156 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A hearty soup but not something I'll not make again. I added seedless rye bread; helped bring out some of the flavor and was a welcome accompaniment. Without that it needs too much else for this to be the recipe for success. I agree with most posters this needs nutmeg and/or ginger. Sounds like they took a yam/sweet potato soup and tried to change it up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schinsup1 January 20, 2010

I love this soup! I do, however, make it with roasted butternut squash. I have tried making it both ways now, and enjoy the depth of flavor the roasted squash adds. Also great with a grilled or toasted cheddar cheese sandwich. Dunk it right in! Thanks for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristing December 10, 2008

i wasn't nearly as happy with this as everyone else i'm afraid. my squash took about 45 min to cook and when i had blended it i found the soup watery and tasteless, even though i added an extra 2 cloves of garlic and subbed out half a cup of the water for the broth with white wine. i added 1/2 tsp dill, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/3 tsp curry powder, 2 Tbs honey, another half a broth cube, lots of salt and pepper, 2 Tbs sour cream, a splash more wine, a bit more olive oil and almost a cup of powdered milk as well as topping with good grated parmesan. after all that it was fairly tasty but didn't taste like squash anymore. course it didn't start out tasting like squash either. i think if i make butternut squash soup again i'm going to start with roasting the whole thing for more flavor alongside plenty of garlic and adding some half and half to the base. and plenty more fresh sage and wine

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto July 10, 2011

Sorry--I wasn't a fan. It's kind of a lot of work dealing with the fresh butternut squash. My husband did enjoy it though, and said that the Parmesan cheese made it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tajgood1 November 25, 2010

Very nice. Made in about 30 min using frozen squash from the garden. I followed directions as is, just adding still frozen squash to the broth mix, letting it simmer a good 20 min to soften. I also added a pinch of dried giner like other reviewes. Warm and comforting when coming down with a cold. Don't skip on the cheese, a good grating of Romano cheese on top was the icing on the cake. Served with toast points for dunking. Absolutely will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 March 16, 2010

This recipe was our family's first taste of butternut squash soup. It is amazing! Even our picky eater loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joanna570 February 23, 2010

so easy and yummy! I love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diana18355 February 22, 2010

I was skeptical that such a soup could be ready in less than an hour, but it was great!! I'm used to soups needing to simmer for hours, and this soup is as creamy and flavorful like it took all day. I had an extra stalk or two of celery that I added to the mix. Turned out great, will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andro February 08, 2010

This was a hit! Very easy...I followed suggestion to microwave the squash to soften for peeling and it worked great. As I was making it, I found I didn't have any sage, so I substituted fresh tarragon. It was delicious. I will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynjt November 03, 2014

Family loved it! I added some Cauliflower to it as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrashCurran October 11, 2014
Quick Butternut Squash Soup