Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Puyallup Fair Scones (Fisher Scones) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Puyallup Fair Scones (Fisher Scones)

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2010

      These were very very very good! I made the recipe exactly as stated. Perfection. Light, fluffy and deeelish! I think there are a few key things working. The Double sifting. It really is important. When your shortening resembles peas (larger than the typical crumble) in the flour, it is time to add the milk.. and when everything holds together in a ball, it is the perfect time to roll out. (which really, you spend like 15 seconds rolling) I am from Washington State, but moved to Nova Scotia Canada about 6 years ago! Thanks for the memories. These come together in mere minutes! Much quicker than standing in line, which is WELL worth it!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Been making these for years, though recently went gluten-free so I've had to update the recipe a little: for the flour, simply sub 3/4 c. tapioca starch, 3/4 c. sorghum flour, 1 c. white or brown rice flour, and 1 tsp. xanthan gum for the 2 1/2 c. all-purpose flour. They still come out flaky and delicious. Recently, I've tossed in 1 Tbsp. orange zest and 1/2 c. currants with great success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2014

      These came out very tender and moist, the way a scone should be (people who think scones are supposed to be dense haven't ever had good ones). I didn't use the raisins, and I forgot the sugar, but with the raspberry jam the sugar wasn't needed. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      I make these and they are good. But I like them after they set for several hours. Especially the next day. My problem is I eat 2 or 3 in a row.<br/>Oops, I forgot to rate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      Another Washingtonian here... The Puyallup Fair Scones are something you wait every year for! We went the last day of the fair (just a week ago) and the weather just turned from bad to worse. I wanted to get a dozen scones before we left but the wait (in the wind and rain) was a half hour, so I sadly left without any. Now I have an alternative! You have made me very happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      I can't recall the scones at the Puyallup Fair containing raisins? I was just there yesterday and the scone line was extremely long lol they are good though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      It's a good recipe, but they don't taste like Fisher Scones that I have made from the Fisher Scone mix or at the Puyallup Fair. This taste and has texture more of sweet biscuits to me. I have tried and tried to duplicate the Fair Scone, and am beginning to come around to thinking that it truly does have to do with the special flour blend the Fisher's use. This recipe is not as dense as what I consider a scone to be... and I've had scones on two continents. Bottom line, add two tablespoons of sugar to my biscuit recipe and that's this recipe. Voila!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      I made these late last night and had them with my after. Absolutely delicious! I had them with blackberry jam and clotted cream. Just wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      UNbeleivable!! I was skeptical that it would actually turn out like the real thing, but even using (cold) margarine instead of shortening, this recipe is spot on. I am horrible at any kind of biscuit-type recipe (too hard on dough), but these rose like a champ and browned beautifully at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. I will say for other biscuit/scone novices, the dough will be very sticky- after adding the shortening by hand, I added the milk and stirred gingerly with a floured silicone spatula until it was just barely mixed, then turned out to knead once or twice and pat into shape. This kept me from losing half the dough by being stuck to my hands. Fantastic recipe- thank you so much for sharing. We are moving back to the Southeast and I ~would~ have missed these scones dearly. Now to learn how to make Krusty Pups....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      I used butter instead of shortening. While frozen I grated it and mixed it in. This was so easy. I made a double batch of half sized scones (16 per batch). I baked the first batch at 400. I had to bake it for 13 minutes (half sized scones) and they still weren't quite the right color on top. The second batch I tried 450 for 10 minutes. The second batch rose a little better and got the right color on top. They tasted great! I can't really compare them to the real thing (I've only had them once or twice). I'm from Spokane and we eat elephant ears, BBQ and homemade ice cream at the fair. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Loved these! I made them for my husband (and myself), as we've moved away from Tacoma, so we haven't been to the Puyallup Fair in a few years. Great and easy scone recipe that made my husband, who grew up in Spanaway, not far from Puyallup, very happy. I only rated 4 stars because these would have burned if I had followed the actual baking temp and time. Will try baking at 400 next time, and yes, my oven is accurate, in case you are wondering. Took just a few minutes to get into the oven and came out lightly browned and soft. Served hot from the oven with butter and strawberry jam. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      I have used this recipe several times now and it has never failed. So only fair that I rate it now. A true 5 star scone recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Awesome! I baked these with my sister, and they turned out exceptionally well... to think she wanted to bake a packaged mix! Semi-sweet chocolate chips work well instead of raisins. For a holiday twist, substitute dried cranberies (like crasins) and add half a tsp of orange zest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      I have never been to a Puyallup Fair so I can't say how the scones taste like. These had very nice flavor, kind crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. The texture is more like a biscuit than a scone to me.. but still good. I also baked it at 400 for 16 minutes...450 would have burn them in my oven. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Finally, a scone recipe that truly is NO FAIL even for me! Thanks for an easy way to get the light & fluffy scones I've been searching for my whole life. No more lead biscuits!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      This will now be my "go to" scone recipe. They were excellent!! I moved to WA from the Midwest in 1992, when I married. I laughed out loud when I read your intructions on how to and how NOT to pronounce Puyallup. My Mom could have used some instructions like that when she came out to visit--she butchered the names of every town in this State.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Oh my GOODNESS! I used to buy tickets to the fair just to stand in line for an hour to buy 4 dozen Fisher Scones. Never again. Take out the raisins, and these are DEAD ON, and yes, they must be served with butter and jam (I used huckleberry, and it was amazing!). As with all scones, the less you handle these during production, the better. If you have some streaks of flour in your dough/batter, it's ok, it will incorporate during cooking. Just as soon as you can get your dough to hold together in a ball, it's ready to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      These were wonderful! I am from Seattle so have had the original Fisher scones many times. This is as close as I've ever had to the original and they were delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I made scones years ago (too many to admit ;-D and don't remember where I got the recipe. When I saw this recipe, I KNEW this is IT! Thank you Mrs Goodall. BTW, I was in Puyallup, several years ago, when we went to visit my son's family. It is beautiful country out there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      6 stars if possible they were that good. Was hunry for scones one morning and fixed these. Fast, easy and delicious. I added 1/2 cup of cinammon chips in place of the raisins.....a nice addition. Otherwise, I made them exactly as the recipe states, including several siftings. We used to summer in Lacey WA. but never made it to the Puyallup Fair. I can see where these scones were a big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Puyallup Fair Scones (Fisher Scones)

    Serving Size: 1 (681 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 281.5
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    34%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 3.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 249.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes