Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Easy Fall Entertaining >

    27 One-Pot Meals

    27 One-Pot Meals

    Easy & Comforting Dinners
    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    (Pumpkin) Spice Up Your Life
    Seasonal Squash

    Seasonal Squash

    Get Your Cool-Weather Veggie Fix
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Butternut Squash Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Butternut Squash Soup

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2010

      Forgot to mention that I poked the whole squash with a few pricks and microwaved on high for 10 mins. until soft. Cut it in half, scooped out seeds and added cooked squash to pot. This saves lots of time peeling, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      This soup was delicious! It was quick after I peeled and cut up the squash, a process similar to peeling and cutting up a granite boulder. Next time, I am going to bake the squash in the oven until it is partially cooked and then peel it and dice it to add to the broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2002

      This was so simple to start with and I had to make it even easier. I peeled and seeded the butternut squash and threw it in the food processor!Then continue'd..After I pureed it in the blender, I tried one more thing...I added a little cream (1 tablespoon to the whole batch..only 50 calories and 5 grams of fat). It still will be low fat and low calories and rich, as if you are cheating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      My family and I LOVE this soup!!! My husband, who is "anti-any kind of sqash" requests it regularly. We buy a 2 pound container of peeled and cubed butternut squash at Costco for $5 and put the whole thing into the stockpot with 4 cups of chicken broth and TONS of dried sage from my mother's garden. After I use the stick blender, I always add a can of washed black beans. It adds a little something and makes the soup stick to your ribs a bit more. ;-) Quick, healthy and absolutely FABULOUS!!!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      This soup was very yummy! I liIked it better than my hubby, but he only likes squash because we grew it so it's cheap! :O) I made it as posted except I microwaved the squash whole for 10 minutes, then peeled and cubed it. Made it much easier!! Also used veggie-chicken broth. I forgot to try adding ginger, so will have to do that next time. Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      This soup was so simple to make and very tasty! I doubled it and froze half for later :) Sage and butternut squash is such a great combo, definitely do not omit the sage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      Oh my goodness, is this soup delicious, and I love that it is healthy too. It has a perfectly velvety smooth texture and gets a lot of flavor from the sauteed onion and garlic. It's so easy to prepare! Like other reviewers who didn't want to bother with peeling and chopping the squash, I chose to microwave mine (I pierced it all over using a knife, placed it on a plate, microwaved it for 5 minutes, turned it over and microwaved for another 5 minutes). Thanks for sharing this recipe. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      This was soooo easy and soo good. I've avoided butternut squash because it's so dang hard to peel. A friend told me to boil it first, and it worked! This recipe was so easy, I had most of the ingredients on hand. My son has made it as well, adding pureed carrots and cauliflower to it. I tasted it with the parmesan cheese, but it's so good without it that I'd rather have it that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      This is a wonderful and easy soup to make. My toddler loves it. I freeze for easy dinners later. I add red lentils to make it more of a meal and you can't tell they are in there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      So easy and delicious! Very good on its own, but for a little extra kick I added some crumbled bacon & croutons to serve. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      A hearty soup but not something I'll not make again. I added seedless rye bread; helped bring out some of the flavor and was a welcome accompaniment. Without that it needs too much else for this to be the recipe for success. I agree with most posters this needs nutmeg and/or ginger. Sounds like they took a yam/sweet potato soup and tried to change it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      I love this soup! I do, however, make it with roasted butternut squash. I have tried making it both ways now, and enjoy the depth of flavor the roasted squash adds. Also great with a grilled or toasted cheddar cheese sandwich. Dunk it right in! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      i wasn't nearly as happy with this as everyone else i'm afraid. my squash took about 45 min to cook and when i had blended it i found the soup watery and tasteless, even though i added an extra 2 cloves of garlic and subbed out half a cup of the water for the broth with white wine. i added 1/2 tsp dill, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/3 tsp curry powder, 2 Tbs honey, another half a broth cube, lots of salt and pepper, 2 Tbs sour cream, a splash more wine, a bit more olive oil and almost a cup of powdered milk as well as topping with good grated parmesan. after all that it was fairly tasty but didn't taste like squash anymore. course it didn't start out tasting like squash either. i think if i make butternut squash soup again i'm going to start with roasting the whole thing for more flavor alongside plenty of garlic and adding some half and half to the base. and plenty more fresh sage and wine

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Sorry--I wasn't a fan. It's kind of a lot of work dealing with the fresh butternut squash. My husband did enjoy it though, and said that the Parmesan cheese made it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Very nice. Made in about 30 min using frozen squash from the garden. I followed directions as is, just adding still frozen squash to the broth mix, letting it simmer a good 20 min to soften. I also added a pinch of dried giner like other reviewes. Warm and comforting when coming down with a cold. Don't skip on the cheese, a good grating of Romano cheese on top was the icing on the cake. Served with toast points for dunking. Absolutely will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      This recipe was our family's first taste of butternut squash soup. It is amazing! Even our picky eater loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      so easy and yummy! I love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      I was skeptical that such a soup could be ready in less than an hour, but it was great!! I'm used to soups needing to simmer for hours, and this soup is as creamy and flavorful like it took all day. I had an extra stalk or two of celery that I added to the mix. Turned out great, will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2014

      Family loved it! I added some Cauliflower to it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2014

      Very nice recipe, and since squash is on sale a lot during this time of year, I took advantage.<br/>By the way the review by Good Cookie was very helpful in making this a quick go to fall or winter soup. so Kudo's to you both and Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Butternut Squash Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.9
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    14%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 663.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites