Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quick Amish Friendship Bread or Muffins (No Starter Required) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quick Amish Friendship Bread or Muffins (No Starter Required)

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2008

      I made a few modifications to make it almost fat free and it still turned out awesome! I substituted 1 cup of applesauce for the 1 cup of oil. I also substituted 3/4 cup of egg beaters for the 3 eggs and I also used skim milk and it still turned out very moist and delicious. I used butter flavored Pam on the pan and sprinkled sugar/cinnamon combination in the pan and then on top of the batter before going in the oven. No more starter for me! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      Good bread! The texture of this bread wasn't the same as real Amish friendship bread, but it also didn't take 10 days to make! Thanks for a yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      This bread was really good and supper easy! I halved the recipe and used butterscotch pudding. Thanks for an easy friendship bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      This is one of my favorite recipes. I love it even more now that I am 35 weeks pregnant. No waiting for friendship bread? What could be better. Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe. And I think that it is better than the original that requires a starter....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I've made this for the 5th time and thought I had reviewed it. It's my son-in-law's most requested dessert. He lives across state and my daughter is paying them a visit this week, so I'm sending him another loaf, which he hoards from visitors and keeps it only for himself and family. I add 1 c. nuts and sprinkle the bundt pan with sugar and cinnimon. Thanks for posting. PS: I was given some original Amish friendship bread made with the starter. IMHO, this one is better, and much easier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Delicious. Tastes more like a cake. Next time I'll use a bundt pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      I tasted little difference between this bread and the same bread that took a friend a month. I used chocolate pudding and that gave it even more richness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      As my ID suggests I am a bachelor and I was looking for a recipe for a gift for my new neighbor. What a great semi-easy recipe to impress with. I am not a baker, but it turned out well. I used 3 small loaf pans (didn't have 9x5 loaf pans), so cooking time was hard to judge. Turned out great and made a good impression. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Great "coffee cake" type treat. So glad I didn't wait a month to grow starter, though. I will make this again - maybe in a jelly roll pan as the crust with the brown sugar cinnamon mixture was crunchy and crispy and wonderful. We all wanted more of that and less of the still very good soft cakey inside.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This is a GREAT recipe! The one I have is a little different and I think it gives it a little kick. For the recipe I have it calls for 8 oz. of sour cream. I have never had it any other way, but this to me is amazing and quite a hit among my friends and family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I too have made the original bread so, I just had to try this. No more starter for me! We made this with pumpkin spice jell-o and it was sooooo delicious! Perfect start for the beginning of fall with a mug of warm cider. I used a bundt pan and just kept an eye on the cooking time because it did take longer than a loaf pan or muffins. This vanished in no time. I can't wait to add it to my holiday line up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      This is wonderful, easy and great when your starter hasn't been started. ;) Everyone loves this bread! I've been subbing soy milk with no problems. Be careful, the milk is omitted from step #2, which has almost tripped me up a couple of times!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      This bread is every bit as nice as the Amish Friendship bread, without the wait. I used part applesauce and part canola oil and it turned out wonderfully. I topped the loaves with 1/4 Cup brown sugar mixed with 3 tsp cinnamon sprinkled on top of the loaves as that is what my original Amish recipe called for. The family didn't notice it was any different. Loved it, and will certainly make it again many more times. Thx for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      It's been years since I've had Amish Friendship bread, but I used to love it. This isn't quite the same, so I was a bit disappointed. However, I really liked how it didn't use a starter. Leaving the bag of milk on the counter for days really grosses me out! The kids all really liked this and thought the name was fun. It was also nice to have a muffin without anything in it, making it better for my little one. I only had a small box of pudding, but I bought a big box already to try it one more time with the full pudding amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      I too have made the "real" Amish bread. While it is very good, I am not crazy about waiting 30 days on anything, neither are my friends so we had a problem! :) This recipe was wonderful! I made it as is, in a bundt pan and was very pleased, tures out very much like a "coffee cake" So this time when I made it, I had to add my own little spin...first adding 1c melted butter to the entire thing for moisture. Also substituting condensed mixwsnnik ti the ab=batter then as far as the vanilla pudding goes, I did half vanilla and half raspberry gelatin, simply because that is what I had. Gave it a great flavor and the condensed milk gave it even more of a spongy texture. All that said, the recipe was wonderful and could easily stand alone . Great served warm with salted butter. Thank you for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      This recip has FAR TOO MUCH sodium, bccause of health issues, I will not be able to use this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      I first tried the original a few months ago and have been begging my MIL for it ever since. I got tired of waiting and went hunting for the recipe myself. I have to say, this is AMAZING! Much less work for sure and tastes every bit as good. I used 1 cup applesauce in place of the oil and left out the nuts, it was delicious!!! THANK YOU FOR SUCH AN AMAZING ADAPTATION!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      The order of the ingredients was a little confusing, but otherwise an excellent recipe! Thanks for posting- definitely better than waiting a month for the starter to be ready!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      Awesome! I was craving this bread but also did not want to wait... this was perfect. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      This turned out great! I made it into muffins, and they were so fabulous! I used lemon pudding for a different flavor--so yummy. I will make these all the time now and scrap the old recipe. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quick Amish Friendship Bread or Muffins (No Starter Required)

    Serving Size: 1 (1670 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2759.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1114
    40%
    Total Fat 123.8 g
    190%
    Saturated Fat 20.5 g
    102%
    Cholesterol 300.3 mg
    100%
    Sodium 2400.6 mg
    100%
    Total Carbohydrate 384.3 g
    128%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 243.1 g
    972%
    Protein 32.2 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes