8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really great! I did change a few things. I really don't like to spend a lot of time cooking so in case someone else is like me, this is what I did. I like my soups chunky not runny, so I added and extra pound off lean beef, I used a bag of frozen chopped onions that I used to brown the meat with. I used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes (drained). A 28oz can of cut green beans (drained). Also, the recipe didn't mention anything about it it, but I added 1 cup of salsa for more flavor. I like salsa on everything. I also used 4 more oz of mushrooms. I omitted the zucchini,bay leaves, olive oil..This recipe was GREAT and LOW CARB! THANKYOU!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Comocozi380 March 15, 2008

I've made this with beef and without. More flavor with the beef. I've also added carrots and those were delicious as well. I've never had zucchini but I probably wouldn't use it even if I had it. This soup is a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
999124 October 27, 2009

For a healthy soup you can't beat the flavor in this, and it is 100% guilt free! So easy to change up, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bisbell6 February 17, 2014

I had a 28 oz can diced tomatoes and a 4-cup container of chicken broth on hand so I used those. I didn't have zucchini. It took about one hr. for cabbage to be cooked. Very Good. Both DH and I liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie in Ontario May 21, 2007

This is great!! I have been making this for a while now--easy to make and usually I have most everything on hand. You can also make this with round steak, browned in the olive oil. A great low carb recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SammiCat May 14, 2007

My DH is following a low carb diet. He literally raved about this soup saying I could keep this in the fridg. and he'd eat it every day! I used low sodium, low fat beef broth. Followed the recipe as is except for adding one small carrot and using dried soup mushrooms.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PugGrannie March 08, 2007

My DH loves soup, he loved this & said it deserved more than 5 stars. I also enjoyed it very much. I used lean ground turkey instead of beef & used chicken broth.That was the only change that I made except I did use my home canned green beans. I will be making this often as it is so good & easy, Plus good for you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz February 01, 2007

Very good! You can also customize it to your liking with your favorite veggies and add some rice and pasta also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becky watkins September 23, 2006
Quick and Healthy Vegetable Beef Soup (Low Carb and Ww Friendly)