36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved these! I made them for my husband (and myself), as we've moved away from Tacoma, so we haven't been to the Puyallup Fair in a few years. Great and easy scone recipe that made my husband, who grew up in Spanaway, not far from Puyallup, very happy. I only rated 4 stars because these would have burned if I had followed the actual baking temp and time. Will try baking at 400 next time, and yes, my oven is accurate, in case you are wondering. Took just a few minutes to get into the oven and came out lightly browned and soft. Served hot from the oven with butter and strawberry jam. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie November 29, 2010

I have used this recipe several times now and it has never failed. So only fair that I rate it now. A true 5 star scone recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Josywales January 24, 2010

Awesome! I baked these with my sister, and they turned out exceptionally well... to think she wanted to bake a packaged mix! Semi-sweet chocolate chips work well instead of raisins. For a holiday twist, substitute dried cranberies (like crasins) and add half a tsp of orange zest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel... December 23, 2009

I have never been to a Puyallup Fair so I can't say how the scones taste like. These had very nice flavor, kind crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. The texture is more like a biscuit than a scone to me.. but still good. I also baked it at 400 for 16 minutes...450 would have burn them in my oven. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB November 20, 2009

Finally, a scone recipe that truly is NO FAIL even for me! Thanks for an easy way to get the light & fluffy scones I've been searching for my whole life. No more lead biscuits!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol in Oz August 01, 2009

This will now be my "go to" scone recipe. They were excellent!! I moved to WA from the Midwest in 1992, when I married. I laughed out loud when I read your intructions on how to and how NOT to pronounce Puyallup. My Mom could have used some instructions like that when she came out to visit--she butchered the names of every town in this State.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahinWA May 18, 2009

Oh my GOODNESS! I used to buy tickets to the fair just to stand in line for an hour to buy 4 dozen Fisher Scones. Never again. Take out the raisins, and these are DEAD ON, and yes, they must be served with butter and jam (I used huckleberry, and it was amazing!). As with all scones, the less you handle these during production, the better. If you have some streaks of flour in your dough/batter, it's ok, it will incorporate during cooking. Just as soon as you can get your dough to hold together in a ball, it's ready to bake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZoeB April 07, 2009

These were wonderful! I am from Seattle so have had the original Fisher scones many times. This is as close as I've ever had to the original and they were delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZ January 07, 2009

I made scones years ago (too many to admit ;-D and don't remember where I got the recipe. When I saw this recipe, I KNEW this is IT! Thank you Mrs Goodall. BTW, I was in Puyallup, several years ago, when we went to visit my son's family. It is beautiful country out there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Devonviolet January 06, 2009

6 stars if possible they were that good. Was hunry for scones one morning and fixed these. Fast, easy and delicious. I added 1/2 cup of cinammon chips in place of the raisins.....a nice addition. Otherwise, I made them exactly as the recipe states, including several siftings. We used to summer in Lacey WA. but never made it to the Puyallup Fair. I can see where these scones were a big hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan 'nVegas October 09, 2008
Puyallup Fair Scones (Fisher Scones)