Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick and Easy Chicken and Chips Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick and Easy Chicken and Chips Casserole

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2013

      Since I always add my own kick to a recipe, I changed this up a bit. Added a can of green chilies, a package of taco seasoning mix and a cheap jar of salsa to the cream of chicken/sour cream mixture. Layered the corn chips in two layers and used a package of grated Monterey Jack cheese. It was a huge hit with my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Update: I thawed and reheated leftovers - it was very tasty. Maybe this recipe is one that needs time for flavors to marry. I'm rating it today! Older Review: I was disappointed. Being from the South, we like our Mexican dishes having lots of flavor. I increased the Salsa to 1/2 cup and used a Mexican form of sour cream. Upon another reviewer's comment, I added a pinch of cayenne pepper. The dish was bland and the corn chip flavor over-powered. I would prefer a white corn or tortilla chip. DO TRY this dish as it may be perfect for you - if you want more zing, you may wish to alter the recipe. I must add that my picky DD cleaned her plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I needed something fast and easy and this dish certainly fit the bill. I followed the recipe with a few modifications. I used two large cans (14.5 oz) of Kirkland brand chicken breast, drained, I only had 1 1/2 cups of the corn chips so I compensated with 1 1/2 cups corn tortilla chips, I used Kraft Mexican blend shredded cheese (not the seasoned kind) and I added a 4 oz can of chopped mild green chilis. I put the corn chips in the center layer and the tortilla chips on the top. I don't know if there were too many chips or if it would have been better if I had used all corn chips, but the tortilla chips really seemed to over power the rest of the dish. That is except for the cheese. I am a huge cheese fan and usually put more cheese in a recipe than called for. But i used the full 2 cups of cheese in a square 8x8 2 quart casserole and I think that's too much cheese for a dish this size, so next time I scale back a little on the cheese and the chips. Even without these changes, the dish was good. My husband said it was really good after he added more salsa to the top of the dish after serving. My kids and I ate about a third of the casserole, and when my husband got home from softball, he finished off the rest. For the ease, and for as much as my husband liked this, it gets a solid 4 stars from us. We will be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

    • on August 16, 2007

      My family would give this one 10 stars if they could! Will definately be making this often. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      This is very flavorful. I didn't have any Fritos on hand. (I bought some, but my 16-year-old ate them!) Anyway, I used tortilla chips instead. It would have been better with Fritos, so I'll definitely try it again and hide the Fritos from my son time!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      For the two of us I halved the recipe and only used 2 grilled chicken breasts. Tasty, quick and easy weeknight menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      very easy to put together. thought it could use a bit more zing...will make again. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      I can't believe I forgot to review this recipe; my apologies. The boys liked it except for the picante sauce (teenagers are strange beings). I used Fritos in the recipe; I'm thinking they probably hold up better than a thinner chip. Quick and easy, perfect for busy weeknights.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      I love recipes like this one... quick, easy and delicious! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      Excellent and quick recipe. The second time I made it, I left out the picante sauce and added 2 Tbsp diced green chilis--yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      I thought I had already reviewed this but apparently not. My aunt has been making a dish like this for 30 years and it is one of my favorites. I haven't tried it with Fritos- she uses Doritos corn chips (unflavored plain)but I will try it with Fritos next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      This was really delicious and just as I said, my son would eat tons of it because he ate almost the entire thing! Thanks for a new family favourite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      I made this last night just so I could review it,and it was simple enough to make in a short time. The fam was split between 4-5 stars, but the simplicity of the ingredients and time to put together bump it to a solid 5 stars. I made as directed, but used cheddar/colby cheese, everyone loved it. thanks, Connie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick and Easy Chicken and Chips Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.3
     
    Calories from Fat 211
    52%
    Total Fat 23.5 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 123.6 mg
    41%
    Sodium 808.1 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 40.6 g
    81%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    corn chips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites