Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick and Easy Skillet Potato Halves Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick and Easy Skillet Potato Halves

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2012

      My husband really liked these, I found them a little bland and a bit dry. I will try this again cooking the potatoes a little longer. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Oh yeah, so good! I added seasoning salt and garlic powder. Even my picky toddler liked them! I had baby potatoes so did about 10 of them. They were done in about 35 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Easy and delicious. Liked by all. Like a silly, I cut the potatoes in half widthwise, so after browning the potatoes, I popped them in the microwave to finish cooking them. I did add salt and pepper to the finished product. Next time, I will put a bit of minced garlic in the butter. Served with Garlicky Chicken for a delicious and easy meal! Thanks for a definite repeat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Oh My Goodness! These were too easy; fix 'em and forget 'em! My favorite kind of recipe! I did add some seasoning, as suggested by others; some garlic sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. I also used my oven as I was roasting something else; 400 for 40 minutes. They came out perfect! Thanks so much for sharing, tbearmom03.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      I was skeptical, but these turned out great. I followed the recipe exactly, but added about 1/2 cup water halfway thru cooking. The potatoes turned out moist and tender with crispy edges.I served them with some shredded cheese and sour cream. Thanks for a tasty and very easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      These potatoes were very tasty. I used medium sized new white potatoes and cut them in half. I used half olive oil and half butter. I cooked them for about 40 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      These were great! They take less time than a traditional baked potato and more time than those done in the microwave but with better flavor and texture. We added some seasonings while they cooked but did everything else as written. Will go to these often. Thanks tbearmom03!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      I tried it and these are fantastic! So simple and genius. I've made them a variety of ways. I've cut the potatoes into french fry shapes, wedges and cubes. I use olive oil and sprinkle salt, pepper in the oil. Delish and easy. Thanks so much posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      This is one of those "why didn't I think of this?" recipes -- it's so easy and we loved the golden crusty top on the potatoes. I sprinkled with salt and pepper after they were done and topped with Smart Balance Light, light sour cream and fresh chives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      I love how easy these were to make! Just put em on and they cook themselves! And they were super good! They packed a lot of flavor without having to add salt. We ate ours with sour cream and Mr.s Dash table blend sprinkled on. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      I do something similar with baking potatoes in the oven: Split them lengthwise, score them, melt a combination of butter and a little oil, seasoned to taste, in a baking pan, lay the potatoes in face down, and bake until well browned. BUT, I never thought of doing that in a skillet. That would even be quicker! Will do that with leftover baked potatoes as a side for tonight's dinner! Thanks for the idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      tbearmom, a big thanks for this recipe! I just made it and like AzMama, they were done in 40 min. So simple, why couldn't I have thought of this years ago. I usually just bake whole potatoes in the oven wrapped in foil and always alongside a roast or casserole. Doing it your way on the stovetop saves so much energy. Now I can enjoy this often since it is so easy and very tasty. Kudos to you, tbearmom!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Super easy and perfectly done. I have made these several times. I used sweet potatoes once and they were great as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      i'm not sure whey these are so good. they are so simple with only 2 ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I needed a quick side dish to go with cheeseburgers on the grill. These were quick and easy to make. I cooked the potatoes in the microwave, then cut them up and cooked on the stove. I did add a bit more butter and also added salt and pepper. We enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Never made these....but...I line a cookie sheet with foil and melt butter on the foil then sprinkle with garlic salt....don't skimp and bake at 425* for about 45 min. Sooooooo good! I will also give this way a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Excellent, tbearmom03. Really enjoyed the smell of these cooking. I added a little salt & pepper to the cust sides before cooking. I will have these again soon. Made for PAC Fall 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      A quick and delicious way to serve potatoes. But I think it would have benefitted by a little seasoning. Next time, I'll add a little garlic salt, and perhaps a light dusting of grated parmesan cheese. But we did enjoy this dish. Thanks, tbearmom03. Made for Fall '09 Pick-A-Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Super easy and so good.I did use more butter then stated. These will be made many times Made for PAC Fall 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      We really liked these. Mine took about 40 minutes to cook through. It was nice to be able to have these cook on the stove instead of heating up my kitchen with the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick and Easy Skillet Potato Halves

    Serving Size: 1 (220 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 214.9
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    24%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 63.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes