Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Butternut Squash Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Butternut Squash Soup

    Average Rating:

    151 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 151

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2013

      This wasn't the recipe I was searching for today, but I tried and it and was pretty happy, although I made a few adjustments. Like one of the other reviewers, I thought it was a little watery and bland, so I added some canned pumpkin to thicken slightly, a few dashes of paprika and twice the amount of pepper called for, as well as 2 cups of heavy cream and some crumbled cooked bacon - my teenage daughter tried it before any additions when made exactly as the recipe stated, and said it needed "something" but was OK...then she tried it again after I made the additions and said it was delicious.<br/><br/>Also, I hate cooking with squash normally because it is such a pain to peel and cube, but I found at the local supermarket's fresh produce ready to use section a tub of peeled and cubed squash, so all I had to do was add it to the already cooking other ingredients. If I had to peel and cube it myself, I probably wouldn't bother.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2013

      I have made this soup more than 10 times over the past 2 years. I can pick up big squash for 1.29 Each not per pound so this is old faithful when it comes to cooking. <br/><br/>Don't peel the squash, oven for about an hour cut in half length-wise or microwave(I don't poke the squash and have not had a problem YET) Wait for them to cool down before gleaning the meat. <br/>Add Cream or milk.<br/>Parmesan cheese take it or leave it. <br/><br/>The recipe is better with chicken broth/stock so when my vegetarian sister-in-law not attending dinner I use it otherwise its good with vegetable stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      Used rosemary & added an apple cut up and seeded when I sautéed onion and garlic. Delicious. Freezes well too! Will try tip on microwaving briefly before peeling, really hope it makes peeling easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      This turned out so good! I did put the squash in the microwave 5 min each side before trying to peel or cut, made prep so much easier. I didn't have onions or sage so I used leeks and thyme. Turned out so delicious! Will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      I made this almost to the letter. I used shallots instead of onions, I also added 1/2 t. of finely chopped fresh ginger and 1/4 cup of half and half. I pureed it to the point of no chunks. One of the best and easiest butternut soups ever. This is a keeper. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      Yumm!!! So simple!! Next time I'll go a little easier on the sage, but this was great and low calorie and Points!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      Great recipe! It's a bit of a process, but the end result is worth it. I cut the squash in half, poked some holes in it and microwaved it ten minutes before peeling, etc. I also put it in the food processor prior to cooking it, and then again after the soup had cooled down. I put in a dash of cinnamon when I ate it, and it was delish! Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      Love this recipe! I add some red curry powder to give it just a little more kick (personal taste).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      Good tasting soup...I roasted the squash, cut in half, put on foil on a tray after spraying with an aresol cooking oil spray, gives a rich product and makes peeling a breeze. This makes a thick soup and makes the possibility of adding at least 16 additional ounces of chicken broth a definite alternative without affecting the quality. Cheese toping prior to serving was an added bonus. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      I made this tonight as posted except I added 2 tsp grated fresh ginger and one large japanese pear (apple/pear) cubed. After I pureed all of the squash and pear I added a large dollop of sour cream because it looked a little watery. It was very good! And it was quick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

    • on September 24, 2012

      This was absolutely delicious and quite easy to make! My husband and I gobbled it up. The prep time is not 10 minutes though... Peeling/chopping/de-seeding the butternut squash takes a while (at least it does for me), however; this simple recipe was totally worth it :-) Can't wait to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      This did not work for me or my family - it was missing something. Made as written and it tasted off so added some nutmeg and cream as suggested by other reviewers but still didn't help. No one would eat it and it got thrown away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

    • on March 10, 2012

      This was so easy to make but it didn't have a lot of flavor to it. This was the first time I have ever had squash soup and it wasn't all that bad but it's just something I would not make again for myself. I had frozen a lot of squash last summer and was glad to find a way to use it. I also added fresh shredded Parmesan cheese to my bowl. Made for 2012 Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      I made this recipe for a group of 5 girls over the weekend and everyone devoured it. I added one apple to the recipe for the slightest hint of sweet and a few table spoons of cream. I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      Very good and super easy. Used 2 lbs of diced, peeled organic butternut squash from Costco so this came together in no time. Fresh ground pepper makes a big difference in such a simple recipe. Added about a cup of chicken broth. Ate some right away and froze the rest in individual servings. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      this was awesome! i too micro'd the squash first- then cut it up. as it is- flavors are very subtle. was a huge hit for TG dinner. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      Don't know if this add in was already mentioned, but had a wonderful butternut squash soup during a visit to PA recently that included some spicy Italian sausage. So we made this basic recipe but adding in a lot of the suggested spices and added a half pound of Italian sausage which we cooked and drained before adding. The PA soup also had some toasted walnuts added, but we left that out...was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      This was fantastic! I took the other reviewers' suggestions and microwaved the squash first to make it easier to deal with. Dinner was on the table in less than a 1/2 hour. I added a little fat free half and half and a dash of cayenne. Otherwise, made as directed. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Butternut Squash Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.9
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    14%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 663.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites