Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quiche - Master Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quiche - Master Recipe

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2003

      i was going to rate this a 4 because the instructions are vague...i have never made a quiche before so i didn't know what to look for when the custard is set or what time to start checking on it to see if it was done. BUT the first bite did win me over and this is indeed a silky, creamy custard. i used black forest ham, broccoli, and cheddar cheese which i layered on the bottom of the pie crust and then mixed the custard ingredients together and poured it over the layered filling. i started to check it at 40 minutes and kept testing for doneness every 5 minutes...mine needed 55 minutes. when my custard was golden brown and slightly jiggly but not liquid it was ready. thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

      Delicious! The texture of this quiche is perfect... a savory custard rather than the usual scrambled eggs in a crust. I made three variations (crab and swiss, roasted red pepper and mushroom with asiago, and bacon and arugala with gruyere) for a baby shower and they all turned out wonderfully. Do not be alarmed at the liquidy consistency, it sets up beautifully while baking and has a silky texture when finished. This will be my default quiche recipe from now on. Thanks again Mean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2003

      This quiche was soo simple to make, and came out really fluffy. The texture was light, not as dense as other quiches I've tried. I added 1 cup of extra sharp cheddar, about 1/2 cup of chopped ham and chopped green onions. I agree with Taylortwo that the instructions were a bit vague for a novice quiche maker (like me), but I kept checking after 30 minutes, and it took about 40. I did let the quiche rest for 10 minutes before slicing as well. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      Perfect. We enjoyed this three different ways on Christmas morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2003

      Absolutely the BEST quiche base I have ever made--light, fluffy and rich. I addded steamed brocolli and sauteed vidallia onions to the mixture and my family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      OH My, This is delicious. Creamy custard and easy to make,I used ham, spinach, hot pepper Jack cheese and sharp cheddar. This will now be my only Quiche recipe, Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      I made your quiche it is a definite keeper very tasty thanks..i also made your wilted spinach and portobella mushroom salad..it was also brillant thanks again..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      This quiche turned out perfectly -- a delicate, fluffy custard that melts in your mouth. As other posters said, I'm disappointed the directions aren't clear; nonetheless, I'll add my own notes and definitely use this recipe again. It's true that you shouldn't worry about how runny the initial mixture is -- it sets up wonderfully. I made two in glass pie plates, and they took just over 50 minutes at 350 degrees. I added finely diced plum tomatoes, chopped cooked bacon and shredded cheddar cheese. I think next time I'll prefer to use add-ins that have less "texture," as the bacon's chewiness didn't seem to fit the delicate texture of the quiche. I'm thinking I might add in some shredded hash browns, onion and cheddar cheese next time. Then sprinkle the bacon on top during the last few minutes of baking so it stays crispy. So in that respect, Bliss was right: if you're expecting a hearty quiche, look elsewhere. But if you like a less egg-y, delicate custard filling, you've found it. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      I have to say that this was a most gorgeous quiche coming out of the oven. I wasn't happy with the texture, and really thought it was bland. I used a pound of bacon, sun dried tomatoes, onions, shallots and sharp cheddar cheese. I'm not sure whether it needs for eggs (for me) or more cheese, or what. The instructions, like baking time, were missing. I thought it would work from all the reviews, but I was just very disappointed. Sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2003

      Very quick and simple to prepare and the texture as others have said, is custardy. The taste is excellent too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

    • on May 12, 2009

      I believe this is the second quiche I have ever made. The first was more hardy and we loved it. This one melted on our tongues and we love it too. I think I'll serve this quiche along with side items such as a fruit medley to give the meal more substance. I didn't have whole milk or heavy cream so I subbed in 2 cups of half n' half and it turned out perfectly. Added bacon and a couple marinated artichoke hearts with cheddar cheese... and a little basil. Used a premade pie crust and filled it to the brim. Luckily I had a pan under the pie to catch spills when I transferred it to the oven. Definitely need a crust with this quiche because it would be too delicate to remove from a pan otherwise. Good stuff - Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      I thought this was great! I dont like eggs and this wasnt very eggy. I did have to cover the edges as they started to brown too much. first time I made it I forgot the to mix the cheese in with it so i just put it on top. it was a little watery. 2nd time I did remember I also put about 1 tbsp less milk as my fillings tend yo hold water. I put ham and fresh baby spinach I also sauted some onions and mushrroms. I used mexican cheese mix.It does take about 45 min to bake just watch your edges.those who dont know about the set, just think of a cheesecake or pumkin pie. but it is very easy,very forgiving and it does taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      What a fantastic quiche recipe! I agree that the vague directions are an obstacle to the overall outcome, but luckily there are some great reviewers who gave some guidance. I ended up baking it for 40 minutes, but I think for my oven it would have been perfect at more like 45 minutes. One important thing to remember is that quiche is best eaten warm or at room temperature, so make sure to let it sit out for at least a good 10-15 minutes before slicing which will help it to set up (just realized this is actually part of the directions, which I had dismissed entirely since they were so vague...I also just realized I didn't parbake the crust - oh, well!). Our first piece was very, very soft since we cut into it immediately, but the second helping was much more firm. I used sauteed asparagus and thick-cut mushrooms for the filling, then sprinkled fresh parsley on top for some color after baking. Really just an outstanding quiche recipe; I'll never use another! (Incidentally, where did Mean Chef go? It's not the same around here without him - but at least we still have his amazing recipes)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      I guess I'm in the minority on this one. I love Mean Chef, but besides the vague instructions I found our quiche very bland. Using just salt & pepper did not work for me. I was curious to the texture of this quiche, so I kept my filling simple to just spinach & swiss cheese. I can't really comment on the texture as overall I wasn't happy with the end result. If I made this again, I would definitely add a combination of fillings & more cheese. Depending on my fillings, I would also add some dry mustard, fresh nutmeg or paprika to give it that extra seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      Quick and Easy. Great flavor with adding 2 yolks in stead of two whole eggs. I used "roll out" pie crusts in a casserole dish and brushed them with butter before pre-baking (to about 1/2 done). I also added chopped ham and broccoli along with the cheese. Great post!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      I used this recipe to prepare mini quiches using my mini muffin pan for a finger food buffet at a breakfast party. I did parbake the shells and had excellent results with a flaky crust and custardy filling. I added ham and green onion to some and crab and green onion to others. I found it easier to make plain filling for all the shells and just drop the extra ingredients into each mini quiche before sliding into the oven. These were easily a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      This was so yummy...I made this for huby and I on New Year's Day. I used half n' half instead of cream, added ham, green onions, and cheddar...Turned out perfect! Thanks Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      Made if for my fiance and she thought it was good which coming from her is high praise. When asked if she'd like it again, thumbs up was the response. Personally, I thought it was danglicious. BTW - I added broccoli, diced chicken breast, cheddar, and followed the directions from there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2004

      A great basic recipe. I reduced the fat with fat free half and half instead of the cream, and low fat Gruyere cheese. I added chopped Canadian bacon and chopped green onions, and dusted the top with grated nutmeg. It was light and fluffy, and oh so tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quiche - Master Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (867 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2312.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1688
    73%
    Total Fat 187.6 g
    288%
    Saturated Fat 88.9 g
    444%
    Cholesterol 1187.2 mg
    395%
    Sodium 2986.8 mg
    124%
    Total Carbohydrate 106.9 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 52.4 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites