Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Quaker Oats Prizewinning Meatloaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Quaker Oats Prizewinning Meatloaf

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2013

      This is my favorite meatloaf recipe. I like using V-8 rather than tomato juice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      I have been making this recipe since I was a girl! It's one of my favorite comfort foods! Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      TRAIN WRECK - Twice.
      First time I did this I got meatloaf soup, even after an hour and a half of baking. Second time, I modified it and used just a single 6 oz can of tomato paste and no other liquid. No soup this time, but the egg doesn't cause it to set and you just get crumbled ground beef. No idea what the malfunction is, as I've certainly made other meatloafs before. Guess I'll go back to what works.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      I made this tonight and remembered that I had made it many years ago. At that time I added a packet of meatloaf seasoning to the mix, but since I don't use those anymore, it does need something. I had also at one time, added an onion soup packet, but now I use my copycat mix instead.
      This is a very good meatloaf.....very moist and it holds together very well when slicing. I will make it again, but will add more seasoning.
      Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      This is an old favorite when I was growing up...so it's been around a while..my mother always added the chili sauce to the drippings...with a little brown sugar; then poured it over the meatloaf and ran it under the broiler for a bit. Oh yes...she would put a little strip of bacon on top when cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      This is the only meatloaf I've made for 20 years until I discovered Zaar recipes!!!! Seriously, this is a good basic meatloaf. We still enjoy it now and then. I do leave off the chili sauce on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This is good meatloaf. But it lacked pizzaz! Will probably use again, but I will definitely add some diced peppers and more seasoning for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Absolutely "kiddie-style" meatloaf. Bland flavor, definitely not for the adult palate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

    • on March 02, 2010

      Made exactly as written except chili sauce topping. Cooked it 1 hr or 160o and it turned out moist & delicious. Oats verses breadcrumbs really made the difference. Looking forward to meatloaf sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      My moms meatloaf! haven't had it for years but tonights the night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This has been the meatloaf in my family for at least 3 generations! My mother referred to it as "Depression Meatloaf" since the rolled oats extends the amount substantially. We use a full cup of rolled oats to the 1.5 lbs of ground beef and use a full can of tomato soup and an egg,mixed in with a medium chopped onion, a teaspoon of italian seasoning and 1/4 teaspoon of ground pepper. The other big difference is that we make it in a casserole dish (in fact I mix everything right in the dish and have no dishes to wash!) and do not top it with any tomato sauce. I cook it for 45 minutes with the cover on and then move the cover ajar for the final 15 minutes. It's soft and delicious when hot and firm and easily sliced for sandwiches the next day. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      i got this recipe from a friend years ago and it is the only meatloaf recipe i use. i am thrilled to see it on the "top 25 best meatloafs" list! if you try this meatloaf recipe, you will not be disappointed! as a child i never cared for meatloaf...i think it was the texture that resulted from making it with bread crumbs. this texture and flavor is MUCH better than the bread crumb recipes. i top mine with a combo of ketchup, brown sugar, worcestershire sauce and mustard. next time i am going to try chili sauce which would be similar in flavor, but but much simpler! thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      My mother always used Quaker Oats in her meat loaf and when I had a guest coming who is gluten intolerant I used your recipe with some modifications. It turned out delicious; and always sets up well. The changes I made were: (a) added 1/2 diced green pepper, (b) used 1 lb. ground beef and 12 oz. sage ground pork, (c) doubled the finely diced onion, (d) used cayenne pepper instead of black to give some extra kick, and (e) added 1 tsp. Italian seasoning. The chili sauce (with a little added brown sugar) is a great topping with a sprinkling of real bacon bits on top. Served this with garlic mashed potatoes, fresh broccoli and a good red wine. Thanks for making an informal dinner party a total success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      The texture of this meatloaf was right on. However, we found that the only thing we could taste was onion and oatmeal. I think with some different spices/seasonings, this could be a good meatloaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

    • on August 18, 2009

      Great meatloaf!! I recommend giving this one a try. I definitely prefer the chili sauce topping rather than the traditional ketchup. Also good the next day on a sandwich!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

    • on July 03, 2008

      Great comfort food. The changes I made where to have it serve 5 so I could use 1 lb. of lean ground beef. I used a small can of tomato juice and 1/4 c. of eggbeaters for the egg. I didn't use the chili sauce and I made them into individual muffins, it made 10 of them. They were very moist and delicious and will be my go to meatloaf recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      This is the meatloaf I grew up on (minus the Heinz Chili Sauce...I like plain old ketchup). Also, we always substitute V-8 for the tomato juice; it provides a more complex flavor. Recently I've started using buffalo since it's leaner and easier on the environment. You will looooove this recipe, both for the taste and how easy it is to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Quaker Oats Prizewinning Meatloaf

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.3
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    35%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 78.5 mg
    26%
    Sodium 749.1 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 21.4 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites