry powder, and that made it much better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Not great. It was just so-so, rather bland and needed something more. I added some oregano and a little more garlic and it helped, but I won't make it again as is. I think if I had roasted the butternut first it would have been much better, because it needed some sort of depth of flavor which it was missing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Very yummy. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      I could eat this soup everyday...seriously! Wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Not that this recipe needs another good review, but DH and I also thought this was a good soup--I forgot the parmesean (which probably would have made it great) and next time will remember! I had to increase the salt (though I think my squash was larger than the recipe called for, so that would make sense). I also added a dash of ginger, which added a nice warmth (as others have mentioned). Such a creamy soup with no guilty cream! Thank you for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Absolutely fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Great base recipe. I added a little five spice. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      I can't say enough how WONDERFUL this soup was! I made it for a funeral reception today. It was such a joy to hear such whispers as"did you try the soup" "I heard it was really good" "who made that soup" "what was in that soup?" EVERYONE who tried it LOVED it! I gave the recipe out to 4 others and more still want copies! I quadrupled the recipe and it worked out great! I did have to make some changes b/c I didn't have chicken broth on hand, so I substituted it with a combination of beef broth, beef consume, and water to have enough liquid. Then, at the end I added 1c cream per "recipe" (total 4c). I must emphasize: DO NOT OMIT THE SAGE! That's the magic ingredient in my opinion! It was utterly FANTASTIC! This is definitely going into our winter repertoire! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! I added a pinch of curry powder to warm it up just a bit, and it took it over the edge to phenomenal. Now I am on the hunt for more butternut squash ....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      I was skeptical about a thick, rich soup taking only 20 minutes to simmer but pleasantly surprised at the outcome. I did nuke the squash in the microwave for 10 minutes first, as I don't have the patience to work with the tough butternut peels. I also added a few dashes of ginger (as others here have recommended) and some Lawry's pepper (my personal favorite - love a little extra pepper!). Overall, this recipe was super easy and full of flavor. I served with a few garlic/butter croutons and some shredded parmesan cheese. It's a keeper! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

    • on January 11, 2010

      Very easy to make and so simple with fantastic results. It's got a mild flavor that is easy to spice up if you want. First time making anything using butternut squash and was very happy with the results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

    • on December 16, 2009

      Very yummy! This is the first soup recipe that has had the exactly perfect amount of salt. Instead of the parmesan garnish, I stir in a little half and half before serving. Also, the second time I made this I roasted the squash in the oven then scooped it right into the pot - it worked beautifully, and saved me the step of peeling and cubing (I made a triple batch, so it was definitely worth it)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      Holy WOW! YUMMY YUMMY!! I made this soup for a family gathering and it was such a hit! This soup is easy and very delicious. The things I did a bit different were, I used 1 1/2 tbs of butter instead of 1 teaspoon of olive oil and vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. I like to start soups like this with some yummy butter and we have a vegetarian in the family, so no chicken broth... :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Butternut Squash Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.9
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    14%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 663.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites