14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this dish just like the recipe... I wish I had added ALOT more FRESH green beans and just a little more potatoes. Just my taste.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starlita July 08, 2003

Yum! Fast, tasty dish! I doubled the recipe (used a 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes + 1 can of water; a 14.5oz can green beans(drained) and 1/4 tsp for the dashes of spices) I also drained the grease from the ground beef. Served it with coconut rice. Thank you for this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princess buttercup May 28, 2003

This was very good and easy! I used a 'hot' curry and it was too hot for DH's stomach, but he liked it so well that he'd push his plate back and say, 'my stomach won't handle this', then he'd pull his plate forward and eat a little more. Next time I will have to either reduce the amount of curry for him or use a milder curry powder so I don't have to reduce it. Thank you for sharing a really good recipe Cornelia!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn May 21, 2003

I was generous with the spices and it was delicious. Served it with rice-a-roni and a sharp Chardonay. Great meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren May 11, 2003

i doubled this recipe and it was very good. i used a 14 oz can of rotel tomatoes and hot madras curry powder and was a bit liberal with the other spices as well. i enjoyed this , quick and easy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia May 07, 2003

My family enjoys this recipe. In order to create a little more sauce, I use a can of tomatoes and a small can of tomato paste mixed with a can of broth. I add the spices to the broth and paste mix then pour it over the meat and vegetables. Thanks for the post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saracho January 15, 2011

This is cooking as I type this, and boy does it smell good! It cooks up fast and easy, and the recipe lends itself well to substitutions. I used red bell peppers and celery instead of green beans, because that's what was in my fridge, and made a double batch. For tomatoes I used 1.5 cups of canned diced tomatoes, and could have used more, to make it saucier. Great, simple recipe I will be using often! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchencynic December 08, 2009

I love this recipe. It is easy, flavorful, and hearty. It's a great quick fix dinner after work and great comfort food. I serve it over brown rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lecelu February 14, 2009

I have made this several times now, and it never ceases to amaze! I am updating my review, because I want to let you all know that I recently cooked this with ground turkey, sweet potatoes and spinach - instead of the recommended beef, reg potatoes and greenbeans (but only because I was desperate to make this meal and only had the substitutions on hand). It was AMAZING yet again! And a great change for something that we now eat so frequently. This dish is great paired with brown rice, or Zatarans Wild Rice if your looking for more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene January 10, 2009

I made this with ground turkey, used canned diced tomatos, and used celery instead of green beans. Absolutely delicious. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catercow September 20, 2007
Quick and Easy Hamburger Curry