31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i was going to rate this a 4 because the instructions are vague...i have never made a quiche before so i didn't know what to look for when the custard is set or what time to start checking on it to see if it was done. BUT the first bite did win me over and this is indeed a silky, creamy custard. i used black forest ham, broccoli, and cheddar cheese which i layered on the bottom of the pie crust and then mixed the custard ingredients together and poured it over the layered filling. i started to check it at 40 minutes and kept testing for doneness every 5 minutes...mine needed 55 minutes. when my custard was golden brown and slightly jiggly but not liquid it was ready. thank you for the recipe.

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taylortwo January 27, 2003

Delicious! The texture of this quiche is perfect... a savory custard rather than the usual scrambled eggs in a crust. I made three variations (crab and swiss, roasted red pepper and mushroom with asiago, and bacon and arugala with gruyere) for a baby shower and they all turned out wonderfully. Do not be alarmed at the liquidy consistency, it sets up beautifully while baking and has a silky texture when finished. This will be my default quiche recipe from now on. Thanks again Mean!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy K October 31, 2002

This quiche was soo simple to make, and came out really fluffy. The texture was light, not as dense as other quiches I've tried. I added 1 cup of extra sharp cheddar, about 1/2 cup of chopped ham and chopped green onions. I agree with Taylortwo that the instructions were a bit vague for a novice quiche maker (like me), but I kept checking after 30 minutes, and it took about 40. I did let the quiche rest for 10 minutes before slicing as well. Thanks for a great recipe!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl February 02, 2003

Perfect. We enjoyed this three different ways on Christmas morning!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jahoody December 27, 2002

Absolutely the BEST quiche base I have ever made--light, fluffy and rich. I addded steamed brocolli and sauteed vidallia onions to the mixture and my family loved it.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BigHeart May 15, 2003

OH My, This is delicious. Creamy custard and easy to make,I used ham, spinach, hot pepper Jack cheese and sharp cheddar. This will now be my only Quiche recipe, Thank you.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz March 04, 2003

I made your quiche it is a definite keeper very tasty thanks..i also made your wilted spinach and portobella mushroom salad..it was also brillant thanks again..

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angels20 February 25, 2003

This quiche turned out perfectly -- a delicate, fluffy custard that melts in your mouth. As other posters said, I'm disappointed the directions aren't clear; nonetheless, I'll add my own notes and definitely use this recipe again. It's true that you shouldn't worry about how runny the initial mixture is -- it sets up wonderfully. I made two in glass pie plates, and they took just over 50 minutes at 350 degrees. I added finely diced plum tomatoes, chopped cooked bacon and shredded cheddar cheese. I think next time I'll prefer to use add-ins that have less "texture," as the bacon's chewiness didn't seem to fit the delicate texture of the quiche. I'm thinking I might add in some shredded hash browns, onion and cheddar cheese next time. Then sprinkle the bacon on top during the last few minutes of baking so it stays crispy. So in that respect, Bliss was right: if you're expecting a hearty quiche, look elsewhere. But if you like a less egg-y, delicate custard filling, you've found it. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gunslinger's Wife September 11, 2008

I have to say that this was a most gorgeous quiche coming out of the oven. I wasn't happy with the texture, and really thought it was bland. I used a pound of bacon, sun dried tomatoes, onions, shallots and sharp cheddar cheese. I'm not sure whether it needs for eggs (for me) or more cheese, or what. The instructions, like baking time, were missing. I thought it would work from all the reviews, but I was just very disappointed. Sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ October 14, 2007

Very quick and simple to prepare and the texture as others have said, is custardy. The taste is excellent too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat June 07, 2003
Quiche - Master Recipe