Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Que Que (Chilean Coffee Cake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Que Que (Chilean Coffee Cake)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2011

      I made a cake similar to this one for our Chilean exchange student. She took one bite & burst into tears. It seems her grandmother had made the same cake for her right before she left to come to the US, She still loved having it and I now make it on a regular basis for friends & family.

      P.S. I might have made it with another recipe but I'll definitely never use this recipe again when I make Que Que. The batter overflowed the pan, burned onto the bottom of my oven and ruined the entire cake. My house now smells like burnt sugar and I have nothing to take to the potluck it was going to. Now I have to do something I have never done in my 40 years of baking...stop at the grocery and pick something up. Not a happy camper. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      My family loved this recipe! We got a bit worried when the middle basically collapsed a bit. But the flavor of the cake was wonderful and it was so moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      This was ok. It dropped in the middle. It was easy and a quick fix. I would not make again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      we love this cake! We leave out the pecans and double everything else then bake in a bundt cake pan. The center never falls. We find the cake to be lighter than normal pound cake. Try letting the eggs come to almost room temp and add them very slowly to the sugar/butter. Got that tip from Cooksillustrated.com and it works! What is funny is that a good friend of mine lived in Chile for 1 year and never ate anything even close to this cake. He said they do not eat a lot of cake there and prefer fruit based desserts?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      My Girl Scout troop chose to share this recipe at an Thinking Day International Showcase. The visitors to our booth were generous with the compliments...especially the adults. I am not sure what they did while baking but the center sank really badly. It didn't much matter since we were cutting it into small pieces to share. The flavor and texture were great despite the valley in the middle. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      This cake is delightful. I mixed the ingredients with an electric mixer, used a squirt of lemon juice b/c I had no lemon rind, and opted for the vanilla over the lemon extract since my husband dislikes citrus cakes. The batter was light and airy, similar to Cool Whip. This baked perfectly in 40 minutes, since I have a new oven. The texture of the finished product was fluffy, yet dense. Delicious, and goes nicely with tea. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I first found this recipe when creating a Chilean meal for my family for a Spanish project and they loved this dish especially. It is so easy to make that I now have made it over ten times! This is a great snack or dessert and I love the combination of citrus and pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      My grandmother used to make this cake. It's supposed to be made in a Bundt cake pan. I guess it doesn't matter as far as flavor is concerned but if you would like to make it the traditional way use the Bundt pan. In Chile this cake is eaten at tea time, which they call "Once" (pronounced own-seh) which translates to eleven. I'm not sure why it's called eleven since Once is eaten at 5-6:00 PM. Que Que and a cup of black tea go together very nicely. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      I made this for a spanish class cultural presentation project. My parents ate it all! Mine took a little longer to cook than the 45 min. But it was awesome. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      It was absolutley delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      Excellant, this delicious cake was just excellant, moist, light & fluffy, tender & flavourful. It reminded me of a very soft spongecake. I omitted the nuts because of my dh and used pure lemon extract & lemon rind. Thanks so much for sharing Nick's Mom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      A lovely simple cake with a great, dense and soft texture. Used lemon zest and also added 1/2 ts lemon extract in addition to vanilla. Mine took a bit longer to bake, closer to 55 minutes. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      Nice dessert...like a pound cake, yet not as heavy...it was so good with powdered sugar on top. I used vanilla extract and orange zest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      I added natural lemon extract to the batter at the end and was so glad I did! This cake really has a wonderful citrus aroma and taste. I used the orange zest option. I plan to make this one again. Thanks Nick's Mom!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Que Que (Chilean Coffee Cake)

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.3
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    46%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 43.4 mg
    14%
    Sodium 220.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 21.1 g
    84%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes