11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a very nice sauce and was very easy to prepare, as well as very quick. The directions were very clear and accurate. The taste was good, but didn't quite suit our tastes. I felt the peppers and the thyme were very pronounced, and even though I love those two ingredients, they overwhelmed the sauce for me. This, unfortunately didn't go over as well with my family as I had hoped.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather September 24, 2002

This was a quick and easy dinner. We liked it a lot and will make it again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AdamB November 15, 2002

This is a really good sauce. I used red and green bell peppers, left out the bouillon cube because of some other reviews and the saltiness, used dried parsley, fresh basil and didn't have any dark wine so I used White Zin. It was thick and the flavor was very good. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flipto May 16, 2011

This was really good and I cook this probably on a weekly basis. One thing I do have to point out is I would definitely leave out the beef bouillon cube. The first time I made this, I put this in and it tasted way too salty. Also, I cut down on the oregano, again, gave the flavor of being too salty. Also, I cook the onions and garlic in about a tbsp of bacon fat and that gives it an awesome kick. After I made these few adjustments, it was really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseR June 19, 2010

My family enjoyed it very much. I usually use jar sauce because i'm pressed for time, but tonight as I was cooking noodles, I discovered I didn't have any. I jumped on Recipezaar and found this. It beats jar any day. I added about a 1/4 cup ketchup, and omitted the peppers and it still came out great! Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hogggit August 21, 2009

I gave this recipe 3 stars. This was liked by my family but no one was crazy over it. This may be partly due to the fact I did only had regular beef bouillon cubes so I used 2 cubes. I also used Splenda in place of the sugar and for my family's taste I added 3 tsp. I used all dried seasoning as it was not stated if I was to use both fresh and dried. The best thing about this recipe was how thick the sauce got it's the way I love my sauces. Overall this was ok tasting I did end up adding 1/4 tsp each garlic and onion powder. I'm not sure if I'd make it again. Thanks for posting! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut January 04, 2009

This was great. I served it for supper last night and almost everyone had seconds. It was even better for lunch today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel&Kara'sMom July 16, 2007

Darn good eats! Beats the jarred stuff for sure! I, too, doubled the amount of sugar. Other than that, didn't change the recipe at all. I thought that I'd have some leftover for lunch the next day so I could see how much better it had gotten after the flavor had a chance to develop, but I didn't. So, I think next time I'll double, or even triple, the recipe. It's so quick,easy, and DECICIOUS! This one's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoverlyLady May 13, 2007

This is so like my "MOMS" and I had all the ingredients except the red wine so I used vermouth. I also cut it in half and let it set overnight. Everyone know's that spaghetti sauce is "best" the next day. The only other change I made was to double the sugar cuz I like it on the sweet side. Thanks, canarygirl for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas April 23, 2007
Quick and Easy Spaghetti with Meat Sauce