13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really liked the flavors of this. After it sat for several minutes the texture was much better. I had made it about 2 o'clock yesterday in anticipation of having it for dinner that night. We ended up having tonight. Having said this I am not sure if that is why I had to cook it so long to get the center to set.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 April 06, 2011

Great breakfast sandwiches!! I cut this back to serve two and probably cooked it almost twice as long as directed. This is nice and filling and was served with some fresh fruit for a yummy breakfast. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 January 31, 2010

This is a great little idea and tasty at that. It does need to be left overnight Dh decided to whip this up the morning of and the eggs didn't quite set up and we had to cook it quite a bit longer. We will try this again and let it set overnight. We really liked this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family December 10, 2009

We found this rich, tasty, filling, the recipe was simple and well written. What we didn't enjoy was the soggy bread on the bottom. I halved this (used 2 eggs though) for the two of us. Thanks for posting as it was a new idea for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS July 04, 2009

This makes a lovely breakfast that looks like it took alot of bother but when preparing the night b/f is so simple and easy. THe only thing I omitted was the onion flakes. I did use chopped up bacon in place of the ham also. A very filling satisfying breakfast.!~ Made for ZaarStars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB May 31, 2009

Excellent. I cut this down for the two of us and we enjoyed every bite. Excellent flavor combination. I used a little extra cheese for mine and added a good portion of pepper. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ April 26, 2009

I loved the make ahead part. It made it so easy to have a very satisfying breakfast ready in no time. I cut the recipe in half, and mine didn't turn out as pretty as the ones pictured. Maybe because my egg mixture didn't cover the top of the bread. But the cheese melted nicely on top and it tasted great. Made for Zaar Stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 04, 2009

Another terrific recipe from weekend cooker! Can't go wrong with this chef. I did goof and once I started making realized I had no onion flakes so subbed onion powder, also thought I bought swiss but instead had mozzarella. Still terrific. I cut up for a group into 16 small squares. Neat the way the bread sort of bubbles/plumps up. Terrific! Another reviewer mentioned adding fruit. This could be really good making as a Monte Cristo and topping with powdered sugar and serving with syrup. For zaar stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT March 22, 2009

WOW! What a super-easy to make and delicious dish! And I loved the make-ahead part. For me, this proved to be a fun dish to make on a Friday night: I think it blew away some of the cobwebs of a very full-on work week. We had two bananas that were very ripe, so I sliced these up and added them on top of the ham. Otherwise, apart from leaving the crusts on (elegance just wasn't a priority!) and using fresh minced onion, I made this exactly to the recipe. I used a low-fat milk. This was just so was fabulously flavoursome (I'll definitely include bananas on future occasions I make this) and I'm looking forward to trying it with a variety of breads. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, weekend cooker: it is going to feature regularly as a weekend brunch! I'm also looking forward to sharing it with friends. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder February 20, 2009

The kids just devoured these this morning (as did I). I made exactly as stated. This was so easy to prepare. What a neat way to make breakfast sandwiches. My son asked if I would make them again tomaorrow. Served with fresh fruit. Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko January 26, 2009
Quick Breakfast Sandwiches