12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make almost the identical quiche. I use half and half to make it a little lighter and also add 1/8 tsp nutmeg for our taste. We like the cheeziness (is that a word?) of the 1 1/2 cups grated Swiss cheese (about 6 oz), especially with the lighter cream. I make this same recipe either with or without the pastry crust.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan November 03, 2002

Absolutley delicious. I used your cream fraiche recipe also but should have doubled it for this recipe as you needed 12 oz. My husband gave it a thumbs up and went back for seconds. I will definitely make it again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cset February 12, 2003

Excellent quiche. I made it to serve at a ladies brunch. I used my own recipe for creme fraiche and think that was a key ingredient to the rich taste and fluffy texture. I also used a pie crust, because I think it looks so elegant. It had a wonderful cheesy and bacon flavor and was a big hit at the brunch. Thanks GinnyP.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' March 16, 2003

I tried this, adding sauteed mushrooms, and it was fabulous! My only suggestion is to lighten up on the cheese, or use a mild version. Also, you do have to measure the cream, as the consistency doesn't hold up with alterations! All in all, I loved it, my kids loved it, and I've served it to company with rave reviews. Thanks for the post!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sm2be September 27, 2002

This quiche tasted very good and the directions worked out exactly as directed. I did use the creme fraiche, as the recipe poster suggested, and thought it did indeed produce a nice texture. I think I would have preferred a bit less cheese and more eggs, however. I had never made a crustless quiche before and thought it looked a little too bare without a crust. I also found it a bit harder to serve without a crust to support it, even though I did let it cool a good 10 minutes or so before servng to allow it to settle. Nevertheless, the taste is very enjoyable and I would make this again, but just add an extra egg or two and reduce the cheese a bit, and I would also add a crust.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather August 19, 2002

I enjoy making quiches. This was a nice twist. I used heavy cream - and finely chopped Swiss cheese. It turned out GREAT! My sons (6 and 4 yrs. old) - have requested that we have this 'every night!' A keeper - thank you so much! Great for me too, on a low-carb diet to lose weight and control my blood sugar levels. This recipe fills all needs beautifully - AND is very tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WJKing November 21, 2003

I loved this because it is crustless and I can't have crust on my Atkins diet. I must admit that I substituted mushrooms for the bacon, but otherwise it was perfect. In the past I have always made quiche with lo fat milk, but since I am allowed hi fat, I made it with the cream and it was excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Gale June 08, 2003

Delicious! I used pre-cooked crumbled bacon, which I keep in the freezer, so this was even easier. I have never used a water bath for a crustless quiche, but I think it helped with the texture. I used some Swiss and some sage-flavored Darby cheese. The only thing I would do differently, is to use a smaller pie plate, which would make the quiche thicker, and it would be easier to use the water bath, since the 9-inch pie plate was a tight fit in the only pan I had big enough to hold it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey May 06, 2011

Great recipe, easy as can be, very tasty and very adaptable! I made this a couple of times now, once 'as is' and once with the following 'reductions' to make it a bit healthier - turkey bacon, egg beaters, reduced fat sour cream... really my hubby enjoyed the reduced fat version much more than I did... but it still turned out very well and the people I work with were 'sniffing' around me while I was eating.... (I'm going to make a large batch for everyone on Monday) Thanks for sharing Ginny

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHRISSYG February 13, 2010

Excellent recipe. I like it because it's crustless, cutting down on calories. My husband raved and said I could make it anytime!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mary Pie 1053333 January 12, 2009
Quiche Lorraine