Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Buttermilk Cinnamon Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Buttermilk Cinnamon Bread

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2010

      I had a previous recipe which included a TON of butter. I was intrigued by this recipe since I always use Canola oil in my baked goods (heart healthy). I also subbed 1c. of whole wheat flour in place of 1 of the cups of flour to make it more healthy. With the exception of those substitutions & reducing the cinnamon/sugar mixture to 1/2c. sugar, I made the recipe as instructed. It was plenty sweet and satisfied my craving for warm cinnamon quick bread. I also baked the entire recipe in a greased Bundt pan which always works out better for me. Tip: if you don't have buttermilk, measure 1T. of vinegar, pour into 1 c. measure and fill remaining amount with milk. (1T for each cup). Let sit for a few minutes, add in place of buttermilk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      Really good warm out of the oven! Couple of changes that I made were increasing the salt to 1-1/2 teaspoons and I also added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter itself, in addition to the cinnamon that was swirled throughout. I sprayed my loaf pans with Pam and also lined the bottoms with parchment for added ease in removing the loaves. While they were still hot I drizzled a glaze over the top that consisted of powdered sugar and French Vanilla Coffee-Mate creamer. Loved the ease of just mixing the batter up by hand really quick and not needing the mixer! This recipe has been added to my book of keepers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      My family loved it! Thank you for this easy, fast, delicious recipe. I didn't have buttermilk and used plain yogurt instead and turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      Delicious. I made this with whole wheat flour, coconut oil, and agave nectar (1 c) for the batter. For the cinnamon sugar mixture, I cut the amounts in half. It was plenty sweet even with all those changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      This bread was really good and really easy to put together. In my haste this morning, I forgot to put the cinnamon sugar mixture in the middle, so just dumped it all on top...still tasted great, though I am sure it would've been better if I hadn't botched that part! : } It had probably the best texture of any cinnamon bread recipe I've ever tried. I halved the recipe to make just one loaf and did have to use about 1/4 c sour cream as I didn't quite have enough buttermilk. I will absolutely make this again--and hopefully remember to get that cinnamon swirl in there!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Great, easy recipe. I've made it twice now (it's in the oven). both times I've used So Delicious Vanilla Cultured Coconut Milk (kind of like a vanilla buttermilk or kefir) just cause I had it. It comes out great. I do sub some whole wheat flour as others have mentioned and I do it in a bundt pan so i get 1 big coffee cake. This time i sprinkled it with oatmeal as another poster mention.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      This is a very tasty, quick and easy bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

    • on September 06, 2009

      Followed the recipe exactly - delicious and so easy!! Will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Excellent quick bread! The combination of buttermilk and cinnamon is wonderful, it takes just a few minutes to mix, and everyone loves it. The only change I made was to omit the walnuts. Thank you for a terrific recipe that I'll be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Momma loved it! I baked this on a whim when I had extra buttermilk. My mom wanted me to use a recipe she had, but she was quite pleased in the end that I made this one. MMMMM goood. Just sweet enough, but not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Nice recipe and easy too! I thought it would be too sweet but it wasnt. I changed it a little by mixing white flour with brown flour and 2 tbls of soy flour for protein and 1 tbls of ground flax seed for added fibre and Omega's. I also dont use eggs so I used an egg replacer also I added 1tsp pure vanilla essence and 3 tbls cranraisins to make a fruity type bread.I loved the sugar crust, I stirred it in so it didnt crack and fall off once cool.I made 2 loaves, one was slightly larger and took about 10 mins longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      I, too, needed to use some leftover buttermilk, and this was the perfect solution! It is light and flavorful. However, I did not use all of the remaining cinnamon-sugar to sprinkle on top. It just seemed like a lot and, even after baking, a lot of the topping sprinkled off. Still, there was more than enough anyway. I will be making this again (and then having to find a use for the leftover buttermilk from this recipe!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This was really tasty....my kids really loved it! The only changes I made were using whole wheat flour and using rolled oats on the top rather than walnuts so that my daughter could take it to her nut-free school in her lunch bag. Very nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I loooove this bread!! I've been craving cinnamon-raisin bread, but my boyfriend doesn't like raisins. This is an excellent compromise, I think, since we both have cinnamon addictions! It's yummy as is, but it is perfection if you toast it & butter it!! Mmmm ... Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      I wanted to use up some buttermilk so decided to make this recipe and I'm so glad I did. This quick bread is delicious, has a very tender crumb, and is very easy to make. I know that I will be making it again and it would be perfect for the upcoming holidays or a special brunch. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I found this recipe when I was looking for a way to use up the rest of a quart of buttermilk. We thought this was very good. I was concerned because I thought it would be too sweet with all the sugar but it was wonderful - lots of cinnamon flavor. The only change i mdeas to add some vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      When it started snowing heavily here yesterday, I had the urge to bake something with cinnamon. This turned out to be the perfect choice--it was delicious! The bread was tender and moist, and the sugar and cinnamon on top baked into a wonderful crusty sweet topping. A lot of my topping cracked and fell off as I cut the loaf, though, so next time I'll make the effort to incorporate more of the cinnamon-sugar mixture into the batter while swirling with the knife. Wonderful bread--thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      This was very quick and easy! I didn't have any nuts on hand (except for slivered almonds), so my outcome was a little different, plus I added a small amount of brown sugar to the sugar/cinnamon mixture. The bread had a moist inside with a pretty little swirl, and a crispy, sugary coating on the top. I'll bet this would make a good muffin with a nice, crunchy top and soft insides!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Buttermilk Cinnamon Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1736 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2585.5
     
    Calories from Fat 617
    23%
    Total Fat 68.6 g
    105%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 195.8 mg
    65%
    Sodium 2757.5 mg
    114%
    Total Carbohydrate 456.9 g
    152%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 262.3 g
    1049%
    Protein 41.4 g
    82%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes