46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a great and easy recipe! Fast to fix, easy to adapt, and, best of all, my 5-year old daughter, who is a very picky eater, loved it so much that she ate it all up without I or my wife having to tell her to "eat her food"!!! The only changes I made were replacing the noodles with wheat penne pasta, adding 1/4 tsp of dried garlic, and 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese in the end. I didn't use pepper either, since my child doesn't like it. Thank you so much for a great-tasting recipe! Saulo

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saulo July 24, 2008

I always used to love the tuna noodle my Mom used to fix. But I've decided that I don't ever want to make any recipe that calls for a can of "Cream of Crap" soup. This recipe tasted just as good as Mom's without the crappy soup!! Loved it!! Cheap and easy, great for a weeknight. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherN February 29, 2012

Followed the recipe exactly, and added a good deal of spices (dill, parsley, salt, pepper, cayenne, garlic powder and some celery salt), then cooked it on the stove, transferred it to a casserole dish and topped it with some shredded cheese. Unfortunately, we also found it awfully bland. But by the time we made this discovery we had all already taken a bite out of our servings, so I came up with a quick fix, that made the dish EXTREMELY delicious (and the kiddos even asked for seconds - actually, my son begged for thirds). To each person's serving I added about a tablespoon of mayo and a good amount of fresh ground pepper. I know it sounds weird, and my kids sure made plenty of faces at the idea, but it turned this dish into something spectacular.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dripdripsplat May 20, 2011

This was pretty simple to whip together. I cut the recipe in half and baked in an 8x8 dish at 350 for about 15-20 mins. I put a little layer of crushed chips on top. I skipped the peas and instead of salt and pepper I used Old Bay Seasoning and a dash of cayenne pepper. Very yummy! I think next time I make this I may add in some minced dill pickle or some dill relish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shani Banani January 26, 2010

Good tuna casserole recipe that does not use can soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes May 25, 2015

Thank you so much for the explicit directions for making a white sauce. I've never been sure how to do it and don't want to spoil the ingredients so I go on just using canned soup which often is not that good. Now I feel more confident and will try this recipe soon and check out the rest of PN's recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marion01 December 21, 2014

I followed this recipe, although I had trouble getting the second cup of milk to thicken, so I would probably only use 1.5 cups of milk total next time. It was bland but that was just what we wanted tonight. Next time I'll probably go through my spices to see what I can do to pick it up (minced onion or mushroom? garlic? roasted ancho chili?), unless it's another night when I want calm and simple that settles well. I especially like the technique with the peas! I can taste a bitter flavor if frozen peas are cooked for some time, and this was delicious for the peas! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nethope December 18, 2014

I tried this recipe and found it simple and tasty. What I object to is reviewers completely changing the recipe ingredients and cooking technigue (this is a stove top recipe - not baked in an 8 x 8 dish in the oven). You cannot rate a recipe that you have not followed. Also, the person who called cream of soups "crappy" should have kept her/his comments to himself and less crude. There is nothing wrong with a good creamed soup either homemade or canned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mullenpm September 23, 2014

This was great. I loved that it didn't use canned soup and that it was so quick to make. I added 2.5 tsp chicken bouillon powder and omitted the salt. I found there wasn't enough sauce so I'd use 6oz next time. It tastes great topped with parmesan cheese. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC March 13, 2014
Quick and Easy Stove-Top Tuna Noodle Casserole