31 Reviews

I really liked these a lot. The flavors are interesting and refreshing without being overpowering. I made small muffins and got a perfect 18, baking them in my metal muffin tins and getting a clean toothpick and toasty coconut at 12-15 mins. My only complaint is that they are a bit dry but I suspect I may have over baked them a little. I'll definitely try them again in the future and play with the baking time a bit. Thanks for the keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie H September 23, 2007

Aloha - these were quite tasty -- did read the reviews first, mixed the coconut into the dry flour mixture before adding the liquid ingredients, and just because it's a habit for me to add 1 teaspoon of vanilla to just about anything that is baked and doesn't include this ingredient, it when in too. The lime juice was some that had a great deal of pulp -- had juiced these last summer, gotten from local farmers' market, so most likely not key lime -- they had been frozen in an ice cube tray for later use and stored in zip-lock freezer bag. The recipe is a keeper -- think the addition of that little bit of vanilla complimented the lime/coconut flavor. To increase the coconut flavor next time, I might try using coconut milk in place of regular. Did find that the muffins did not rise well -- were a little dense -- so must have altered the recipe a little too much, as others noted the cake-like texture. Will make again -- know with some additional work on my part, this will become a 5+ star recipe, the flavor is excellent! One thing you know about cooks -- we all add our own twist! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kauaian cook April 19, 2013

Very good. I used Real Lime powder since that's what I had in the house and they turned out wonderful! Everyone in the house loved them and I sent the recipe to a few friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unicornbeauty June 01, 2009

Not a bad recipe, but these didn't go over well with the kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the6-sranch August 23, 2008

I really liked this recipe, it is great because it uses unusual ingredients, the kind you find randomly in a pantry and need to use up. Its a great departure from the more usual flavours of lemon or carrot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alex Daniels March 16, 2008

I am not rating this muffin because the flavour did not appeal to us. It was however lovely looking with a beautiful crumb.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 March 05, 2008

Oh, YUM! I just hope that they not only freeze well to last until my holiday part, but that they LAST until my holiday party! :-P I made mini-muffins, in my convection oven, they took about 14 minutes to bake at 375. These are great! Thanks, Carolyn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cylee November 23, 2007

Very different and very good. I read many of the reviews prior to baking and used regular size muffin tins and baked the dozen for 15 minutes and the 1/2 dozen for 12 minutes. Doubled the recipe and got exactly 30 regular size muffins. Sprayed the tins prior to filling with canola oil in the can... muffins came out easily when cool and look really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Some1sGrandma October 30, 2007

Well, if anyone can mess up a recipe better than I can, please someone let me know. First, I used 'real' limes, but didn't have enough juice, so used bottled lime juice (not a key lime in sight). I used smaller tins, because I had tossed out my Texas-size tins, and forgot that that meant cutting down the baking time. The first batch came out black as cinders, so tossed those. The second batch got removed about 10 min. early, and look just like the picture here. They were totally scrumptious, even using "regular" limes. I think leaving them in any longer would have burnt my coconut again, so my oven must be a little "hot". As I type this review, I'm on muffin No. 3. These are a winner, Carolyn, key limes or otherwise. Thanks for a lovely lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ September 03, 2007

This was very tart with the lime juice and although I loved the muffins, my kids wouldn't touch them. I found that this really needed a frosting ideally a cream cheese one to compliment the flavours of the muffin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook August 11, 2007
Put the Lime in the Coconut Muffins