Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick and Easy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick and Easy Chicken and Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2010

      The soup mix came on a little strong so maybe cutting it back a bit next time but overall it was quick, easy, and fed four of us rather well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I tired this recipe last week and it was great! I left out the wine and onion soup mix and it was still delicious! I added some finely diced sauteed onions though. My 8 year old step-daughter who claims to hate rice cleaned her plate and asked for more! I will defiantly be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I used fresh celery, onion, mushroom pieces, and corn - gave it much more substance...but don't use instant rice! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      i thought this was great! i used 1 cup rice, no wine, put 3 chicken quarters on top & i didn't use the whole pack of onion mix. i added a bag of frozen brocolli towards the end.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Just a little bland for our taste. Sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      The perfect comfort food for a chilly fall day. I used chicken thighs and, since I had no soup mix on hand, I sprinkled dried onion and beef base on top. I served it with peas & mushrooms on the side, which were great mixed in with the rice and sauce. Might try it with the peas baked in next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      This was so quick and flavorful. A comfort food type of recipe. Only change I will make next time is to completely omit the salt. I only added a pinch and found it to be a little salty already.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      This has become my new go-to recipe on nights when I have to go out and DH will be home alone - its excellent!! So easy to make and flavorful, I can throw it together and bake it in the afternoon, then it reheats beautifully when he gets home, then again when I get home. I make a few modifications, and bake in an 8" square pan. I dice approx. 1 lb of chicken breast and pre-cook it, add a can of mushrooms (undrained) and a T or two of water, use marsala wine and jasmine rice, omit the onion soup mix and top with grated cheese. It typically bakes for around 45 min. and is absolutely delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Sorry but I thought this casserole was bland, next time I'll add some veggies and maybe some more seasoning or something.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Made this for dinner tonight and kitt and it was a hit. Everyone told me how good it was :) I have made similar recipe's with just the cream of chicken but just loved it with the cream of celery. I left out the red wine and onion soup mix and sprinkled hungarian paprika on top of the rice mixture and on top of the chicken. Thank you again this recipe will be going in the make again file :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      This is delicious and a very easy dish to make. I used two cans of mushroom soup (that is all I had) and left out the wine. You can't go wrong with this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      i used cream of mushroom soup, but it was still fabulous and super easy. Love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      I made this for a dinner party of 72. It was a tremendous hit. It is easy to prepare, even for a large crowd. However, I used the normal size can of the soup (less than 16 oz.) and it was perfect. I also did not add any additional salt. 2 lbs. of chicken breasts will serve 6-8 people. I can't recommend this highly enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Quick and Easy is right! I cut my boneless skinless chicken breasts into bite sized pieces. This is a real family pleaser that comes together in no time. I think it would be good with reduced fat soups, and I might even try a seasoned rice mix instead of the rice and onion soup mix. Thanks for yet ANOTHER family fave Kitten!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious. My husband really loved it! I made a couple of small changes by mixing in the onion soup with the soup mix, adding mushrooms and chicken stock instead of water, and using Basmati rice. The chicken was very tender and juicy and the rice very flavorful. Hubby requested to take for lunch tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      I didn't have red wine and substituted milk for the water. Everything else was the same. Took 5 minutes to throw together and I was surprised at how good it was. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      I had left over rotissieri chicken and wanted a fast and easy dinner. Know how great Kitten's recipes are so decided to make this one. The easy prep is awesome - love that you don't have to pre cook the rice. I used a can of cream of mushroom and instead of the 2nd can used some left over gravy and added some evaporated milk to make up the amount of the 2nd can, I opted to leave out the salt completly. About 10 minutes before I took it out of the oven I removed the foil and topped with grated chedder cheese (my nephew who'se visiting is a cheese nut) and it turned out great. The rice was done perfect and the texture was nice and creamy with big chicken chunks throughout. The onion soup on top gave it the added flavor it needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      Sorry, but the red wine spoiled this recipe for me, glad I didn't spend a whole lot of money on it. I've made a similar recipe, sans the wine, that I like much better, so I guess I'll stick to that one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This was quick and really easy. We were really hungry and our chicken breasts weren't cooking very quickly so after 45 minutes I turned the oven up to 375 and baked for another 30 minutes. It turned out perfectly tender. I added mushrooms and some cayenne pepper to the soup mix. My boyfriend said it can go in the "make again" recipes so it was a success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Brilliantly easy! Threw it together in a jiffy and left it to bake. Flavorful rife and enough to have leftovers for everybody for lunch the next day. Thanks for a great family weeknight recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick and Easy Chicken and Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (568 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 735.9
     
    Calories from Fat 295
    40%
    Total Fat 32.8 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 166.8 mg
    55%
    Sodium 2239.9 mg
    93%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 54.6 g
    109%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites